User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 160
  2. Negative: 21 out of 160
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyM.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    This game may not be as innovative most action/playformers out there, but Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex has some extremely new content, incredible and imaginative levels and bosses, and a huge amount of unlockables, abilities, and crazy ideas to fill you up with praise. Get this game.
  2. HaoranN.
    Jul 27, 2003
    8
    Alright too slow on the load but good on gameplay.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    This game is just great!!!!
  4. KimberlyP.
    Feb 4, 2002
    9
    I give it a nine because everything is great except the load time. In all the others it loads really fast, like in 5 seconds.
  5. JamesN.
    Sep 27, 2002
    9
    Great game but loading is horrendous.
  6. KittyB.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    I know it is basically the same as all the other crash games but I have only played and completed crash 1, so I think that it is good but the loading times are a little slow.
  7. MikeZ.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    This is a challenging game. This really puts your senses to it.
  8. EdgarM.
    Mar 28, 2002
    10
    I'm a real crash fan. I love the game.
  9. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    the wrath of cortex it´s a good game i like the sound track the ideas for the levels the story and the graphics but if you are one of those crash bandicoot ps1 fans you will probably hate this game due to the character design, the long loading screen and the fact that it does look like a warped clone but if you can surpass those things crash will entertain you for a few hours
  10. JorgeC.
    Jul 18, 2004
    10
    GREAT but the loading sucks.
  11. JoshS.
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    One of the best games i ever played.
  12. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a great platform game; the first Crash game on PlayStation 2. The game does have it's problems with being unoriginal; the game play is identical to the previous Crash games: Go around, collecting crystals from 5 world Hubs inside a warp room and fight an end boss to that hub. However there are a few things that are new like the fact you can play asCrash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex is a great platform game; the first Crash game on PlayStation 2. The game does have it's problems with being unoriginal; the game play is identical to the previous Crash games: Go around, collecting crystals from 5 world Hubs inside a warp room and fight an end boss to that hub. However there are a few things that are new like the fact you can play as Coco (Crash's sister) in some levels and in some levels require Crash to roll around in a ball avoiding hazards. Cortex remains the antagonist and he's created another Bandicoot called Crunch to destroy Crash. As I said, this game is identical in game play when compared to the previous 2 (Excluding Crash Bash) games in the series. Crash collects crystals, Relic's (from time trials), Gems (breaking every box in one level) and Coloured Gems from levels and some levels have vehicle sections like Crash riding in a Jeep or Coco riding on a Snow board. Returning power ups (you earn these power ups when you defeat a boss) from Crash 3 include the Fruit Bazooka and the Death Tornado. The environments are nicely detailed and the levels provide a good challenge. The game as a whole is a decent platformer with jumps and obstacles like TNT'S and Nitro's to overcome; everything you'd expect from a Crash game. The music (especially the last boss theme) is well done and fits each level but the voice acting for some characters (N. Gin and N. Tropy especially) is cheesy; just doesn't suit their characters. The load time for each level is very long which is really annoying. Despite some niggles, Crash Bandicoot: The wrath of Cortex is a great game and possibly the best Crash game on the PlayStation 2. Expand
  13. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Though extremely challenging, this game is (by far) the best game in the Crash Bandicoot series, all the negative critics can go jump off a cliff because this is how you make a platformer. Many of you may think I'm just blinded by nostalgia and, hey, maybe I am. This series has been with me for my entire life and I love every game. (Yes, even the Titans era. Though not like Crash games,Though extremely challenging, this game is (by far) the best game in the Crash Bandicoot series, all the negative critics can go jump off a cliff because this is how you make a platformer. Many of you may think I'm just blinded by nostalgia and, hey, maybe I am. This series has been with me for my entire life and I love every game. (Yes, even the Titans era. Though not like Crash games, they are a nice twist to the series.) Expand
  14. EmmaM.
    Jun 6, 2002
    10
    I love this game so much.
  15. JamesS.
    Jan 20, 2002
    10
    It may be the same but I find it very fun and challengeing.
  16. Mrs.YamiYugi
    Dec 30, 2002
    9
    Brilliant game. Too hard. Crap loading times. I can't beat the Air element boss!!!
  17. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    A good game with a few flaws. Loading is bad, but to me that isn't the biggest problem of the game. The biggest problem is flying levels. Not fun, boring rather. And, game developers wasted characters by not using them. It would've been cool to fight someone else than Cruch.
  18. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    I don't really understand how so many people HATE this game. And i mean hate it. I actually thought this game was really good. Of course Crash Bandicoot Warped and Twinsanity are the two best games, i have Wrath of Cortex even with Crash 2. The one big problem, which everyone probably has a problem with, was the loading times. The loading screen took forever and killed any good vibes goingI don't really understand how so many people HATE this game. And i mean hate it. I actually thought this game was really good. Of course Crash Bandicoot Warped and Twinsanity are the two best games, i have Wrath of Cortex even with Crash 2. The one big problem, which everyone probably has a problem with, was the loading times. The loading screen took forever and killed any good vibes going into a level. Besides that i like the gameplay, the graphics looked good for an early PS2 crash game and the levels were pretty good. Don't know how people thought they were flat i though they were fine. I think its a great game and i cant wait for a new game to come out. Alot of rumors saying a reboot will happen in 2016 for the PS4. Lets keep our fingers crossed Expand
  19. Jan 31, 2016
    9
    One of the most underrated titles. Just because it wasn't made by naughty dog people undermined it. Not innovative though and much like Crash 3 but still good.
  20. Mar 16, 2016
    9
    Well I guess I should go for the hard games that I'm going to do and that is Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex. The evil mask Uka Uka (who sounds like Mr Krabs) and Dr Cortex is up to no good again and set the other masks free. One is the rock mask, Two is the water mask who sounds like Gunnery Sgt. Hartman from Full Metal Jacket, Three is the fire mask (who is voiced by Mark HamillWell I guess I should go for the hard games that I'm going to do and that is Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex. The evil mask Uka Uka (who sounds like Mr Krabs) and Dr Cortex is up to no good again and set the other masks free. One is the rock mask, Two is the water mask who sounds like Gunnery Sgt. Hartman from Full Metal Jacket, Three is the fire mask (who is voiced by Mark Hamill from the Star Wars film) and the final one is the wind mask. Yeah I know the levels in this game are hard but that doesn't necessary make it frustrating for me, I still liked it. Expand
  21. Jul 31, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is amazing PS2 exclusive and one of the best Crash Games . Beatiful Graphics for 2001, awesome storyline, in this game was debut one of my favourite Crash Characters - Crunch . At the beginning Crunch was Crash enemy, but after became Crash friend and final boss this game is Crunch and after Crash defeat Crunch, Crunch became Crash Friend . Very good game, with amazing gameplay . Expand

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#16 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Not only is the gameplay un-revised on this much more powerful platform, but much of the former joy in the series has been drained away. The characters, levels and gameplay are essentially flat.
  2. 74
    A decent playing and pretty looking Crash Bandicoot game. It's nothing terribly special, but it's not bad, not bad at all.
  3. A by the books sequel that takes playing it safe to a new level. Come on guys this easily could have been done on the PS One and it probably should have.