Contra: Shattered Soldier PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2002

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
Buy On
  1. 90
    Its combination of old-school shooter gameplay and high-end graphics makes it a blast to play.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    Just like the best Contra games before it, Shattered Soldier puts your gaming skills completely to the test, but can still be mastered. [Jan 2003, p.126]
  3. PSM Magazine
    Fine shooting action served straight, no chaser. [Holiday 2002, p.30]
  4. GMR Magazine
    After numerous shoddy attempts to bring classic Contra gameplay to a next-gen system, Konami finally gets it right. [Feb 2003, p.92]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    Old school in every possible way. [Jan 2003, p.173]
  6. I really enjoyed Shattered Soldier and I highly recommend that you grab a best friend and tear through this game some Friday night.
  7. Adding lots of enemies and huge bosses only makes the game more frustrating. Expect veins to pop out of your cranium, and a few broken controllers. Although I did have a tough time getting through the missions, I did have fun.
  8. This game is excellent, although very frustrating. I only made it past the Easy difficulty, I am not even going to try the Normal difficulty even if the real ending is behind it.
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    Delightfully preposterous H.R. Giger carnage. [22 Nov 2002, p.85]
  10. Game Informer
    I sorely miss the old weapons that Konami decided to remove. Gone are the spray gun, missle launchers, laser cannon, and super bomb. [Dec 2002, p.116]
  11. netjak
    Does a lot of things right, but sadly it is mainly for the purest of pure hardcore gamers, as Shattered Soldier’s steep learning curve and INCREDIBLY difficult gameplay, this probably will not please a mainstream gamer too much.
  12. Probably one of the toughest titles released for the PS2 and right up there with the other games in the Contra series.
  13. 80
    Make no mistake, you will die like a fly playing this game, very early and very often. But the pattern design is good enough that skill and perceptive analysis offers the possibility of mastery for dedicated players.
  14. Play Magazine
    The most faithful translation of a classic yet, but there's no denying that the difficulty will turn some off. [Dec 2002, p.56]
  15. 80
    The simplistic gameplay of the series is not lost but refined to create a challenge that is both undeniably fun and not entirely impossible.
  16. Pure Contra goodness. Most of the hallmarks that make the series great are here, including finger-frazzling gameplay, the indispensable two-player cooperative mode, constant shooting action, and giant bosses with well-hidden weak points.
  17. No matter how many times you die in the same place, no matter how frustrated you get, it has that magical power to make you snatch that controller back and soldier on.
  18. Die-hard Contra fans hoping for a pure Contra remake may find themselves a little disappointed that, for all its similarity to its classic predecessors, Contra: Shattered Soldier takes a few too many liberties.
  19. While Contra: Shattered Soldier is a short game, fans of the original will eat it up. It’s also a game for anyone looking for a challenge.
  20. GameNow
    You'll definitely get into it if you're into classic shooters, but if you've been reared in the modern era, it may simply be too frustrating. [Jan 2003, p.54]
  21. A mind-bendingly tough game that you simply cannot put down.
  22. Due to the sheer difficulty, it's actually only for a select few.
  23. 75
    In my case, the funnin' exceeded the bummin', but not as much as I wanted. This just isn't the game that'll bring 2D gameplay back into vogue.
  24. It's fun to learn the patterns and hone in on that perfect game, though the limited gameplay and the shortness of the actual experience make it well suited for a rental.

Awards & Rankings

#47 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. DH
    May 8, 2008
    One of the worst games ever made. I appreciate the fact that they stuck to the original action-packed side scrolling genre, but none of the One of the worst games ever made. I appreciate the fact that they stuck to the original action-packed side scrolling genre, but none of the core values of Contra are here. You start with 3 weapons, and only have those 3 weapons throughout the entire game. There are no overhead powerups to shoot down, which was something a gamer could look forward to in the originals. There are three different difficulty levels, and the only thing they change are the number of continues you start with. There is no platforming except for maybe 5% of each level when you battle the "halfway" boss. All in all, this game in an utter disappointment compared to it's predecessors. This game makes me pity the Konami corporation. Full Review »
  2. JimmiA.
    Jun 4, 2005
    Very good old fashioned shoot´n up. Hard pump action in old school way.
  3. BillS.
    Mar 31, 2003
    Contra has made a fine return to form. The current generation of pussy gamers need not apply. Unless you're around 18 or 19 and enjoyed Contra has made a fine return to form. The current generation of pussy gamers need not apply. Unless you're around 18 or 19 and enjoyed the originals (or if you think you've got the skill to tackle a Contra game) then you won't be able to appreciate. Sad too, since it's a stellar old-school shooter. Full Review »