Colosseum: Road to Freedom PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Jul 20, 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IbyY.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome, i gave it a ten because i love ancient rome, and the gladitorial aspect of the ancient roman games. The game represents ancient rome and the games so purely and with such a unique approach that it deserves a ten. If anyone has watched gladiator documentaries on the BBC then you would know that it is exactly as a gladiator would be. It has alot of weapons, armour, and This game is awesome, i gave it a ten because i love ancient rome, and the gladitorial aspect of the ancient roman games. The game represents ancient rome and the games so purely and with such a unique approach that it deserves a ten. If anyone has watched gladiator documentaries on the BBC then you would know that it is exactly as a gladiator would be. It has alot of weapons, armour, and skills to master. Overall a ten for the unique simulated resemblance. Expand
  2. Gerald
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    Great game. Great graphics.
  3. djan5
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    So great!!!!!
  4. FrankM.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Its an incredible game that lacks absolutely nothing.
  5. Jim
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    Some camara & controler responce issues, but overal a well designed game that actually forces you to time attacks and defense rather than maddly massing buttons with no skill.
  6. N.Gee
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    An excellent game hampered only by actually requiring players to learn how to play rather than smashing buttons in a way resembling other games. If you remember enjoying games that were difficult or even moderately challenging then you will probably find this game enjoyable. If you like grinding gameplay with pretty cut-scenes as a reward, then you should probably buy the next final fantasy game.
  7. JeremyW.
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    I absolutely loved this game.
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    This game was mad fun. If they would have kept this series going I think it could have gotten a huge following. Just this one alone was a fun great game that I still play today.

Awards & Rankings

96
#96 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Game Informer
    73
    You've got a case here of several awesome features balanced against some utterly frustrating ideas. [July 2005, p.119]
  2. 40
    The simplistic visuals aren’t to the level of a 2005 release, the limited animation and restrictive camera angles diminish the fun associated with the combat engine, and it’s not a particularly violent game despite its subject material.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    The biggest problem is that it all just gets kind of boring, which is rather criminal for a game that's about heated, bloody battles. [Aug 2005, p.83]