Clock Tower 3 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2003
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Cheat Code Central
    90
    The graphic violence is shocking. The story is captivating and the disturbing scenes are sure to make even hardcore gamers a little queasy.
  2. Game Informer
    85
    If you like the genre or really graphic material (the first three hours are especially disturbing), Clock Tower 3 is a no-brainer. [May 2003, p.82]
  3. GameNow
    83
    Other than the lame enemy A.I. and the sometimes wacky camera, the major downside to Clock Tower 3 is its short playtime. But it's very fun while it lasts. [May 2003, p.46]
  4. 80
    It utterly breaks the subdued mold of the series.
  5. 80
    The strong story and voice acting make the game a must play, but the skimpy replay value leaves something to be desired.
  6. As breathtaking as Clock Tower 3 is to look at, the gameplay is somewhat ... blah. I think it was the sameness of it all—find an item, return said item to its owner, watch incredibly gorgeous cutscene, meet up with mentally unbalanced mini-boss, destroy him/her ... lather, rinse, repeat.
  7. A relatively short but enjoyable game that has its share of rough areas here and there, but do not let that keep you away from a game that is a ghastly good time.
  8. 77
    Rough around the edges in terms of gameplay (especially when fighting against bosses) and a little on the short side, it's still one of the scariest things we've played in quite some time.
  9. Short, confusing, ugly to handle and curious, but still has an undeniable eerie charm that will get under your skin. [GamesMaster]
  10. Even at the later stages of the game, it seemed quite easy to progress, offering little challenge.
  11. The Capcom/Resident Evil influences are obvious (right down to the "woman fetching water" statue found in the Art Gallery of the original RE), and it may sound like it's shallow, but Clock Tower 3 is yet original enough to hold it's own against the competition, thanks to the original set of play mechanics and a vibe all it's own.
  12. I must say the game's emotional impact is undeniable, and it kept me filled with terror every time I turned on my PS2... Oh, and something else. This game has the most appallingly violent cutscenes you will ever see.
  13. Clock Tower 3's movie portions are stronger than the gameplay that underpins them, and the result is a game that you'll probably want to finish more for its storyline than for the fun you'll have actually playing it.
  14. But the puzzles are rarely that puzzling, the enemies aren’t frightening in either their appearance or their behaviour and only the game’s novel use of the ancient lock/key conundrum makes it stand out.
  15. PSM Magazine
    70
    A good attempt to innovate the survival horror genre that doesn't deliver nearly enough depth to wholly satisfy. [May 2003, p.33]
  16. Too short, its puzzles are laughably easy, it's too expensive for the limited replay value it offers and it doesn't break any new ground for the survival horror genre.
  17. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    With its hokey, R.L. Stein thrills, much of the game feels like survival-horror lite for the campfire storytelling set. [May 2003, p.114]
  18. While the game starts off on the right foot with a dark tale of schoolgirls, slaughter, and restless spirits, it immediately trips over the other foot with a range of directorial issues an overall lack of focus.
  19. 63
    Another problem with the gameplay is the surprising simplicity of it. Sure, there are puzzles to solve, but they rarely require any sort of deep thinking.
  20. Play Magazine
    60
    As an experience of mood and horror - the villain delivers scenes of shocking violence - CT III works. [May 2003, p.62]
  21. GMR Magazine
    60
    These brief spurts of action are entertaining, but between them lie only painfully simple puzzles and, as previously mentioned, lots of running around, avoiding your idiotic pursuers with the same tricks over and over again. [June 2003, p.71]
  22. The wonderfully directed cut scenes from Kinji Fukasaku combined with the decent plot without doubt give players plenty of incentive to keep plugging away, but despite the obvious quality on display the real meat of the game seems to lack that something extra to demand a glowing recommendation.
  23. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Though Clock Tower 3 includes a little more action than the previous games, and remains a decent core adventure game as other horror titles, it fails where it really counts: the scare factor. [May 2003, p.90]
  24. 60
    The length of the game is a bit short as it only takes around six hours to complete, but the strong story and cinematic sequences make sure that it's an unforgettable six hours.
  25. The biggest complaint I have with the controls is that the button responses seem to lag at times, especially during the boss fights, where hitting the button to charge an arrow may not work right away, costing you precious seconds.
  26. Ultimately one of those games whose cinemas are more interesting than the actual gameplay and from a gamer's standpoint, that's never a good thing. If I want to watch a movie, I'll watch a movie - but I came to play.
  27. Manages to scare with its gruesome plot and eerie settings. But the lacking gameplay fails to make the experience any more than a “search and run” title.
  28. Edge Magazine
    30
    Clock Tower 3 is never scary: rather it's unwitting proof of the banality of evil. [June 2003, p.101]

Awards & Rankings

#59 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#86 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jun 21, 2015
    5
    This has the same rape-escape play mechanic as Haunting Ground. As its years later, you can tell this type never took off for Capcom. YourThis has the same rape-escape play mechanic as Haunting Ground. As its years later, you can tell this type never took off for Capcom. Your character is not powerful enough to dish it back out on the bad guys. You get victimized when a ghost or monster is on the screen. Even Silent Hill gave you something to fight with. The environments and character models are really cool. The music and ambiance is cheesier though. I would not recommend this game. They could have made this fun to play but didn't. Full Review »
  2. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Scary game.One of the scariest or creepiest game I have ever played.But still I like this game and I don't get it why this game isScary game.One of the scariest or creepiest game I have ever played.But still I like this game and I don't get it why this game is underrated.It deserves at least a score of 80 from the critics. Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    With a captivating story, gameplay, and well thought out races/enemies, Clock Tower 3 offer what I would call a hard to put down game, in myWith a captivating story, gameplay, and well thought out races/enemies, Clock Tower 3 offer what I would call a hard to put down game, in my experience this game gave me much enjoyment and scares that most horror games offer little, their are good horror games but this one took the cake. Full Review »