User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 97
  2. Negative: 18 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a good platforming game but it is no different to its previous title, Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped. The story starts off with Cortex who is back for the 4th time (gee hasn't he finally decided to give up after failing so many times) along with his minions and Uka Uka who has become growingly tired of their poor efforts of conquering the world. CortexCrash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a good platforming game but it is no different to its previous title, Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped. The story starts off with Cortex who is back for the 4th time (gee hasn't he finally decided to give up after failing so many times) along with his minions and Uka Uka who has become growingly tired of their poor efforts of conquering the world. Cortex however informs Uka Uka that he has been building a new super advanced bandicoot named Crunch however he is missing a power source. Uka Uka then tells everyone about the elementals who are a group of masks who have the power of earth, water, fire and air but have been locked away for centuries. Cortex and Uka Uka decide to free them as there destructive power will bring Crunch to life and attempt to finally defeat Crash once and for all. It's now up to Crash and his sister Coco to stop them before they destroy the earth and maybe this time they'll crush him for good. Gameplay is similar its predecessor, you in a warp room and you start off in the first warp hub. Each hub consists of 5 levels and in those levels are Crystals, Gems and Relics. Once you have collected 5 crystals in the first warp hub you will be able to access the boss battle, defeat him and you'll gain access to the next warp hub where there are 5 new levels to explore. There are 6 warp hubs in total (one of them can't be accessed until you collect 5 Relics), 25 Crystals, 46 Gems and 30 Relics. So as you can see it is exactly the same as Warped, there are only a few new surprises for example Coco is now a playable character, yes you could play as her in Warped but she could only ride on her pet tiger Pura and in her Jet Ski on the water levels. In this one you can use her as if you were playing as Crash to fight off enemies and she has some really cool karate moves too, like a spinning kick. There are a lot more vehicles in this one and most of the levels involve you using them rather than Crash and Coco themselves. Some of them are good (the 4x4 alien suit in particular which is my faviroute) but some of them aren't and can be really frustrating in levels. Graphically the game looks good and has really stepped up from the PS1 to PS2, some of the levels are very well designed and have great background layouts. The music for the levels are brilliant and match perfectly as well as the audio and voice acting. Some voice actors are back from its last title Warped which is good as well as some new ones. Crunch's voice actor is great and definatly fits dark tough villan. I didn't think this was a bad game, it's just not spectacular and it would have been nice if they could have made it more fresh. The only critism I have is the long loading times, every time you start a new game, load up from where you last saved or enter a level it takes over a minute to get through the loading screen. Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a good platforming game but it is no different to its previous title, Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    2
    Terrible. It sort of feels like Crash 3, which is a good thing. But The loading times are atrocious. Some of the boss fights feel clunky and frustrating. I wanted to enjoy this game, but these very few problems ruined the experience for me. The graphics are pretty good. Colorful and lush. It's best to stick with Crash1-3. I don't recall having to stare at the TV for 10 minutes to play a level.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    the wrath of cortex it´s a good game i like the sound track the ideas for the levels the story and the graphics but if you are one of those crash bandicoot ps1 fans you will probably hate this game due to the character design, the long loading screen and the fact that it does look like a warped clone but if you can surpass those things crash will entertain you for a few hours
  4. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a great platform game; the first Crash game on PlayStation 2. The game does have it's problems with being unoriginal; the game play is identical to the previous Crash games: Go around, collecting crystals from 5 world Hubs inside a warp room and fight an end boss to that hub. However there are a few things that are new like the fact you can play asCrash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a great platform game; the first Crash game on PlayStation 2. The game does have it's problems with being unoriginal; the game play is identical to the previous Crash games: Go around, collecting crystals from 5 world Hubs inside a warp room and fight an end boss to that hub. However there are a few things that are new like the fact you can play as Coco (Crash's sister) in some levels and in some levels require Crash to roll around in a ball avoiding hazards. Cortex remains the antagonist and he's created another Bandicoot called Crunch to destroy Crash. As I said, this game is identical in game play when compared to the previous 2 (Excluding Crash Bash) games in the series. Crash collects crystals, Relic's (from time trials), Gems (breaking every box in one level) and Coloured Gems from levels and some levels have vehicle sections like Crash riding in a Jeep or Coco riding on a Snow board. Returning power ups (you earn these power ups when you defeat a boss) from Crash 3 include the Fruit Bazooka and the Death Tornado. The environments are nicely detailed and the levels provide a good challenge. The game as a whole is a decent platformer with jumps and obstacles like TNT'S and Nitro's to overcome; everything you'd expect from a Crash game. The music (especially the last boss theme) is well done and fits each level but the voice acting for some characters (N. Gin and N. Tropy especially) is cheesy; just doesn't suit their characters. The load time for each level is very long which is really annoying. Despite some niggles, Crash Bandicoot: The wrath of Cortex is a great game and possibly the best Crash game on the PlayStation 2. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    The graphics are worse than the xbox version, and this loads a lot. The camera is very annoying, because sometimes you can't see where are you going. In this game Crash runs slower than in Crash Bandicoot 1-2-3. Easy to beat the time trials.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Crash bandicoot wrath of cortex, is not what it could have been, Levels fun, music was great, graphics were good.
