Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. 75
    I'd say that fans of the series ought to check this one out, but those of us who've gotten spoiled by Brothers in Arms and Call of Duty will only see glimpses of that intensity and cinema.
  2. Though based on a great series of innovative tactical action/puzzle games, Commandos Strike Force comes off as just another middling World War II shooter, despite some good ideas.
  3. Commandos: Strike Force lacks the forcefulness of its predecessors and of other first-person shooters. It’s cool to see a franchise try new things, but the finished product doesn’t live up to the standards of the series.
  4. There's no use mincing words. Commandos Strike Force is a dumbed down version of the Commandos series. It's more accessible, more forgiving and for the right player it can be a whole lot of fun.
  5. If I had more space I could detail the game's numerous flaws in control, design, and AI, but I don't. Thank God. [Jun 2006, p.112]
  6. 50
    The WW2 shooter has been done to death, and this game doesn't do anything at all to breathe life into the genre.
  7. It's certainly more of the same when it comes to the stealth action and FPS genres that it follows, and doesn't really rise above or try anything particularly new in order to provide that little bit of an edge that it needs to make it out of the realm of mediocrity.
  8. 60
    A competent, if not actually great shooter that introduces some novel ideas that don't always work all that well.
  9. Commandos: Strike Force just feels like a game of half measures. The tree textures are straight out of 1999, the one-liners are repeated way too often, and the fighting just feels almost fun, rather than fun.
  10. 40
    While Strike Force is not without its share of interesting features, they are lost in substandard visuals, controls, and level design.
  11. It gets a reasonable score because it's a reasonable game - but ask yourself, are you really willing to settle for just plain reasonable when there are so many awesome games out there?
  12. The game is so immensely frustrating and linear that moments of fun are few and far between. [Apr 2006, p.124]
  13. The plethora of annoying little quirks and dodgy production values mask some genuinely fun and varied gameplay.
  14. Problem is, getting to the good stuff requires battling through a blitzkrieg of banality. [May 2006, p.98]
  15. Only the Sabotage online mode, where teams attempt to interrogate rivals for parts of a six-number code, stands out as unique. One mode won't win the war, much less our gaming money for the month.
  16. Entirely competent in all technical respects, Commandos is a passable FPS, but absolutely nothing more.
  17. 55
    Dull, ugly, and completely lacking in charm; only a glutton for punishment would enjoy Commandos Strike force. [Apr 2006, p.86]
  18. A fantastic idea ruined by ugly graphics, a shaky framerate, and bizarre design elements. [May 2006, p.80]
  19. The technical aspects are weak, too: The engine's rough, and the framerate fluctuates a bit too much. [May 2006, p.75]
  20. For those who aren’t familiar with the series, you won’t find anything here that will knock you over. Without understanding how good the other games were, you won’t have the context to see this one as anything but a sub-par WWII game.
  21. By far the game's biggest fault is the graphics, though. For what it was trying to do, there just wasn't enough detail and subtlety.
  22. The over the top acting would have been a welcome release, but the poor sound and graphical presentation just put a bullet in it.
  23. An uninspired shift to first-person saps this Commandos instalment of that special strategic touch.
  24. Serving in the same unit as "Brother in Arms" and "Call of Duty", Strike Force just doesn't make the grade. [Mar 2006, p.92]
  25. It’s just another WWII-era first-person shooter.
  26. A decent attempt with some really nice touches. But everything that's to be found here has been done better in any number of World War II titles. [Apr 2006, p.58]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Commandos Strike Force strays away from its roots but still provides a solid experience that offers a great alternative to all the straight up shooters.

    In contrast to other shooters you're actually encouraged to think of a strategy in order to complete each mission successfully.
    You're able to swap between up to three different soldiers (Spy, Sniper and Green Beret) each with their own useful abilities and weapons.
    Most fun is to be had with the Spy who enables you to throw knives, strangle enemies with a cord and put on their uniform. Nothing beats strutting around in a Gestapo uniform and making other soldiers salute you.

    The story, graphics and voice acting aren't exactly great but it honestly doesn't matter when the gameplay is this enjoyable.
    Full Review »
  2. BenJ.
    May 12, 2006
    8
    IT is a really fun game i just got it and its a blast, the only thing that i dident like was the fact that there is no good directions u start and your like 'what do i do ' ? the other thing is sometimes it can be hard and you could need help and you dont get it like i think that hapens in the 5th mission thats the hared part to me but other than that it is a great game. Ben (14). Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 24, 2006
    6
    This isnt the best game, but i can find nothing wrong with blowing holes in Nazi's heads. I only played the demo, but it was fun. The framerate is very bad, the graphics aren't the best but it's still fun. Full Review »