User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 11 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Exilurating in most parts, good story line love the versatility, reminds me of GTA san andreas great game.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    it is absolutely something "GREAT"........from saint lo to chambois,a furious journey.........at the finale destroying the tiger tanks with pak 42 and the triumph music>>>>>>>>>>>> COD 3 hatss off
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    It was my first COD I played IN MY LIFE! And I already was thought, that game was Realistic in the epoch! Loved doing the missions that had to do I can't do critic in this game because I do not remember any kind of error in it! He was simply GREAT!
  4. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Simply awesome! With the dramatic story, nice gameplay, and great multiplayer mode, this is the best FPS I've ever seen!!! I hope this game can be released in PC.
  5. GregB.
    Nov 11, 2006
    3
    One word, "disappointing" the battle action is great, but everything else is a letdown. what I liked about COD 2 was going through war with one outfit (The Big Red 1) in COD 3 You bounce around between an American unit, a Polish, a Canadian, and British. I never got that feeling of comradery half the time I wasn;t shure what My name was. in My opinion They should have picked a unit like One word, "disappointing" the battle action is great, but everything else is a letdown. what I liked about COD 2 was going through war with one outfit (The Big Red 1) in COD 3 You bounce around between an American unit, a Polish, a Canadian, and British. I never got that feeling of comradery half the time I wasn;t shure what My name was. in My opinion They should have picked a unit like the big red 1, 86nd, or 101st airborne so You get to know the men You're fighting beside. I also would love to see a series of Marine Corps battles in the Pacific theater...Semper Fi. Expand
  6. Al
    Nov 9, 2006
    2
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played. The campaign is just crazy, single line to follow style and the guys who follow you around are always getting in your way. ONLINE IT"S THE WORST. No registration for your name so anybody can just use it. Ranking system/ score reset after every match so everybody just team kills. No way to kick players, was just on a game with a guy who This is one of the worst games I've ever played. The campaign is just crazy, single line to follow style and the guys who follow you around are always getting in your way. ONLINE IT"S THE WORST. No registration for your name so anybody can just use it. Ranking system/ score reset after every match so everybody just team kills. No way to kick players, was just on a game with a guy who had -108 and a couple of -50's, just stupid and pointless. No friend lists and 75% of the time you can't connect to games + there Expand
  7. SC
    Oct 20, 2007
    5
    Anyone who plays first person shooters should have by now realised that all aspects are better on the PC. I have played all COD, MOH, UT, etc on the PC, and have to say not one of them let me down. I bought COD3 for my PS2 and was so dissapointed. The controls are nowhere near as accurate as on the PC, and quite frankly the gameplay screens are over crowded and confusing. It took me a Anyone who plays first person shooters should have by now realised that all aspects are better on the PC. I have played all COD, MOH, UT, etc on the PC, and have to say not one of them let me down. I bought COD3 for my PS2 and was so dissapointed. The controls are nowhere near as accurate as on the PC, and quite frankly the gameplay screens are over crowded and confusing. It took me a dozen attempts to be able to make out who and what i was supposed to be shooting! In fact, it infuriated my that much that I put mine on ebay! For you guys who liked it on the PS2, i would suggest buying a PC and trying it on that. Far far better and you wont be dissapointed! Good movie scenes and music, so a dissapointing 5. Expand
  8. EdgarR.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Well simply...great...I played mostly all of the call of duty games,and i have to say this one is a succesful sequel to cod games...Greg B. says that the game is disappointing because it doesn't focus on only one fighting country...well the game explains how these different countries fight through the german dangers...and occasionally find a solution...mostly war games focus on Well simply...great...I played mostly all of the call of duty games,and i have to say this one is a succesful sequel to cod games...Greg B. says that the game is disappointing because it doesn't focus on only one fighting country...well the game explains how these different countries fight through the german dangers...and occasionally find a solution...mostly war games focus on american divisions...but call of duty 3 is not....you stiil get american parts...and in fact they are pretty cool...but the game shows how all countries fight and then end up to the last battle....and the last battle is fought by Americans.... Expand
  9. JustinL.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Very well made. Great game play better then the first two but easier then the others I would suggest it to be played.
  10. Mike
    Oct 21, 2007
    2
    It's almost as if Treyarch won the bid to make this game, had a meeting, and came to the consensus: "you know everything that made the first two games of this series great? Yeah, screw that." I'm not going to rate the multiplayer. I get paid to deal with griefers for eight hours a day; I don't want to cough up five or ten bucks a month to do the same thing when I get home. It's almost as if Treyarch won the bid to make this game, had a meeting, and came to the consensus: "you know everything that made the first two games of this series great? Yeah, screw that." I'm not going to rate the multiplayer. I get paid to deal with griefers for eight hours a day; I don't want to cough up five or ten bucks a month to do the same thing when I get home. First of all, the gameplay of this incarnation of COD is not a tenth as immersive as that of the original and its sequel. I blame some of this on its "console only" status (upon playing the game, it's clear why it remained only on console. Activision did not want to pay to port this pile of crap to PC). Using a joystick to look around will never have the same natural feel as a mouse; it will always be a little too jerky, go a little too fast or slow, to match the mouse's precision and speed. Not being able to map the various commands to specific keys, and no lean command, is also a bit of a pain. The next issue, and this is where they really shoot themselves in the foot, in my opinion: storyline. God, it's painful. I mean, what the fuck was Treyarch thinking? The first two games have great storylines; the best part is that they never come up while you're being shot at. The American storyline, at least for the first few chapters, seems to be culled from a terrible war movie. That sergeant redeeming himself on the bridge and dying moments later just tugs at my heartstrings. My third, possibly most major, complaint: the lack of a Soviet storyline, and all the other jingoistic bullshit. I can just imagine the thought process that went into the ridding of the Soviets (who, interestingly enough, appear to be the bad guys in the upcoming Call of Duty 4. Whereas, the Germans are apparently not even featured, despite being one of the our biggest allies in real life. Ridiculous nationalism. ) "These damn pinkos have been gettin' all the credit! Screw those Communist dogs! O SAY CAN YOU SEE...!" Lordy. If any storyline should be culled from the script, it should be the Americans. Our single largest contribution to the war was the supply of war materiel to Great Britain, the Soviet Union, China, France, and the rest of the allies. 5 million tons of food and 15 million pairs of boots probably had more of an impact than D-Day, Bastogne, and the rest. I'm sure Soviet atrocities were used to justify their removal from the game, despite the fact that we were just as bad (coughDRESDENcough). A final, minor, sticking point was the title of the D-Day chapter: "Bloodiest Battle of the War". This patriotic chest-beating is so hilariously delusional. Total casualties of the Battle of Normandy, including civilian: around 320,000. Battle of Stalingrad: 1.5 million. Kursk: well over a million. Battle of Moscow: nearly 2 million. Should I go on? You know, I originally gave this game a 4, but upon rereading this long-winded mess, I think I'll change it up a bit. Expand