    Load times were H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E, and enemies were loosing brains. Usually enemy's would only hit one spot. so the same thing would be put a totem in some point and make it to shoot in given direction so that reduces game's difficulty A LOT. overall as i said, the game is good
    Crash bandicoot wrath of cortex, is not what it could have been, Levels fun, music was great, graphics were good.
    Load times were H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E, and enemies were loosing brains. Usually enemy's would only hit one spot. so the same thing would be put a totem in some point and make it to shoot in given direction so that reduces game's difficulty A LOT. overall as i said, the game is good and fun to play. but proper challenge is missing and load times break game's immersion totally now.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    The Wrath of Cortex fails to bring any kind of innovation to the next gen -- or change for that matter. However, if you're just a fan of solid platforming, then there's some fun to be had here. Pros: Polished graphics; stunning depth in level design; variety of gameplay. Cons: Formulaic; horrendously long loading screens; too much "trail and error" for one to handle; excluding graphics; itThe Wrath of Cortex fails to bring any kind of innovation to the next gen -- or change for that matter. However, if you're just a fan of solid platforming, then there's some fun to be had here. Pros: Polished graphics; stunning depth in level design; variety of gameplay. Cons: Formulaic; horrendously long loading screens; too much "trail and error" for one to handle; excluding graphics; it limits itself entirely from the next gen's real impact. Expand
  8. May 26, 2011
    6
    Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex isn't a half-bad game, not at all, and it has a unique amount of variety for hardcore Crash fans. But the fact is... It doesn't even slightly try to take risks by taking advantage of the PS2's -- far more advanced -- engine, thus adding no new innovations to the series. Pros: Excellent graphics; beautifully detailed levels; variety of levels and replayCrash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex isn't a half-bad game, not at all, and it has a unique amount of variety for hardcore Crash fans. But the fact is... It doesn't even slightly try to take risks by taking advantage of the PS2's -- far more advanced -- engine, thus adding no new innovations to the series. Pros: Excellent graphics; beautifully detailed levels; variety of levels and replay value. Cons: No new features; limited level design; unadjustable camera; quirky controls; dreadfully long and frequent loading screens; feels more like a rehash than a sequel. Expand
  9. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    Aside from some repetitious and "trial-and-error" gameplay and excruciatingly long loading screens, Wrath of Cortex isn't a bad game at all. Though it lacks innovation, it certainly is fun at times -- as well as good-looking.
  10. Dec 25, 2013
    7
    Any Crash Bandicoot fan would be a fool not to go out and buy this game. The wrath of cortex is a little weaker than orginal Crashes(1,2,3 Naughty Dog) but VU Games have done solid job with this one. It's nothing terribly special, but it's not bad.
  11. Jan 16, 2013
    4
    I liked the idea of the story, but what brings this game down so much is that it's the same thing over again, it is all the other Crash Bandicoot games and there is nothing new to this, lots of the levels are bland, boring, un-colourful and the loading times are also a problem. The only things I found fun was the levels where Crash is in a ball and the levels that take place in a metal andI liked the idea of the story, but what brings this game down so much is that it's the same thing over again, it is all the other Crash Bandicoot games and there is nothing new to this, lots of the levels are bland, boring, un-colourful and the loading times are also a problem. The only things I found fun was the levels where Crash is in a ball and the levels that take place in a metal and fortress sort of place, can't explain it well. This is the same thing over and over again. If you want to play the same thing after Crash Bandicoot 3, then get this as they failed to take it into a new and innovative direction. Expand
  12. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    A good game with a few flaws. Loading is bad, but to me that isn't the biggest problem of the game. The biggest problem is flying levels. Not fun, boring rather. And, game developers wasted characters by not using them. It would've been cool to fight someone else than Cruch.
  13. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    This game definitely crushes on mario 3d land in gaming and new ideas but it is the same game as warped that's what the cb fans say I never played warped because I don't own a ps1. The graphics are top notch for an early ps2 game but this game has long loading times slow paced animations. And you are always fighting the same boss over and over and over again. Well I praise travellers talesThis game definitely crushes on mario 3d land in gaming and new ideas but it is the same game as warped that's what the cb fans say I never played warped because I don't own a ps1. The graphics are top notch for an early ps2 game but this game has long loading times slow paced animations. And you are always fighting the same boss over and over and over again. Well I praise travellers tales for graphics bad the long loading times and bland boss fights and the recycled content kind of ruins the game if you played warped and cortex strikes back. Expand
  14. May 28, 2014
    3
    Awful. This is easily the worst crash bandicoot game of all time, the levels are poor ripoffs of crash 3 levels, the boss fights are unoriginal, the vehicles are terrible and the underwater levels are some of the most boring things I have ever played in my life.
  15. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    Average at best.I have to admit,the new devs did a decent job at the presentation,but it lacks the charm previous Crash games had (all develovped by Naughty Dog).(Most) of the bosses are terrible,with the exception of Air Crunch,and the loading times.OOOOOH the loading times.You will see that floating Crash screen more than you see your penis.
  16. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Though extremely challenging, this game is (by far) the best game in the Crash Bandicoot series, all the negative critics can go jump off a cliff because this is how you make a platformer. Many of you may think I'm just blinded by nostalgia and, hey, maybe I am. This series has been with me for my entire life and I love every game. (Yes, even the Titans era. Though not like Crash games,Though extremely challenging, this game is (by far) the best game in the Crash Bandicoot series, all the negative critics can go jump off a cliff because this is how you make a platformer. Many of you may think I'm just blinded by nostalgia and, hey, maybe I am. This series has been with me for my entire life and I love every game. (Yes, even the Titans era. Though not like Crash games, they are a nice twist to the series.) Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    I don't really understand how so many people HATE this game. And i mean hate it. I actually thought this game was really good. Of course Crash Bandicoot Warped and Twinsanity are the two best games, i have Wrath of Cortex even with Crash 2. The one big problem, which everyone probably has a problem with, was the loading times. The loading screen took forever and killed any good vibes goingI don't really understand how so many people HATE this game. And i mean hate it. I actually thought this game was really good. Of course Crash Bandicoot Warped and Twinsanity are the two best games, i have Wrath of Cortex even with Crash 2. The one big problem, which everyone probably has a problem with, was the loading times. The loading screen took forever and killed any good vibes going into a level. Besides that i like the gameplay, the graphics looked good for an early PS2 crash game and the levels were pretty good. Don't know how people thought they were flat i though they were fine. I think its a great game and i cant wait for a new game to come out. Alot of rumors saying a reboot will happen in 2016 for the PS4. Lets keep our fingers crossed Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Not only is the gameplay un-revised on this much more powerful platform, but much of the former joy in the series has been drained away. The characters, levels and gameplay are essentially flat.
  2. 74
    A decent playing and pretty looking Crash Bandicoot game. It's nothing terribly special, but it's not bad, not bad at all.
  3. A by the books sequel that takes playing it safe to a new level. Come on guys this easily could have been done on the PS One and it probably should have.