• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dark Cloud 2 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Known as "Dark Chronicle" in the UK] Live the adventure of an inventive young man, visited by a protector of the future. Rely on your creative ability to rebuild destroyed worlds, invent equipment needed for your journey and repair weaponry damaged in battle. Your efforts will determine the[Known as "Dark Chronicle" in the UK] Live the adventure of an inventive young man, visited by a protector of the future. Rely on your creative ability to rebuild destroyed worlds, invent equipment needed for your journey and repair weaponry damaged in battle. Your efforts will determine the outcome of things to come. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    No matter how you look at it this game rocks. It offers the action-style of "Wind Waker" with light character & weapon building, world building and a handful of mini-games and quests that make it an RPG experience that PS2 owners shouldn't pass up.
  2. Not only does this version of Dark Cloud look beautiful, but it has a little something for everyone, action and exploration, character customization and development, magic and technology, city building, and a wonderful captivating story... [and] it does them all exceptionally well.
  3. The most amazing thing about Dark Cloud 2 is the fact that so much can be fit into one game like this, all of which is used effectively, and still have room left over for awe-inspiring graphics.
  4. It’s no "Wind Waker" (then again, what is?) but, in its own quiet and subtle way, developer Level-5’s dungeon-clearing RPG is as amusing and polished an entry into the genre as anything Miyamoto has designed for the past two generations of Nintendo consoles.
  5. You can call an RPG a lot of things - compelling, cinematic, thought-provoking - but rarely addictive. Dark Cloud 2 is completely, utterly addictive. [Mar 2003, p.111]
  6. Problems aside though, Dark Chronicle is a truly captivating game. A great story coupled with decent controls, features and more extra bits than anyone could ever think of.
  7. 50
    Sadly, Dark Cloud 2’s shining moments are outweighed by the mediocre inclusion of the random dungeon, and the tragic design decisions the developers chose to implement.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 66
  2. Negative: 3 out of 66
  1. ShawnR.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    One of the best games i ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The joy of adventure, inventing, and saving the world are every kid's dream, by playing Dark Cloud 2, it felt as if those dreams came true forThe joy of adventure, inventing, and saving the world are every kid's dream, by playing Dark Cloud 2, it felt as if those dreams came true for me. I love Dark Cloud 2's storyline and originality, not to mention the believable graphics and extras, no other game contains such a broad scope of things to do. Many games either focus on the battles or focus on the skill. Dark Cloud 2 contains a mixture of battles and skills and somehow it intertwines everything to the main plot of the story in a very easy to understand way. I was very sad when the game ended but was overjoyed to see that there was a "epilogue" chapter for Dark Cloud 1 fans =P I'm worried about Dark Cloud 3 though, it may not be able to pass up its predescessor since Dark Cloud 2 is just so good, especially after this long way all of us have become way too anxious. Nevertheless, this game is for anyone who loves adventure and the feel of actually being in the story! Expand
  3. BitCloud
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    I mean DAAAAMN! This is an AMAZING game that just won't let you go! It'll keep you glued to the tv screen for a looooooong long I mean DAAAAMN! This is an AMAZING game that just won't let you go! It'll keep you glued to the tv screen for a looooooong long time. Long long time. It's supposed to be 100 hours long, but maybe it's longer, for sure:) The only other game that will beat this is, of course, Final Fantasy X2! Yeah! Can't wait for FFX2! Expand
  4. DannyR.
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    This game is incredible!!!Best game of the century!!! The only problem is that after you beat the whole game, you wont be able to go to the This game is incredible!!!Best game of the century!!! The only problem is that after you beat the whole game, you wont be able to go to the future anymore. But overall this game is magnificant. Expand
  5. DillonDabunny
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Dark could 2 though its known as Dark Chronicles over here in Europe.

    I see some people havent rated this game well at all, maybe they
    Dark could 2 though its known as Dark Chronicles over here in Europe.

    I see some people havent rated this game well at all, maybe they didnt complete it. I cant tell you what my score would of been an hour in, or maybe five ours in. But I probably put over 50 hours in to this game, and hands down its the best RPG I have ever played.
    Dont get me wrong FFVII -FFXII are incredible games, breath of fire, fallout, Dragon Quest,... persona.. all these games are so amazing. but DC2 touched me in the same was that Ico did. and for that reason alone a perfect score is the least I can give it.
    There may of been faults with the fighting system when I first played it, but after the story grabs you ...but then after youre sucked in nothing else matters. story, gameplay, playability, graphics.. all there.
    Read the reviews from the industry they dont lie, this really is one hell of a game.

    I just hope DC3 lives up to expectation.
    Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    An almost flawless game. Graphic are gorgeous, story is engaging and deep, main characters are well developed and very likable. Gameplay isAn almost flawless game. Graphic are gorgeous, story is engaging and deep, main characters are well developed and very likable. Gameplay is rich and varied.

    The pacing can get a little slow at some points and the levels suffer from similar repetitiveness that the first game had. But, while these flaws are noticable they are also easily overlooked as there is enough variety in the level designs and side activities to keep you distracted.

    Overall:
    Dark Cloud 2 (or Dark Chronicle) is perhaps one of my favorite PS2 games. It has everything I want in a game, if not more. For me this is a classic that I can replay over and over and every moment is a joy.
    Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 27, 2005
    1
    This game is extermely repetitive i can't figure out why it is being scored so high. the story is lame the characters are lamel, and theThis game is extermely repetitive i can't figure out why it is being scored so high. the story is lame the characters are lamel, and the weapon system is lame. every floor of every dungeon looks exactly the same and when you leave a floor and come back the layout is different wtf!!!!! the only good thing about this game is music which like the gameplay is very repetitive. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews