Chaos Legion PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 6, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Solid in virtually every way, it’ll more than tide you over till Devil May Cry 3 comes along.
  2. Game Informer
    85
    The nonstop action Chaos legion exhibits is unparalleled. [June 2003, p.101]
  3. GameNow
    83
    Apart from the minute-to-minute madness, Chaos Legion rocks a pretty cool amount of depth. [July 2003, p.56]
  4. GMR Magazine
    80
    Brings not only addictive, up-tempo hack-n-slash action, but also a great new A.I. system that raises the bar on computer-assisted beat 'em ups. [July 2003, p.78]
  5. 80
    Those who manage to get through the first few levels without being bored will find that the game becomes very interesting, though the storyline remains somewhat odd and convoluted.
  6. Play Magazine
    80
    This game's strength lies in its heavily nuanced gameplay, integrated story, and its gloomy heretical aura. [June 2003, p.64]
  7. As hero Sieg Wahrheit, enjoy third-person action with strategizing and upgrading, RPG-style, plus plenty of splattery hack ’n’ slash fun.
  8. Chaos Legion is one of the great unsung brawlers of the PS2. So the story is cliched beyond belief. So the characters are forgettable. Maybe its presentation could have been executed better. Big deal. The game is overflowing with some of the toughest brawling action you’ll ever face.
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    First, it provides an engaging story (told through beautiful cut-scenes that kept me on my toes till the very end. Second...building up each legion's stats keeps the action from feeling monotonous. [July 2003, p.112]

Awards & Rankings

#51 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#25 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Nov 22, 2016
    7
    it plays like Devil May Cry and Dynasty Warriors made a baby kind of. it has a good, dark atmosphere and tone though i'm not familiar with theit plays like Devil May Cry and Dynasty Warriors made a baby kind of. it has a good, dark atmosphere and tone though i'm not familiar with the source material. i miss this archetypal ps2 era japanese developed character-action games. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    Even after so many years, I still have this game and started to play it again, I really had a lot of fun, The characters were great, also badEven after so many years, I still have this game and started to play it again, I really had a lot of fun, The characters were great, also bad ass looking. The Story isn't something to write home about but!, the gameplay was fast and fun, the small summoning weapons were fantastic and the ending was better than most games now a days. Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    nice game but slightly repetative combat and some bad level design mask a otherwise awesome and engaging game. Awesome graphics and coolnice game but slightly repetative combat and some bad level design mask a otherwise awesome and engaging game. Awesome graphics and cool legion design makes the icing on the cake tasty but the icing covers a slightly sour cake. Gameplay should be a little easier on the player, especially boss battles. Full Review »