Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The hidden ace among the collectible card games on the PS2.
  2. 90
    If you're a fan of strategy, board, or card games, this is one you can't let slip by despite its unfamiliar name and unassuming appearance. It's a thoroughbred.
  3. 90
    Culdcept provides gamers with a nearly limitless amount of gaming that is addictive, amusing and simply a must have for anyone who loves games.
  4. A sleeper hit because of the simplicity of the gameplay and the intricacy of the strategy.
  5. A triumph of gameplay over technology, Culdcept offers highly rewarding and deep gameplay emphasizing the formulation of individual strategies to overcome challenging opponents.
  6. 87
    Between its multiple layers of deep strategy and straightforward combat system (not to mention its personable style and terrific level of accessibility), Culdcept can be an awful lot of fun.
  7. Culdcept has exceeded my expectations in nearly every way. The game is deep, addicting, and an absolute joy to play.
  8. I can't get over the role that luck plays in Culdcept, but I have to admit that this is a seriously addictive game.
  9. What does shine is the cards themselves, which feature work by a ton of distinct Japanese artists. [Feb 2004, p.47]
  10. Even its obscurity and relatively steep learning curve can't bring down this subtle, challenging and entertaining gem of a game. [Mar 2004, p.40]
  11. The best game you've never heard of. It's also the first game I've been officially addicted to in over a year, and I play a lot of games, so that should tell you something.
  12. Prepare to waste your month(s) away, or just rent this beast and enjoy the unintentionally hilarious plot and general presentation.
  13. The best board game and card game of this generation, Culdcept features simple, deep, addictive gameplay that's topped off with great four-player multiplayer support. [Jan 2004, p.52]
  14. An incredibly addicting strategy game. [Dec 2003, p.149]
  15. The well-designed mechanics, combined with its sheer amount of content, make Culdcept easily recommendable to fans of strategy games and even to fans of role-playing games.
  16. More "Monopoly" than "Magic: The Gathering," you may want to rent it first to see if it suits your style.
  17. As good a card game as I’ve played on the screen and can suck you in for hours on end. Some will dislike the occasionally random luck swings, but the interesting design and wealth of cards give it surprising depth.
  18. The strategy runs deep in the game.
  19. Do you like "Monopoly" but wish it featured more fantasy trappings and colorful cards? Well, has NEC got a deal for you with Culdcept. [Dec 2003, p.156]
  20. A very comprehensive strategy game that is surprisingly easy to pick up and just gets deeper and more addictive the more you play it.
  21. 70
    Sure, the chatter between characters is pretty hokey at times - and is that old guy a walking stick with a head? - but that doesn't overshadow that Culdcept is an interesting and unique game idea. It's worth a look to see if it will offer you a break from the routine.
  22. It’s a fun title that boils down to good old-fashioned board game fun that just happens to be on a DVD.
  23. 65
    Card game fanatics who are willing to accept that victory or defeat is often out of their control will probably enjoy the game a great deal. However, those of you who wish to have a greater hand in your own fate will likely be frustrated by the sheer randomness of it all.
  24. The game is insanely addictive, but it will only truly appeal to those with a modicum of patience.
  25. 60
    An excellent gateway game. It's accessible enough for non-gamers to play, yet deep enough for the more hard core to enjoy as well.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Andyman
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    They should've just called this game Crackcept, it's nearly too addictive to be believed. The battles are beyond epic, just when They should've just called this game Crackcept, it's nearly too addictive to be believed. The battles are beyond epic, just when you think you're dominating, a bad roll of the dice forces you to rethink your strategy to regain what you lost. The fact that you can create up to ten different books of 50 cards each means that you can play each battle exactly as you'd like, but also means that no two battles will ever be even remotely alike (or predictable). This game's stupefying level of depth and replayability amount to a sleeper classic that is second to none. Needless to say, I am almost giddy that Culdcept Saga is coming very soon to the Xbox 360. Joy! Full Review »
  2. TroyH.
    May 5, 2005
    8
    An excellent game suffers only mildly by the double randomness of both dice rols and deck shuffles. can be very adictive but can sometimes An excellent game suffers only mildly by the double randomness of both dice rols and deck shuffles. can be very adictive but can sometimes frustrate when a bad series of rolls or an unlucky shuffle have you stuck landing on high rent spaces with only items in your hand . would love to see a sequel or tournaments being done in us. Full Review »
  3. JayK.
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    My girlfriend and I got this because we like Magic: The Gathering and the graphics on the box seemed very appealing. Now, even though I have My girlfriend and I got this because we like Magic: The Gathering and the graphics on the box seemed very appealing. Now, even though I have a library of about 70 PS2 games, this is the one we always end up playing. It fits our every mood, is extremely fun single player and multiplayer, the atmosphere and art are fantastic, and the card collecting aspect is extremely well implemented and addictive. This game just works exactly like you want it too, and it's just awesome. Absolutely one of my favorite games on the system. I wish I had something like it for one of my portables... At only 10 bucks or so used and 20 bucks new, there is no excuse not to pick it up if you are even remotely interested in the concept. Full Review »