• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 21, 2004
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. An excellent blend of a beat-em up game with an RPG. Fans of both genres will agree. [JPN Import]
  2. This is one of the slickest-looking games on the PS2. [Sept 2004, p.88]
  3. The character advancement system is satisfying as is the combat dynamics and the weapons system adds an additional layer of depth to the intrinsically deep RPG dynamics.
  4. A decent enough beat 'em up adventure with interesting roleplaying elements. It is way too repetitive, however. [Jan. 05]
  5. The bosses are straight out of a mid-nineties arcade quarter-muncher, with identifiable patterns but, frequently, no real way for a character to safely get in to melee range.
  6. 8 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 29 [Vol 802; 30 Apr 2004]
  7. A devilishly addictive blend of role playing game and button-bashing fighter. I found the game quite a bit of fun to play, but really didn’t have any nagging urges to return to it once I put it down.
  8. 71
    With a better approach to dungeon crawling, less fetch questing, and a better inventory system, the sequel could definitely blow some doors off.
  9. For us, it's an enjoyable hackandslash with a thoughtful combat system, some nice integration of RPG elements, and a story that kept us interested once it stopped trying to confuse us by failing to clarify who or what anything was or had to do with anything.
  10. 70
    Worth looking at for its high production values, but its gameplay lacks depth. If your favorite part of "Final Fantasy X" was seeking out rare items to upgrade your weapons, you will love this game. [Sept 2004, p.82]
  11. This isn't a story-driven RPG and it isn't a pure action game. But if you can appreciate the way Diablo fused the two genres, and if you don't mind the distinct anime artwork, Crimson Tears is a real gem.
  12. If Crimson Tears did a better job of eliminating or even just disguising its leveling grind, it could have started a BrawlPG trend. For now, it's merely good but repetitive - it could have leveled up more before its release. [Aug 2004, p.98]
  13. The game has its share of ups and downs, but if you're willing to overlook the occasionally frustrating fixed camera, it actually gets better the more you play it, just like the characters with whom you'll be fighting.
  14. Given the complexity of a lot of what's out there, it's always nice to just sit back and beat on things, and when it looks this nice, well, if you're so inclined, this is one of the better pick-up-and-play games around. [Aug 2004, p.54]
  15. A repetitive game that is bound to bore a large majority of gamers after just a short time of playing. It reeks of old school gaming, but not in a good way, and in an age where innovation and longevity are all that keeps a game from falling into the bottomless pit of obscurity, Crimson Tears already seems doomed.
  16. 62
    A fairly unique game that is, overall, quite fun. Its flaws lie, unfortunately, in the largest part of any game - the gameplay.
  17. If only the game had more challenging foes and made better use of the randomly generated levels, things may have turned out differently. But hey, at least you’ll have plenty of eye candy to ogle. That’s got to count for something.
  18. The camera causes a bit of frustration and takes away a lot of the strategy elements that could have been in this game if it had allowed the player to see the entire room as it was entered, but overall the game is fun and should be given a serious look by fans of science-fiction themed action RPGs.
  19. Good enough to be a solid rental, but anything else and you'll wonder exactly how many times you can run from room to room smacking broken record-voiced enemies over and over again to make things worth your $50. Trust me, even with the number of times you'll revisit levels and bust out the same combo chain, it's not enough.
  20. Tight control and unlockable combos keep you from falling asleep, but the rote, dungeon-hacking gameplay wears think quickly...especially solo. [Sept 2004, p.100]
  21. Oddly addicting. It's as hard to put down as it is hard to pick up and play once you become frustrated over the design imperfections. How you will fare depends on your temperment in this reality.
  22. 60
    A classic dungeon crawl with a couple of twists. It's set in futuristic Tokyo and it's cel-shaded. Unfortunately, those two nifty wrinkles aren't enough to make up for the game's otherwise lackluster play.
  23. Like the similar P.N.03 for the GameCube, however, extremely repetitive levels and generally bland design detract from the overall experience.
