User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthiasB.
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    So far, this game looks like the Half-Life 2 of the PS2. The physics engine seems to have a true impact in the gameplay and the AI looks pretty good
  2. JimmyD.
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    Without a doubt one of the finest first person shooters to be made...top notch graphics, great voice acting and a logical and intelligent story with a great pace. Highly recommended
  3. NathanJ.
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best FPS on PS2! It's physics engine is superb and because I didn't take the story line or game seriously in anyway, it's awesome fun.
  4. MahSxcLilBod
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Superb physics!
  5. VincentA.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Don't listen to the people who gave it harsh reviews. They probably don't even have the game. There just judging it because of the demo. This is very well done game. The ragdoll physics are very well done and the graphics are very good too. This game is up there with the top FPS's on the PS2 right now.
  6. KeenanSullivan
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    Cold Winter is a great FPS for the PS2, but unfortunately most people don't know about this title. I was thoroughly impressed with what it delivered. A great storyline that keeps you wanting to know what's going to happen next, the ability to blow limbs off of an enemy, plenty of explosions and weapons to use, and you can interact with the environment. The game is intense and hasCold Winter is a great FPS for the PS2, but unfortunately most people don't know about this title. I was thoroughly impressed with what it delivered. A great storyline that keeps you wanting to know what's going to happen next, the ability to blow limbs off of an enemy, plenty of explosions and weapons to use, and you can interact with the environment. The game is intense and has some of the most impressive shootouts I've ever seen in a game. This game is very exciting and an absolute blast to play. The flaws? Graphics in real-time look ugly and sometimes there are hit detection problems. Expand
  7. Kyle
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    For this longtime shooter fan, CW ranks among the best. Interesting characters, dramatic and involving story, highly interactive (and useful)environment, excellent controls, brutally effective arsenal, state of the art physics, smart AI and good production values all contribute to an exceptional experience that is the most underappreciated game I've played.
  8. Michael
    Apr 26, 2005
    2
    I have been following this game for some time. It's had an incredibly long development time, judging by the demo in the recent OPM mag it's pretty mediocre by all accounts. The story, supposedly penned by acclaimed comic book author Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan) is as cliched and as foregettable as they come. Probably a bit late for an Alan Smithee credit... The AI is as dumb I have been following this game for some time. It's had an incredibly long development time, judging by the demo in the recent OPM mag it's pretty mediocre by all accounts. The story, supposedly penned by acclaimed comic book author Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan) is as cliched and as foregettable as they come. Probably a bit late for an Alan Smithee credit... The AI is as dumb as it gets with some truly awfull looking characters running around like headless chickens in a level as linear as they come. Now on to the look.. This thing looks a pretty pathetic representation of the early mock renders. Very grainy lo res textures with harsh unrealistic lighting. After such a long development time this game should have been polished to the level Half Life 2 was (A far superior Vivendi title) but has ended up as another run of the mill FPS title. Collapse
  9. CarlG.
    May 2, 2005
    2
    A*S*S
  10. Greg
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Simply the best FPS on the PS2 and a great online game!
  11. MarcoP.
    Apr 4, 2007
    8
    Just bought this game for $9.99 at Gamestop. I read many reviews on this game saying that it was reminiscent of GoldenEye gor the N64, and being a PS2 owner I was hesitant of that claim, but I must say that this game is as close to GoldenEye as you can possibly get. Headshots, blowing helicoptors up, manning a fixed machine gun mowing down enemies plus the ability to combinine certain Just bought this game for $9.99 at Gamestop. I read many reviews on this game saying that it was reminiscent of GoldenEye gor the N64, and being a PS2 owner I was hesitant of that claim, but I must say that this game is as close to GoldenEye as you can possibly get. Headshots, blowing helicoptors up, manning a fixed machine gun mowing down enemies plus the ability to combinine certain items to create makeshift molotov cocktails are just icing on the cake. It's obvious that someone put some good time and energy into this one as not only is the voice acting superb (with script by comic book legend Warren Ellis!) but the music also does a good job of keeping you on your toes. So what if the graphics aren't the prettiest? If you can look past the lack of aesthetics and eye candy you'd be hard pressed to find an enjoyable shooter as this one anytime soon. I am very happy with this one, and the cheap price tag just sweetens it. If you're a fan of 007 or good spy thrillers in general, then do yourself a favor and pick it up if you see it in the bargain bin. You won't be disappointed! Expand
  12. WilloD.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Truly amazin' game .
  13. ArloS.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    One of the, if not the, best shooters on PS2. You'd have to be blind not to realize that it sports some of the best console AI to appear in a fairly linear shooter of this type. Great story and better than average physics complement good voice acting and action set pieces. A must buy for virtual executioners.
  14. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Cold winter is a fine first person shooter. The way that you can find items dotted around the levels and then combining them to make objects like lock picks and time bombs is interesting. Great CGI cut scenes that move the story along and the fact that enemies can have their arms and legs blown off, leaving nothing but a lifeless torso is nothing short of awesome. Intel pieces dottedCold winter is a fine first person shooter. The way that you can find items dotted around the levels and then combining them to make objects like lock picks and time bombs is interesting. Great CGI cut scenes that move the story along and the fact that enemies can have their arms and legs blown off, leaving nothing but a lifeless torso is nothing short of awesome. Intel pieces dotted around the level add replay value. Great weapons, game play and sound design make Cold Winter an underrated gem. Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2013
    6
    This game does have a satisfying gun action and tons of blood. The voice acting is fairly good. The graphics seem to be good at first, but there is a sort of motion blur going on. The stick controls and movement are a bit sluggish. The graphics are better than most games on the PS2, but its pretty dark and moody in a depressing way. The game plays like a Goldeneye a little bit. Enemies areThis game does have a satisfying gun action and tons of blood. The voice acting is fairly good. The graphics seem to be good at first, but there is a sort of motion blur going on. The stick controls and movement are a bit sluggish. The graphics are better than most games on the PS2, but its pretty dark and moody in a depressing way. The game plays like a Goldeneye a little bit. Enemies are generic. There is satisfying shooting action and level exploration for FPS fans, but games like Black, James Bond games, Time Splitters, and maybe Call of Duty are more fun. I did like the characters and cutscenes. Playing through the first couple levels wasn't inspiring and it mostly reminded me of other games. I would have given this a 7 if the enemy audio wasn't so repetitive. Its just an OK FPS game. If you are a huge fan of the genre that needs every FPS game, then I'd say try it. There are some areas where this is a superior game but I don't think its a must play for everyone. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. 90
    Immensely playable...Easily the most enjoyable first-person shooter available for the PS2. [June 2005, p.74]
  2. A standard, almost old fashioned FPS wrapped around a completely forgettable story. [June 2005, p.75]
  3. Scores with the cause-and-effect physics of a PC game but seldom capitalizes on the unscripted chaos. [June 2005, p.101]