User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickM.
    Nov 29, 2004
    6
    This game sucks & blows worse than an octogenarian athlete! Graphics are dark, bland and washed out. SOund is annoyingly loud so that you can't hear other characters & orders. Missions are linear. AI is absolutely AWFUL. Apart from the fact that it is very hard to tell Germans from Allies, it is also very difficult to know / see when an enemy is actually dead as opposed to just This game sucks & blows worse than an octogenarian athlete! Graphics are dark, bland and washed out. SOund is annoyingly loud so that you can't hear other characters & orders. Missions are linear. AI is absolutely AWFUL. Apart from the fact that it is very hard to tell Germans from Allies, it is also very difficult to know / see when an enemy is actually dead as opposed to just wounded. There are so many bugs with this game - have you seen the "hovering" germans in mulitplayer? I don't know where to begin. This game is being rated either by little kids, or by people that are giving Activision a Pass for the superb job they did with the OC version. Don't waste your scratch - buy the PC version instead of this dreck! Expand
  2. BobD.
    Dec 29, 2005
    1
    This is the worst game ever. Call of Duty 2 is way better.
  3. AB
    Jan 19, 2005
    2
    So disappointing that I can't type anything else about it.
  4. MarshallP.
    Apr 2, 2005
    2
    This game, is utterly the worst war game i have ever played, the animation is alright, graphics are probably as good as your going to get on the ps2, and when theres a bunch of bullets flying around it gets REALLY sluggish, a bunch of people shooting at you wont kill you sometimes, but when you reload, a guy can shoot you twice and your gone. i love starting a mission, and having hardly noThis game, is utterly the worst war game i have ever played, the animation is alright, graphics are probably as good as your going to get on the ps2, and when theres a bunch of bullets flying around it gets REALLY sluggish, a bunch of people shooting at you wont kill you sometimes, but when you reload, a guy can shoot you twice and your gone. i love starting a mission, and having hardly no life because i get shot a thousand times only 3 seconds in the mission. your ally buddies are as dumb as a box of artificial rocks. they run out trying to dodge two machine guns firing full blast. and when, YOU destroy them and do ALL of the killing and blasting, then they hide behind a pillar or wall. they cant throw grenade worth a poop, and the best part of the game, is when you go to an area, and examine it, and leave knowing everything is clear, you turn around to see your ally buddies shooting at a wall, then you get blasted by enemies that appeared to have either respawned out of mid-air, or walked thourgh concrete wall. This is the worst war game i have every rented. i would never buy this game, or ever rent it again, it was a waste of 6.28. never play this game its a waste of time. Expand
  5. Warmonger
    Nov 19, 2004
    4
    What a disappointment this turned out to be!! can't even compare to last year's pc version. Poor graphics and convoluted game play,accompanied by uneven level difficulty and lousy save system make for a totally frustrating experience! rent before you buy!!!
  6. JohnnS.
    Dec 29, 2005
    1
    This is the worst game ever made!
  7. BillyJoeBob
    Jan 1, 2005
    9
    It is very good.
  8. JoeyC.
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever Ur reatarted Marshall P. in the starting of the game its intense it actully made me feel i was there shooting the germans and those things i would give it all 10's cus this is the best WW2 game ever one more thing mEdal of honer Rising Sun sUCKS!!!!!! Peace out
  9. DaveP.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    This game is a solid purchase...starts out with loads of of straight-up action and hasn't given in or slowed down yet.
  10. JeffJ.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    I've been waiting a long time for a game as strong as MOH Frontline. I'm halfway through the game and loving it! Best Console shooter to date!
  11. LuisS.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    As far as playing online it is the best war shooting game of all time. Absolutely phenomenal, the clothing, equipment, guns, noise of the nazi mg oh man ....so realistic playing with the headset having communication with your teammates is incredible its been almost 2 years the rooms online are still full people cant get sick of this game cause it is so real to me its a perfect game!
  12. Catraven70
    Nov 20, 2004
    7
    I enjoy playing a WWII shooter that gives you the full wartime experience. Call of Duty does just this. The controls take some getting used to but I think it's well worth the effort.
  13. Hawwy
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    A great game. may be better on pc cz of united offensive but still something to be proud of.
  14. MichaelS.
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    Utterly awesome.
  15. Charlie
    Dec 2, 2004
    9
    dont listen to the critics...they only boner over games like gta n halo 2 ...this game is great online and offline....its better for ps2 than xbox...i know single play is short...but im a big shooter fan and halo 2 was good but the critics go crazy over it n leave games like this out ....call of duty finest hour for ps2 its a great game...buy it!
  16. DaveS.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    This game was actually pretty cool, its just that there needs to be more blood and guts. also i don' t think the acting is 100 % i mean when you drop a grenade the enemy should go flyin. other than that its a GREAT game.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Best war game ever! If you want it, Get it now!!1 its AWESOME!!!!
  18. IbraheimF.
    Aug 20, 2005
    9
    Fantastic war game. although a bit similair to medal of honor frontline, it beats it hands down. Its much more realistic and intense. The online play is a plus for the game, fun and there are loads of people online. i recommend this game a lot.
  19. ZacurV.
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    Great Game. Good Animations and everything! Only Gripe I have about the game is the multiplayer. But other then that, perfect!
  20. RaphaelR.
    Jan 15, 2005
    8
    This game is a pretty good first person shooter. The only thing i just wish they showed more BLOOD and bodies flying i mean wat kind of WAR game does'nt have that tahts what i hated about medal of honor 2, is that it has no blood and yea.. thats the only bad thing i can think of right now. another thing i don't like would probably be the sesitivity of the aiming system its eitherThis game is a pretty good first person shooter. The only thing i just wish they showed more BLOOD and bodies flying i mean wat kind of WAR game does'nt have that tahts what i hated about medal of honor 2, is that it has no blood and yea.. thats the only bad thing i can think of right now. another thing i don't like would probably be the sesitivity of the aiming system its either too slow or jsut bad programming i don't know but anyway yea thats pretty much it. the graphics of this game is !@$^%#* awesome ..haha....the graphics of this game is hella better than medal of honor this game is by far the best WW2 game i've played. either buy it now or rent it first but u should at leat try this game out because it is good,especially if you're a fan of first person shooters. Expand
  21. JoãoPauloMiróR.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Great game! One of the best I heard!!!!!!!
  22. JesseL.
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    This game has turned out great! I got sucked in right away and can't wait to get back in and keep fighting later today. The best part of the game is the overall feel of being in war -- huge explosions and so much going on that I keep finding new things I missed the first time around when I die.
  23. BrandonW.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    This is a really really fun game.
  24. Bryan
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    AWESOME!!!!!
  25. KrisC.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Very very impressive. Great gameplay, very cool backgrounds, very realistic animation.
  26. BryanH.
    Nov 19, 2004
    2
    Yawn. Feels like a carbon copy of the Medal of Honor games. Been there done that... a couple years ago even. Doesn't come close to standing up in originality (play the PC version), combat (um, Halo 2... hell, Halo!) or much else. I liked this game the first time I played it, when it was called Medal of Honor Frontline. Save your receipt and exchange for a up to date game like GTA, Yawn. Feels like a carbon copy of the Medal of Honor games. Been there done that... a couple years ago even. Doesn't come close to standing up in originality (play the PC version), combat (um, Halo 2... hell, Halo!) or much else. I liked this game the first time I played it, when it was called Medal of Honor Frontline. Save your receipt and exchange for a up to date game like GTA, Metroid 2 or Halo 2. Expand
  27. AnonymousMC
    Dec 25, 2005
    9
    Yo, the game was great! Hey and Marshall your dumber than a bucket of nails. The reason your men are doing nothing is because your not telling them do anything. To make them go you walk about to them and pres (X). I guess your just mad cuz it actually takes some skill to beat/play the game.
    I didn't give the game a perfect because sometimes the guys die in mid air. It
    Yo, the game was great! Hey and Marshall your dumber than a bucket of nails. The reason your men are doing nothing is because your not telling them do anything. To make them go you walk about to them and pres (X). I guess your just mad cuz it actually takes some skill to beat/play the game.
    I didn't give the game a perfect because sometimes the guys die in mid air. It looks cool but its not very realistic.

    Peace OUt! Homies!
