Dead to Rights PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    Great fighting moves and good action.
  2. PygmyPirate
    Jan 3, 2003
    8
    This game is very repetitive, the visuals are a little choppy, and the story line: Oh, my God is this a Jean Claud Van Dam Short film or what? But the balistic gun shooting darting around isn't all that bad. The feature kind of suck because you don't use them to much. Hidding behind walls: sucks because enemies run right up to you and go trigger happy. The dodge or matrix This game is very repetitive, the visuals are a little choppy, and the story line: Oh, my God is this a Jean Claud Van Dam Short film or what? But the balistic gun shooting darting around isn't all that bad. The feature kind of suck because you don't use them to much. Hidding behind walls: sucks because enemies run right up to you and go trigger happy. The dodge or matrix feature (triangle button) usually has me floating into a wall or at an angle were I can't shoot the retartds. Shadow (the dog) comes in handy when you need an insta-kill on an enemy and he will return to you with his victims weapon. The Martial arts or hand to hand is gay! A group of lonley prisoners wanting to kick your @ss and you can't even kick them while they are on the ground. The R1 targeting system is much like the GTA target system, which is nice. The human sheild and disarm techinque is actually the best part o the game... Damn, know I think I should have bought Hitman 2 instead. Expand
  3. n/an/a
    Mar 17, 2003
    9
    excellent cross between max payne and syphon filter 1. story was like a good book...sucks at first then half way through you cant put it down. a few small repetative parts, yes, but they were hard to notice with the blend of minigames, clever bosses, situation conflict, ect. i was a slight bit dissapointed with the hand to hand combat, they didnt have enough moves it is, just punch, kick,excellent cross between max payne and syphon filter 1. story was like a good book...sucks at first then half way through you cant put it down. a few small repetative parts, yes, but they were hard to notice with the blend of minigames, clever bosses, situation conflict, ect. i was a slight bit dissapointed with the hand to hand combat, they didnt have enough moves it is, just punch, kick, grab, dodge, disarm. still overall this is my favorite ps2 game. Expand
  4. LennyB.
    Mar 5, 2003
    9
    The grafix and sounds effects are great, the story plot is excellent, and gameplay is one of the best yet of all PS2 games. I say it is one of the many must-buy PS2 games of the year!
  5. AssKisser
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    It rocks totally!!!!!
  6. BrianH.
    Dec 22, 2002
    9
    This game is amazing, the only problem is the camera, but the human shields along with your K-9 partner and a large amount of disarm moves makes this game amazing. The mini-games are tedious sometimes but add to the story. The action-noir thriller story adds to the atmosphere of the game and just 5 minutes of this game is better than playing any other shooter. This game does Max Payne one This game is amazing, the only problem is the camera, but the human shields along with your K-9 partner and a large amount of disarm moves makes this game amazing. The mini-games are tedious sometimes but add to the story. The action-noir thriller story adds to the atmosphere of the game and just 5 minutes of this game is better than playing any other shooter. This game does Max Payne one better. Expand
  7. CraigE.
    Dec 24, 2002
    9
    Max Payne meets Bounty Hunter, etc. Awesome game play with some very cool and innovative actions. Shadow the dog is a neat concept but disarming and using the enemy as human shield's, now that's swwweeeeeeeet. Loved this game.

Awards & Rankings

#80 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#49 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Play Magazine
    50
    Dead to Rights is no "Max Payne." It tries to be when it's not being a mediocre melange of mini-games or a reheated crime story, but for the most part it's just generic. [Jan 2003, p.79]
  2. Cheat Code Central
    80
    Completely playable and enjoyable - and exactly what I was hoping the Xbox version would have been.
  3. 81
    Short, explosive, and a roller coaster ride chalk full of violence, Namco's stab at cop vengeance is a great time while it lasts.