• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    Great fighting moves and good action.
  2. n/an/a
    Mar 17, 2003
    9
    excellent cross between max payne and syphon filter 1. story was like a good book...sucks at first then half way through you cant put it down. a few small repetative parts, yes, but they were hard to notice with the blend of minigames, clever bosses, situation conflict, ect. i was a slight bit dissapointed with the hand to hand combat, they didnt have enough moves it is, just punch, kick,excellent cross between max payne and syphon filter 1. story was like a good book...sucks at first then half way through you cant put it down. a few small repetative parts, yes, but they were hard to notice with the blend of minigames, clever bosses, situation conflict, ect. i was a slight bit dissapointed with the hand to hand combat, they didnt have enough moves it is, just punch, kick, grab, dodge, disarm. still overall this is my favorite ps2 game. Expand
  3. LennyB.
    Mar 5, 2003
    9
    The grafix and sounds effects are great, the story plot is excellent, and gameplay is one of the best yet of all PS2 games. I say it is one of the many must-buy PS2 games of the year!
  4. DanteSparda
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    This game is everything Max Payne Should've been, and where max payne failed, dead to rights succeed. With devil may cry's permission, I can say that this is the only guns blazing action style game worthy of your money on the ps2. Metal gear solid 2? don't even think about it. That's stealth. I'm talkin' about good old school action, including innovative This game is everything Max Payne Should've been, and where max payne failed, dead to rights succeed. With devil may cry's permission, I can say that this is the only guns blazing action style game worthy of your money on the ps2. Metal gear solid 2? don't even think about it. That's stealth. I'm talkin' about good old school action, including innovative elements like the minigames, the take hostages as human shields mechanic, and the cool bullet time use. I mean, in Max payne the bullet time was just an estetic graphic novelty that wears of just to quickly. But here, is a cool feature that allows you to target multiple enemies in a single dive jump, beautifully executed in slow motion, and a cool move that can save your ass in the hottest bullet pandemonium situations. This game kicks serious butt, and washed down from my throat the bitter flavor that the horrible max payne control system left. The only leftdown points, sometimes the game is too f....n hard, And sometimes u don't have idea what to do, or where 2 go. And the graphics could've been a bit better. Those deatails aside, the action title of the year. Thanks Namco, i'm waiting 4 the sequel. Expand
  5. AssKisser
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    It rocks totally!!!!!
  6. Sexyman
    Apr 21, 2003
    10
    It is the best game know to man.
  7. BrianH.
    Dec 22, 2002
    9
    This game is amazing, the only problem is the camera, but the human shields along with your K-9 partner and a large amount of disarm moves makes this game amazing. The mini-games are tedious sometimes but add to the story. The action-noir thriller story adds to the atmosphere of the game and just 5 minutes of this game is better than playing any other shooter. This game does Max Payne one This game is amazing, the only problem is the camera, but the human shields along with your K-9 partner and a large amount of disarm moves makes this game amazing. The mini-games are tedious sometimes but add to the story. The action-noir thriller story adds to the atmosphere of the game and just 5 minutes of this game is better than playing any other shooter. This game does Max Payne one better. Expand
  8. CraigE.
    Dec 24, 2002
    9
    Max Payne meets Bounty Hunter, etc. Awesome game play with some very cool and innovative actions. Shadow the dog is a neat concept but disarming and using the enemy as human shield's, now that's swwweeeeeeeet. Loved this game.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dead to Rights is no "Max Payne." It tries to be when it's not being a mediocre melange of mini-games or a reheated crime story, but for the most part it's just generic. [Jan 2003, p.79]
  2. Completely playable and enjoyable - and exactly what I was hoping the Xbox version would have been.
  3. 81
    Short, explosive, and a roller coaster ride chalk full of violence, Namco's stab at cop vengeance is a great time while it lasts.