  24. There is no checkpoint system and save game slots are randomly dropped by enemies, which is both frustrating and tiresome unless you like restarting a level over and over. [Sept 2004, p.24]
  25. In theory, these randomly created dungeons should add a level of unpredictability and replay to the experience, but in practice it renders the level design so incredibly tedious and dull that I could barely force myself to keep playing. [Aug 2004, p.99]
  26. 45
    Fans into beat-'em-ups will find there's not enough to captivate them, with way too much repetition even for that genre. Likewise, RPG nuts will grow too upset with the unending pattern-like progression and clunky management. And if you happen to like both, the combination just won't be enough to make you squeal with joy.
  27. Though it does have some addictive qualities, Crimson Tears feels a little half-baked, a hodgepodge of different gaming styles crammed under one very confusing roof.
  28. 40
    Nothing in it really drives you to play. The RPG elements are watered down, the dungeon and monster designs are boring, and even with all the different weapons and combat options, the fighting is just too simplistic.
  29. While the cel-shaded graphics are pretty slick, the drab environments, insignificant story, lame voice acting, and cheap gameplay keep it from being much fun at all.
  30. A game idea that feels half done and then released to the public. The action game has repetitive action in maze dungeons that feel more like a downloadable demo than a full game.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    A bright, colourful (graphically impressive) anime-styled brawler; unfortunately it's noticeably repetitive (the formula is: few dungeon levels, fight boss, repeat), though you do have a choice of three characters to break up the monotony; cute dual blade wielding anime girl, cute buster sword wielding anime girl with pigtails, or beefcake with guns. I found cute buster sword wielding anime girl with pigtails the most enjoyable to play as. Crimson Tears is good fun despite its basic gameplay; sometimes it's just fun to enter a dungeon and beat the stuffing out of everything inside. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    I'm usually a fan of button mashers like Devil May Cry, Double Dragon, and Streets of Rage. This is a hybrid beat-em-up dungeon leveler. The Capcom designed characters and cell shading are a great part of the appeal of this game. While normally I hate games that do RPG, most notabley all of Square Enix and Atlus games....the leveling up and item buying still remains fun here. The button mashing was better than I expected, and enemies do kick your butt. The gameplay is much better than Bujingai. The movement controls are still pretty basic (no jump). There is some management and strategy while your fighting: countering status effects and looking at your power meter which you need to do in order to make it to the end. The dungeons are randomly generated and remind me of the paths in Soul Calibur 2, which I liked a lot. Another great appeal of this game is just making it to the next room or sticking it out to finish the dungeon. What I like is that this game doesn't bog you down in menus, dialogue boxes, or tutorials like some others. Perhaps the lack of story does make this game less exciting, but it didn't stop me from buying it. I just want something fun to waste time. This is a much better game than Bujingai and The Bouncer (which I never understood the appeal of). This is the type of game you should buy if you like cells shaded anime graphics, some fun buttons mashing, and some pretty decent gameplay. There are some areas of the game that don't seem polished, like your home base but you don't seem to spend much time there. The point of the game does seem to be kicking ass and thats what I wanted. If you still play PS2 in 2013, this is probably a must buy/try. If you like anime capcom games you should also get this. Its a mystery why more people haven't picked this one up or even reviewed it here. I guess its kind of obscure due to the reviews. There is something satisfying about this game, and not too many downsides that make it unplayable, so I'd buy it if I were you. Other games that I think are similar to this is X-men Legends I & II. If you liked the Marvel X-men Legends, you'll like this game also. -1pt for little story, -1pt for not being able to jump, and -1pt for the home base area being a bit stark. Overall this is a must have for collectors though! Buy it! Full Review »
  3. Slaphappy
    Aug 23, 2004
    8
    Actually The reviews on this game seems like they didnt play the game at all. It is like phantasy star online(The gameplay not the online there is none) and that got high scores the replay value is moderate just to get the items. All around fun button masher. Full Review »