Burnout PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Burnout Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A high-energy arcade style racer in which you're rewarded for near-misses and the more risks you take. Civilians steer clear! Over 300 vehicles fill the streets and highways making reckless racing and wild demolition a certainty. [Acclaim]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Games Radar
    100
    [Scoring note: "Direct Hit" = 100] A ram-jammed, brain-scrambling eye shag.
  2. Pure exhilaration; it’s an adrenaline-fuelled romp that will satisfy even the most extreme racers out there.
  3. 83
    It's got the racing dynamic of EA's "Need for Speed" and Acclaim's "Test Drive" series, but the speed and abandon of "Crazy Taxi" and "Driver."
  4. One of the most intense and entertaining racing games on the PS2, complete with tight controls and impressive graphics.
  5. Game Informer
    78
    A solid driver, with good control and some decent graphics, but that's about it. [Jan 2002, p.80]
  6. The first racing game that really encourages you to get your ya-yas out.
  7. Unfortunately despite the novel approach, the execution of this racer fails to create a classic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. MarkS.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    Absolutely and utterly addictive... If you like your racing games fast and furious you'll love it.
  2. MichaelJ.
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    I've go this game and it's the best game I've ever played.
  3. BillK.
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 because there was nothing like it when it came out (Now there's Need for Speed: HP2 and Burnout 2). GT3 I'm giving this game a 10 because there was nothing like it when it came out (Now there's Need for Speed: HP2 and Burnout 2). GT3 is impressive, but with all its technical depth, its not as fun to me as a "shallow" arcade racer that's all about pure feel of speed and to hell with real-life physics. I'm still playing this game 3 years later. Some will whine that the crash replays take away from your time...they don't. The clock stops while they show them. And when you restart you haven't lost any ground to other cars from the replays...just from the crash itself. This game is FAST, tense, and fun. A classic. Expand
  4. BenN.
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    This game is beta then Burnout 2 ! every1 rates it so low coz they suck at it.
  5. Oct 3, 2010
    8
    When I got this game I had a blast with it, even a few occasions where it would make me laugh out laud. The concept was very refreshing at theWhen I got this game I had a blast with it, even a few occasions where it would make me laugh out laud. The concept was very refreshing at the time and is still being used in current generation games. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Burnout is a great arcade racer. The game a nice but small selection of cars which are nicely detailed. The race tracks are also nice to raceBurnout is a great arcade racer. The game a nice but small selection of cars which are nicely detailed. The race tracks are also nice to race around from the heavy streets of Gridlock USA to the nice seaside views of Harbor Town. The music is especially great (beats the official licenced music in the later Burnout Games) and really gets the adrenaline pumping. The racing is standard stuff: you race with up to 3 other opponents and race through the checkpoints within the time limit otherwise you lose. Also you have to watch out not to crash into traffic which if you don't avoid them, can make for some satisfying crash effects. Additional cars are won by winning them in Face off events. It is pointless trying to race with the tow truck or Bus as they are too slow. Also you only have a limited time to get across from checkpoint to checkpoint so you can't afford to crash a lot. The other opponents also cheat so they always stay with you regardless how fast your going and it is frustrating when your moments away from the finishing line and crash into a barrier or car and have the lead snatched away from you on the last corner. Burnout is a nice arcade racer and has started one of the finest arcade racing series of all time. Collapse
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    0
    It has unbelievable graphic's, poor gameplay, dull features, and nothing special at all. When I played this game, I had a good time, but It has unbelievable graphic's, poor gameplay, dull features, and nothing special at all. When I played this game, I had a good time, but once I got so used of it, I sold it, you know why? Because it was boring playing the same 10 god forsaken levels over and over again, and just crashing into cars. At least having 1 race to make the game somewhat enjoyable. I lost interest 2 hours into the game. And adding an adventure would be nice too, multiplayer can be so frustarting after a while. Because what if you were an only child and the game was multiplayer, you would have no other choice but to invite a friend over, but what if your a loner and don't have any friends, you invite your cousins, but what if there busy or on vacation. There are many risks in this game with no cheats, secret passage ways, and an amount of flaws. That is why a 0/10 is this game's main role, a horrid waste of time. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001