  11. Eli
    Nov 17, 2006
    6
    I haven't played the 360 or normal xbox version of COD 3 but as far as what I can tell from the PS2 version this series has moved on. The action can be pretty intense at time but the there really isn't much strategy and you can basically run and gun throughout the game without much trouble. The story is basic stuff but I thought the American portion was easily the best part. As I haven't played the 360 or normal xbox version of COD 3 but as far as what I can tell from the PS2 version this series has moved on. The action can be pretty intense at time but the there really isn't much strategy and you can basically run and gun throughout the game without much trouble. The story is basic stuff but I thought the American portion was easily the best part. As a whole the game isn't terrible but it feels terribly mediocore in so many ways compared to other iterations. The graphics are a mess and while the framerate stays pretty steady the textures are blurry and repetive and the character models repeated over and over. The battles themselves just don't feel very large scale and the level design is pretty simplistic. The game can be fun for a little while but it just gets old and you realize you've done this all before and if you've played the 360 version well playing this game is very difficult. So maybe this game is worth a rental but it's just more of the same. Expand
  12. AidanB.
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    Online is pretty bad, Single player is awesome I would say one of the best WW2 Games around. I would have to say it's a lot better than Call of Duty 2:BRO.
  13. StaceyL
    Nov 8, 2006
    7
    I like the graphics, but I am very disappointed with the online portion. No kick option, no round restart, not allowed to change the game name. I find it annoying having to end the game everytime I want to change maps, or go make a new room altogether. I really enjoy COD2 for all these features. As well for all the hype for this game, i am surprised at the lack of weapons and maps. I must I like the graphics, but I am very disappointed with the online portion. No kick option, no round restart, not allowed to change the game name. I find it annoying having to end the game everytime I want to change maps, or go make a new room altogether. I really enjoy COD2 for all these features. As well for all the hype for this game, i am surprised at the lack of weapons and maps. I must say, i am overall really disappointed with COD3. Expand
  14. Freakersoft
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Call of Duty 3 is absolutely awesome to play. Treyarch really succeed in giving the gameplayer a huge boost of adrenaline. The close combat with German soldiers give you really the feeling of staying alert and the much small spaces you have to walk through give you the feeling of being in this war you are fighting through. No seerching for healthkits and stuff but just wait a second and Call of Duty 3 is absolutely awesome to play. Treyarch really succeed in giving the gameplayer a huge boost of adrenaline. The close combat with German soldiers give you really the feeling of staying alert and the much small spaces you have to walk through give you the feeling of being in this war you are fighting through. No seerching for healthkits and stuff but just wait a second and go back in fighting. The graphics are really great. Bad thing is seeing enemies not well in the distance. Sound is more than great. In other words, if you like first person shooters, you can't miss this one. Enjoy if are planning to play this one !!! Expand
  15. KaiC.
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    COd 3 is pretty good. the single player was real good,like planting charges and beating the crap out of guys manualy.I liked playing a canadian,since i am one. but the polish campaign was a little dissapointing because there was only the 2 levles and they portraied the americans a little too much.the a1 is really good for COD though.Idont have much to say about online though cause i dont COd 3 is pretty good. the single player was real good,like planting charges and beating the crap out of guys manualy.I liked playing a canadian,since i am one. but the polish campaign was a little dissapointing because there was only the 2 levles and they portraied the americans a little too much.the a1 is really good for COD though.Idont have much to say about online though cause i dont play online on consoles.over all it was good.it was no Cod 2 though. Collapse
  16. ExaviorS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game but the hard part is controling the motar but other than that it has good graphics and its kinda like trial and error.
  17. Oct 3, 2014
    1
    At the time of writing (2014) this remains without a doubt the worst CoD game ever made. The only reason this will get high scores is because of console players who never played one of the earlier PC games which were generations beyond this travesty.
  18. Oct 24, 2014
    6
    The game play was fun and some were really sad, but controls are not the best. Flicking right stick up-down rapidly to move a mortar or an AT gun is pretty boring and some things are historically inaccurate. Its fun at stages but there was more room for improvement.
  19. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    One of the most generic, average shooters I've ever played. It's not bad, just very forgettable and easy to pass by. In terms of story, I actually don't remember anything much about the story. You just play as some soldier in world war 2 and I think you and some military unit battle your way to some place in France. All the characters where very bland and forgettable. I don't even knowOne of the most generic, average shooters I've ever played. It's not bad, just very forgettable and easy to pass by. In terms of story, I actually don't remember anything much about the story. You just play as some soldier in world war 2 and I think you and some military unit battle your way to some place in France. All the characters where very bland and forgettable. I don't even know their names, not even the protagonist. The gameplay is just like all the other games, it's a first person shooter where you of course shoot bad guys and complete objectives and stuff. You may have to defend a certain, or plant bombs on certain things. The battles are surprisingly open though, given that all later cod campaigns are as linear as a hallway with giant flashing neon arrows pointing in one direction. The levels are rather bland, standard world war 2 European villages, forests and all other things you would expect. Every now and then there's a lame tank or jeep section. The guns are all World War Twoish and aren't very cool or unique. It's not all that challenging either there's no real difficulty curve. It remains easy the whole way through. The graphics actually look pretty good for a 2006 ps2 game. There nothing exciting to look at but do push the ps2 hardware a bit. The sound design is also pretty average. Guns sound like guns, jeeps sound like jeeps, guys yelling sound like guys yelling, can't remember any cool soundtracks. Voice acting is good, whatever *yawn*. I guess if you like first person shooters, then it's worth picking up for a low price I guess. It will entertain you while it's there, but lacks replay value and you will probably forget about it once it's over. Expand
  20. Apr 13, 2015
    7
    liked to play Call of Duty on the PC but that was not to launch this charade played on PC this version until then enjoyed the game so that the history and **** that game and equal to the Call of Duty World at War Final Fronts
  21. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Call of Duty, today, is the serie that in good or in evil we learned to know. But in the past, however, its quality was certainly indisputable.

