Burnout Revenge PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 109
  2. Negative: 5 out of 109
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexM.
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Top stuff!
  2. GemmaM.
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Just Completely Awesome.
  3. PedroG.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Ok, let me start with the graphics. IT's the BEST!!! Second, the traffic checking. I mean come on! You can use them as a weapon and if not, still use the cars to get boost!! Another plus is the takedowns. There are a lot more variarity! There are also more cars. Bigger airtime is also a plus. The structure of crash modes(junctions). You can use impact time whenever you want! Need Ok, let me start with the graphics. IT's the BEST!!! Second, the traffic checking. I mean come on! You can use them as a weapon and if not, still use the cars to get boost!! Another plus is the takedowns. There are a lot more variarity! There are also more cars. Bigger airtime is also a plus. The structure of crash modes(junctions). You can use impact time whenever you want! Need more time than Burnout 3: Takedown? Get Burnout Revenge!! The point I'm trying to get to people is that if you buy BURNOUT REVENGE, you will LOVE it and never go wrong. Expand
  4. ConnerM.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Give me a hell yeah!!!!, pure adrenaline and mayhem if you enyoj arcade racers this is your cup of tea(in this case gasoline)...get this one is worth your while.
  5. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Fulfilling all your deepest, darkest desires in a racing game, Burnout Revenge is one of the best racers out there. From psychotically smashing cars in the crash events to sadistically hunting down that rival who smashed you off a cliff, there is so much fun to be had here that the only thing that will make you stop is the need to catch your breath.
  6. dagangsta
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    The perfect game! It has multiple modes such as crash mode and traffic attack! Crash mode is exetremely addictive!
  7. DanielT.
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Burnout revenge has got to be the best racing game ever made. the destruction, speed and carnage in this game is so great it makes it constantly enjoyable. when ever i play it im hooked for hours on end and with the volume blasting out its like your there in the game. i bought burnout 3 and couldn't belive how good it was. so good i didn't think it could get any better but it Burnout revenge has got to be the best racing game ever made. the destruction, speed and carnage in this game is so great it makes it constantly enjoyable. when ever i play it im hooked for hours on end and with the volume blasting out its like your there in the game. i bought burnout 3 and couldn't belive how good it was. so good i didn't think it could get any better but it did, so much more better it blows me away. Without a doubt burnout revenge kicks a**! Expand
  8. AdamN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This game is immense, I haven't completed it but I can't wait to do so and get the suprise prize!
  9. Pase
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    Too short!
  10. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Awesome with a capitol "A." I haven't played Burnouts 1 and 2, but Takedown was the only game I definitely like. But Revenge was way better than Takedown. I played the game for a whopping 3 hours long. The bad news is that the loading times are too damn awful because I'd still have to wait for the next levels until I see some lazy technical information. The good news is that all of theAwesome with a capitol "A." I haven't played Burnouts 1 and 2, but Takedown was the only game I definitely like. But Revenge was way better than Takedown. I played the game for a whopping 3 hours long. The bad news is that the loading times are too damn awful because I'd still have to wait for the next levels until I see some lazy technical information. The good news is that all of the features are awesome including the special races that they made like the Eliminator and the Traffic Attack levels were awesome. They also have signature moves, customized your vehicle, destroy every car in your path. WOW! I can't imagine how EA gonna have their tricks to their sleeve because of the dangerous and psysical racing franchises you ever get to play. But I hope they should add another title to the Burnout family. Revenge is awesome, can't wait till this game is gonna be in the PS2 Classics list. Expand
  11. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Very very very fun. I can't say how fun this game is. This game got me into Burnout and I've never been disappointed since. Buyt the game and you'll see
  12. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Great game, this was pretty much one of the only racing games I've ever liked, other than cars of course, now I'm looking forward to buying forza 5, but it will never meet up to the level of excitement of burnout.
  13. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    Burnout: Revenge does a great job of building off Burnout 3 (possibly the best game I've ever played and still being celebrated 10 years on). Criterion games couldn't really do wrong. Burnout: Revenge does a few things differently, such as the ability to blow up your car in certain races and events to wreck opponents and features all new Crash mode puzzles, races, events, locations andBurnout: Revenge does a great job of building off Burnout 3 (possibly the best game I've ever played and still being celebrated 10 years on). Criterion games couldn't really do wrong. Burnout: Revenge does a few things differently, such as the ability to blow up your car in certain races and events to wreck opponents and features all new Crash mode puzzles, races, events, locations and vehicles along with a whole new 'campaign' (if it's called that), the sense of speed fells improved as well. It's decently worth a buy if you can't track down Burnout 3, loved Burnout 3 or never played Burnout 3, especially as it has a HD version on the Xbox 360. Expand
  14. DueWest
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    I just got this game yesterday and I can't put it down. This is one of the best games I've ever played. On the down side, it does save and load slowly, but that is to be expected since there is so much to do and the graphics are kicken.
    I'm very lucky since my fiancee won us a 42" plasma. God I love that women!
  15. FreakerSoft
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    Yes, this was the new Burn Out I was waiting for. Great gameplay, awesome graphics and really nice cars.
  16. MattS.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Great game but the tracks must be burned.
  17. MahmoodA.
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    oooh yeaaah, now thats a GAME. its fun, its cool, its powerful thingy. i wish there a burnout 4 on PS3.
  18. SamF.
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    This Game would have gotten a 10 if it only had replay mode... Otherwise an incredible game ! Anyone who is a burnout fan should run and buy this one.
  19. WeirdNeville
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    This is a great game. I generally dislike arcade racers, but I think that this is the only one I'll ever need. The modes are varied enough to keep the challenge fresh and there are plenty of unlocks to keep you occupied. The first of two gripes are that crash mode is a little to hard and a little too random. You just have to keep retrying it until enough of the drone cars crash into This is a great game. I generally dislike arcade racers, but I think that this is the only one I'll ever need. The modes are varied enough to keep the challenge fresh and there are plenty of unlocks to keep you occupied. The first of two gripes are that crash mode is a little to hard and a little too random. You just have to keep retrying it until enough of the drone cars crash into you to get a perfect. Secondly I have had my car fall 'out of the map' on at least five occasions after being rammed. Surely quality control should ahve picked this up as the game involves constantly being rammed into stuff! It's ugly and spoils the immersion. Otherwise is fast, fluid, great fun and gut wrenchingly visceral. A wonderful racing title where escaping alive means is better than shaving tenths, and hitting you rivals is more rewarding than hitting the apex. Nev. Expand
  20. BobbyM.
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    wow it was awsome i luv the new crahbreaker races and evrythin. i just dont like what u have to do in crash mode.... keep tappin the r2 button to get a bigger crashbreaker. Like the mobile diner ....crashbreaker,10 makinin ezplode the biggest explosion u can NOT the easyiest thing but still is great i luv purposlly crashin in races and blowin my selff up :-)
  21. CodeyS.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Holy crap!! this is the most intense Racing game ive Ever Feakin played! Its so great wit all the modes and stuff, and i love the traffic checking, too bad that they took it out of dominator though. oh well, Awsome game gotta check it out. This game you'll be playing for a while. if u dont have it already, Go Get It!! i only gave it a nine though because it may not be for everyone. Holy crap!! this is the most intense Racing game ive Ever Feakin played! Its so great wit all the modes and stuff, and i love the traffic checking, too bad that they took it out of dominator though. oh well, Awsome game gotta check it out. This game you'll be playing for a while. if u dont have it already, Go Get It!! i only gave it a nine though because it may not be for everyone. Go check it out. Expand
  22. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    If I was given a choice to choose between NFS MOST WANTED(2005) and Burnout Revenge I would choose burnout. I don't care if people say most wanted(2005) is the best racer ever cuz revenge is in my opinion the best racing game ever. the excitement, the violence, the destruction, the violent competition between racers, the way you destroy innocent peoples cars in traffic and the best part ofIf I was given a choice to choose between NFS MOST WANTED(2005) and Burnout Revenge I would choose burnout. I don't care if people say most wanted(2005) is the best racer ever cuz revenge is in my opinion the best racing game ever. the excitement, the violence, the destruction, the violent competition between racers, the way you destroy innocent peoples cars in traffic and the best part of the game REVENGE. these are the reasons for why I still play burnout revenge up to this day and I wont stop playing it for a long time. NFS is a great game but Burnout is the best for me. Expand
  23. GeorgeS.
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    Nearly everything is improved, from the tracks to the cars and even the presentation. Traffic attack is really fun in my opinion. The terrible thing is that they screwed up Crash mode, arguably the biggest draw to the last game, to the point that it just isn't fun. They put an unnessessary meter at the beginning of the Crash event that determines the amount of boost you have. This Nearly everything is improved, from the tracks to the cars and even the presentation. Traffic attack is really fun in my opinion. The terrible thing is that they screwed up Crash mode, arguably the biggest draw to the last game, to the point that it just isn't fun. They put an unnessessary meter at the beginning of the Crash event that determines the amount of boost you have. This may sound like a good idea, but it's execution is tedious and annoying, you can blow yourself up right there if you aren't careful and you'll have to go through all the animations and crap before you can retry. A lot more is wrong with the Crash mode that I won't go into. Otherwise it's a great game in my favorite racing game series. Expand
  24. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    8
    Good but very repetitive gameplay. The loading times are some frustrating. The very point in consider this game is the graphics that looks like you are playing next generation.

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#18 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 90
    It manages to exhaustively deliver everything that made "Burnout 3" so fantastic while adding small tweaks that make its predecessor an immediate item for trade-in at your local game store.
  2. And most importantly, the mixture of blistering speed, edge-of-the-seat thrills and explosive crashes works just as well as it ever did. The Burnout series gets better and better every time.
  3. Burnout: Revenge proves once again why it is the ultimate spectacle for those of us who just want to feel the rush. You know you're playing a great game when even the pauses in the action are filled with rockin' music, flashy video and big sound effects.