    Expand
  28. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Finest Hour is a pretty cool shooter. It does have it share of problems but you do get a good size of FPS action which is really intense (intense is a good way to describe the Call of Duty series as a whole). The game is set in World War 2 and you have to shoot your way through various war scenarios and stay alive. This isn't a typical arcade shooter like TimeSplitters whereCall of Duty: Finest Hour is a pretty cool shooter. It does have it share of problems but you do get a good size of FPS action which is really intense (intense is a good way to describe the Call of Duty series as a whole). The game is set in World War 2 and you have to shoot your way through various war scenarios and stay alive. This isn't a typical arcade shooter like TimeSplitters where you can just run and let the autoaim assist you in shooting your enemies. You definitely need to play defensively in this game or you'll die. You have a selection of WW2 weapons like the MP40 and the M1 Garand which are good to use and sound good. Oh yes the sound: This game has a really well orchestrated music and really fits with the WW2 atmosphere you fight in. The atmosphere is good and it captures the feel of being in a real war with planes dropping bombs near your position, vast number of enemies to kill and the sound of battle cries shouting around you. The game play as I said isn't an arcade style FPS. This is a slower paced game than TimeSpitters in which you should advance through the levels slowly and use your iron-sights (to increase accuracy of the weapon your using) to pick off enemies from a distance. You go though levels and using guns or grenades, you mow down the enemy and accomplishing objectives along the way like protecting an M12 or planting explosives on enemy equipment. You have a health system in which you will find med kits if you are injured or can carry several med kits to either use on your self to heal or use on your allies. There are also some tank missions in addition to the on foot missions which are fun but can become tiring. The graphics are good but it can become hard to see in dark tunnels and find threats with the dull lighting. Also if an enemy throws a grenade near you, there's no grenade icon to tell you so, you would pretty much die without knowing where the grenade was at the time which can be frustrating. Most of the levels seem to be pretty dark and it can be hard to see where you are shooting. The checkpoints are also very spaced out from each other and considering the game seems to sometimes throw waves of enemies at you, this can lead to loads of deaths and trying again and again. Despite all this, Call of Duty: Finest Hour is a good shooter and this game should not be avoided. Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    Call of Duty is a well known series of FPS games, while I'm still pretty new to the series (this being the forth one in the series I've played) I have to say this is the worst yet, the graphics are ugly even for a PS2 game, the sound is passable, and I have a problem with the feel of the controls, the main problems are that the checkpoints suck, which can make this frustratingly difficult,Call of Duty is a well known series of FPS games, while I'm still pretty new to the series (this being the forth one in the series I've played) I have to say this is the worst yet, the graphics are ugly even for a PS2 game, the sound is passable, and I have a problem with the feel of the controls, the main problems are that the checkpoints suck, which can make this frustratingly difficult, and it really doesn't do anything new, it's just a Medal of Honor: Frontline rip off, it does have some cool locations to fight in though and a lot of WWII weapons to use and a pretty good story, but the flaws I stated earlier and the fact that it no longer has online multiplayer makes this a game I can't recommend, but if your into the genre or are a huge Call of Duty fan you may find some enjoyment in it, but most others will hate this. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    The Call of Duty series works by a process of devolution. To put it bluntly, old series rules, new one sucks. The characters are okay, not the best. Sam Rivers could have had more missions. The gunfighting is god, it really is. It's actually challenging. The German are competent. They game is intriguing and offers awide variety of levels. Not to mention a cameo from ACDC's BrianThe Call of Duty series works by a process of devolution. To put it bluntly, old series rules, new one sucks. The characters are okay, not the best. Sam Rivers could have had more missions. The gunfighting is god, it really is. It's actually challenging. The German are competent. They game is intriguing and offers awide variety of levels. Not to mention a cameo from ACDC's Brian Johnson. Marks the last of the truly great COD Series before it went down the muddy multiplayer hill. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. The game is brutal, yes, but bloody? No. Maybe it's because everything seems to happen so fast you don't need to see it, I don't know.
  2. The game's single-player campaign is enjoyable despite some questionable design choices, and the multiplayer is capable, as well. That said, while Finest Hour is always good and often times great, it never quite reaches excellence.
  3. It's more than equal to any of the console "Medal of Honor" titles, although we're desperately hoping that developers will now give it some time to truly shake up the genre a little and bring some new ideas to the table.