    COD 3, surprised me since I saw the first trailer, which at the time were broadcast on MTV, and as soon as I saw it, I thought "That game should be mine!", And so it was as a Christmas gift. It was the time of the next-gen, and time of the
    Call of Duty, today, is the serie that in good or in evil we learned to know. But in the past, however, its quality was certainly indisputable.

    COD 3, surprised me since I saw the first trailer, which at the time were broadcast on MTV, and as soon as I saw it, I thought "That game should be mine!", And so it was as a Christmas gift. It was the time of the next-gen, and time of the PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360. However, I had with me the PS2, and it was with it that I discovered the fantastic game that I wanted so much: complete pleasure. Although on PS2, COD3 had an amazing graphics and sound like the next-gen counterpart , that fully overwhelmed you. A true brand new graphics engine.

    But there was something different in COD 3: playing I felt completely transported in the fury of battle (as promised by Treyarch), with fellow soldiers who were firing or dying, smart enemies, destructible environments and with the sound of a soundtrack by Oscar. Also were present the "quick time events" where you performed actions like placing an explosive charge, or a combat against an enemy soldier. And these ones were really fun.

    It was impossible not to be drawn into a game so well done, also adding a beautiful story of men at the front in Normandy, that leaves you speechless with breathtaking sequences, just as television shows such as Band of Brothers. Playing with Call of Duty 3, allowed me to take me to the forefront, as if I was really there. And I liked it a lot.

    One of the greatest fps of all times. Golden and true days of Call of Duty.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The action is unbelievably intense and the historical material is researched and presented in a way that borders on being educational.
  2. This is a markedly better game than "Call of Duty 2: Big Red One" and the finest World War II gameplay on the current-generation consoles.
  3. Take one part classic Call of Duty scripted FPS action, add in two parts improved level design, another one part updated graphics, and just about four parts upgraded multiplayer and you’ve got the ultimate Call of Duty stew.