Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2005 Adventures Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building on the rich history and success of the hunting genre, Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2005 Adventures is the first story-based hunting adventure. Players can hunt and explore using inter-connected maps and trek through six massive regions with varying environments and terrains. As playersBuilding on the rich history and success of the hunting genre, Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2005 Adventures is the first story-based hunting adventure. Players can hunt and explore using inter-connected maps and trek through six massive regions with varying environments and terrains. As players progress through the game, they can hunt more than 36 big game animals including traditional favorites like elk and moose, as well as rare breeds of animals such as bison, stone sheep and musk ox. Highly detailed and improved instructions on game play as well as guides explaining how to hunt specific animals are just some of the new features added to Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2005 Adventures. If players are in need of improving their game they now have the chance to sharpen their skills by practicing with clay and skeet shooting. After mastering the hunt or if they want to determine how their skills are improving, players can track their progress with high-scores tracking. The game features three levels of difficulty and two game play modes, "Quick Hunt" and "Career Hunt." "Quick Hunt" allows players to hunt without having to worry about time, health or the wilderness survival elements of the game. To experience the complete hunting adventure, "Career Hunt" will allow the player to take full advantage of the game. [Activision Value] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. The gameplay is very basic – anyone who wants to learn how to play it will learn how to play it whether they've played a lot of games before or not. Expect the average non-gamer to get at least a few months out of this one.
  2. AceGamez
    60
    Graphically it's not up to the standards we've seen that the PS2 is capable of.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    The problem is, right out of the gate, the career mode makes things way more boring than it needs to be. [March 2005, p.95]
  4. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    40
    Shouldn't be fun, but it is. Playing for too long might turn you into a blood-thirsty hunting cretin though, so probably best avoided. [Jan 2006, p.106]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. CammzyK.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    I think this game is the best game i have ever played because it is shooting and i love going to the shooting club with my dad its the best I think this game is the best game i have ever played because it is shooting and i love going to the shooting club with my dad its the best game on ps2 and xbox. Collapse
  2. TimH.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Cool game.
  3. LouisF.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Best game i ever played.
  4. Jeff
    Jun 25, 2005
    9
    Very good game. Graphics are good. I would like to see more non game animals. Best hunting game to date. I also would like to have real Very good game. Graphics are good. I would like to see more non game animals. Best hunting game to date. I also would like to have real hunting area names ie: Wyoming elk hunts! Expand
  5. ShannonC.
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    All the exitement & fun of stalking game with all the home comforts.
  6. Ashlee
    Aug 7, 2005
    9
    The best hunting game I've ever played. The graphics are good and realistic, and so are the animals and sounds. I also like how it has The best hunting game I've ever played. The graphics are good and realistic, and so are the animals and sounds. I also like how it has trap, skeet, and clay shooting tournaments to. The only thing is all the hunting lodges are the exact same inside. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2015
    6
    This is the kind off game you could have fun with by freely driving around the map and shooting whatever you want. But just as you're havingThis is the kind off game you could have fun with by freely driving around the map and shooting whatever you want. But just as you're having fun the warden pops up grabbing you by the ear and saying: "You don't have a tag to kill this animal. Don't do that again!"

    Luckily there is also a Quick Hunt mode, which i prefer more than the Career mode, although it's finished much to quick: you kill the required animal and that's that. There are a few mini-games like clay shooting but they are very short lived and not much fun either.

    The main problem with this game, just like with all Cabela's hunting games i guess, is that your character gets tired really fast while running. And since most of the animals in this game notice you really fast and run much faster than you can, this makes it very hard to catch up with them. It would be nice if you could sneak up to the animals and get up close to them, but that seems nigh impossible in this game.

    The good thing about this game is that the map is a lot more open than Cabela's Dangerous Hunts (2003), there are a lot less invisible walls and you can actually walk up some of the hills. Also you can use a vehicle to move around the map but it handles really bad.

    The graphics in Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2005 Adventures are very bad for a PS2 game, making it hard to see the animals especially in a big distance. The sound is pleasant enough, walking around in a forest hearing the birds sing can be rather relaxing and nice.

    I'm giving this game the same score as Cabela's Dangerous Hunts (2003): a 6 out of 10.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews