Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. 100
    Tremendous depth, great story, original gameplay-Deus Ex is the kind of game that almost shocks you with how good it is.
  2. The stealth aspect of the game is completely addicting.
  3. A problem-solving mission structure that rewards the player for lateral thinking, as well as an immersive world and a great story. I'm not sure if it'll win Game of the Year this time around, but it definitely deserves to be in the running.
  4. Game Informer
    90
    Is there depth and brilliance in this? You're damn right there is. [May 2002, p.80]
  5. A plot which will suck you in and a deeply intricate blend of action and espionage which can create an almost endless character creation and enable you to build your ultimate cybernetic killing machine.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    The almost intimidatingly complex design of the PC game has been masterfully reworked so that it's accessible with just a joypad. [May 2002, p.98]
  7. PSM Magazine
    90
    What is so great about Deus Ex is the ability to play the game however you want. [May 2002, p.24]
  8. AceGamez
    90
    A groundbreaking PC game that supremely talented developers Ion Storm somehow managed to squeeze onto the PS2, all the more amazing considering that there's no hard drive to work with.
  9. It's very complicated yet highly accessible and features the kind of attention to detail that consoles just have never witnessed before.
  10. If you’re looking for a story that will hook you, play with your head, and leave you questioning exactly how far our pursuit of technology should go, and exactly how some world events and so-called tales of conspiracies really fit together, you should drop everything and go buy this game.
  11. A great single-player experience. I can understand why this game was so popular two years ago, but without a graphical update and multiplayer modes, it just falls a little short in competition with games like Halo and the new breed of FPS coming out on the consoles.
  12. 83
    Despite a few frame rate hitches, and a control scheme that takes a little getting used to, Deus Ex is a very playable, extremely entertaining game.
  13. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    82
    Ex affords you a kind of gameplay latitude I haven't seen from any other action shooter. [June 2002, p.110]
  14. It ultimately succeeds at creating a believable, open-ended game environment while telling a focused and memorable story, which makes Deus Ex well suited for anyone who's played through enough conventional action games or role-playing games to forgive its shortcomings in light of its great achievements.
  15. GMR Magazine
    80
    One of the best PC games of 2000 is ported faithfully to the PS2. Upgrade your character's skills and attributes to your liking. [Feb 2003, p.92]
  16. Luckily, the game is designed to be open-ended enough to let you explore multiple ways in overcoming a problem, leading to a sense of discovery and freedom, again something not typical of first-person shooters.
  17. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The level designs and the missions are imaginative and the game is not impossible to play even on the last few level. Don't let the graphics fool you, this game is very pretty on the inside - where it counts.
  18. While the gameplay and situations in Deus Ex are immersive, the story execution is not.

Awards & Rankings

#41 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#64 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Not the greatest of ports, however it is still the greatest game on the Playstation 2 and possibly the greatest ever made to date (2012). YouNot the greatest of ports, however it is still the greatest game on the Playstation 2 and possibly the greatest ever made to date (2012). You just got to look past those dated graphics, and read between the lines. I strongly reccomend the PC version though for the full experience, much quicker loading times and some fantastic mods, most notably New Vision + Biomod. Full Review »
  2. TheGilbertMulroneycakesConspiracy
    Nov 19, 2002
    8
    Ooo...not a great port. What the hell is that "The Conspiracy" doing there, for a start? Like, duh, Beavis. Really, really, really, really Ooo...not a great port. What the hell is that "The Conspiracy" doing there, for a start? Like, duh, Beavis. Really, really, really, really good game, but on the PS2, not so much. Get the PC version. Hmm? Well, then, get a PC. Hmm? Trust me, it's worth getting a PC for Deus Ex alone. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    A good game for the PS2, This game got me to play the original PC game and I do not regret playing either one. This game opened my mind to theA good game for the PS2, This game got me to play the original PC game and I do not regret playing either one. This game opened my mind to the concept of an open game where you actually have a huge impact on the world. Full Review »