User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    With terrorists openly killing thousands as well as drugs, disease and pollution being widespread the world's economies are on the verge of total collapse. A shadowy organisation, bent on world domination, begins to emerge and no one but you believes they exist.

    A port from the PC original Deus Ex is usually labelled as a first person shooter but it is so much more than that. One of the
    With terrorists openly killing thousands as well as drugs, disease and pollution being widespread the world's economies are on the verge of total collapse. A shadowy organisation, bent on world domination, begins to emerge and no one but you believes they exist.

    A port from the PC original Deus Ex is usually labelled as a first person shooter but it is so much more than that. One of the biggest factors that separates it from other FPS games is the ability to improve and customise your character as the game progresses. The way in which you upgrade your character has a huge impact on the way the game plays; maxing out your hacking skills for example meaning you can override gun turrets to attack enemies. Very few games, even now in 2013, allow the player such freedom to play exactly how they wish.

    This port is certainly not without its flaws. Even when released eleven years ago the controls and graphics were a mixed bag and the game featured the odd bug or two (although none were game breaking). It is however easy to overlook these minor problems in such a unique gaming experience.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This fitted very well at time because most people didn't have a computer or a had one not good enough for playing Deus Ex. It's a satisfactory port of the original game, with improved music and graphics. The loading times are not so big and the controls are good, with the possibility to plug in a keyboard or a mouse to play like in PC. Nevertheless, nowadays every PC is good enough to playThis fitted very well at time because most people didn't have a computer or a had one not good enough for playing Deus Ex. It's a satisfactory port of the original game, with improved music and graphics. The loading times are not so big and the controls are good, with the possibility to plug in a keyboard or a mouse to play like in PC. Nevertheless, nowadays every PC is good enough to play this masterpiece without losing any second with loading times, so this port isn't necessary anymore, but at time, was an useful and well-made Playstation 2 port of one the best games ever made Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Not the greatest of ports, however it is still the greatest game on the Playstation 2 and possibly the greatest ever made to date (2012). You just got to look past those dated graphics, and read between the lines. I strongly reccomend the PC version though for the full experience, much quicker loading times and some fantastic mods, most notably New Vision + Biomod.
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    A decent port of a great game. Looking at this it's baffling as to why they had to dumb down Invisible War to make it work on consoles when the straight PC->PS2 port worked so well.
  5. May 15, 2011
    5
    While it has good ideas but Deus Ex is just to mediocre for me to recommend this, the story isn't all that interesting, the graphics are ugly, I know it's an older game but i've seen games on this system that came out before this one that look better, the sound is ok, but the voice work is horrible, and the gameplay is your basic FPS, but allows you to approach a situation anyway you seeWhile it has good ideas but Deus Ex is just to mediocre for me to recommend this, the story isn't all that interesting, the graphics are ugly, I know it's an older game but i've seen games on this system that came out before this one that look better, the sound is ok, but the voice work is horrible, and the gameplay is your basic FPS, but allows you to approach a situation anyway you see fit, which is good but is just to boring, honestly if you can overlook these flaws you may like this game but others should avoid. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    A good game for the PS2, This game got me to play the original PC game and I do not regret playing either one. This game opened my mind to the concept of an open game where you actually have a huge impact on the world.
  7. MonaN
    Mar 11, 2008
    3
    Deus Ex undoubtedly has one of the best gameplay mechanics seen for ages. But the story is quite, how you say, tawdry. In reality, the story just sort of gets out of control and, well, starts feeling colligated. As far as replayability goes, in games that reward the searcher, I typically do everything the first time and, well, I found my pistol sniping method too effective to resort to
  8. PaulC.
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, nothing can touch this game. You can talk about your Halo or you Zelda, Deus Ex blows them both away. A top, top game.
  9. JoeL.
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Period.
  10. JonathanF.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    GRAPHICS The graphics of PlayStation DX are truly amazing. The faces and character models have been improved and everything looks much smoother than the PC version. STORY Plot has always been good in Deus Ex. At the start you're a UNATCO (United Nations Anti Terrorist Coalition) agent named JC Denton. It's your first day and you have to reclaim the Statue of Liberty from the GRAPHICS The graphics of PlayStation DX are truly amazing. The faces and character models have been improved and everything looks much smoother than the PC version. STORY Plot has always been good in Deus Ex. At the start you're a UNATCO (United Nations Anti Terrorist Coalition) agent named JC Denton. It's your first day and you have to reclaim the Statue of Liberty from the clutches of the NSF (Nation Secessionist Force). But as the conspiracy unfolds you will find that not all is what you might think... GAMEPLAY The music is tense just like the PC game but it is actually a little easier, possibly because the PS2 Analogue DualShock isn't as huge and therefore daunting as the PC keyboard. LIFESPAN Completed Deus Ex? Doubt it. Go back and say something different. It'll be a completely different game. Expand
  11. BenW.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    Who cares about the dated looking graphics? they aren't that bad, and they aren't headache-inducing, so the critics should quit their bitching about them. the gameplay and story are absolutely brilliant, and the game is so much fun to play because of the high number of ways of accomplishing a goal. once you start playing, you'll have trouble trying to stop. a must-buy,Who cares about the dated looking graphics? they aren't that bad, and they aren't headache-inducing, so the critics should quit their bitching about them. the gameplay and story are absolutely brilliant, and the game is so much fun to play because of the high number of ways of accomplishing a goal. once you start playing, you'll have trouble trying to stop. a must-buy, especially now that the game is $20 or less. (i got a used one for $10.) 10/10 Expand
  12. PeterO.
    Jun 23, 2003
    9
    This is the best piece of software ever -- it makes Halo look like a game. Some game offers replayability, but this IS replayability; it's designed to be experienced more than once! When I heard DX2 would be available on the Xbox, I got an Xbox for that reason alone. God, what a bargain.
  13. TinS.
    Dec 28, 2002
    9
    Despite the dated graphics, the combination of FPS, RPG, and adventure are so well combined and executed that the results are shockingly astonishing. A 30-40 hrs. rpg/fps experience that is highly recommendable.
  14. TheGilbertMulroneycakesConspiracy
    Nov 19, 2002
    8
    Ooo...not a great port. What the hell is that "The Conspiracy" doing there, for a start? Like, duh, Beavis. Really, really, really, really good game, but on the PS2, not so much. Get the PC version. Hmm? Well, then, get a PC. Hmm? Trust me, it's worth getting a PC for Deus Ex alone.
  15. MikEPaynE
    Jul 23, 2002
    10
    great game, and thats the bottom line....... CAUSE MikEPaynE TOLD IT TO YOU hey editors dues ex got a 7.9 from ign that means a 79. u should change that, if u dont believe me then check and an e-mail of thanks to me would be appricieated, after all this is the second time i have corrected you (the first one was how u put the gba zoocube review on the gamecube section)
  16. BogMan
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    My God! for ages i've waited but it was worth it. may not be the best conversion but graphics don't make a game. Deus Ex should be compared to similar games on the same system not the same game of different systems. It's like comparing a DVD to VHS. And in my opinion this game is the best FPS on ps2, better enemies than half life, and the you choose how to complete the My God! for ages i've waited but it was worth it. may not be the best conversion but graphics don't make a game. Deus Ex should be compared to similar games on the same system not the same game of different systems. It's like comparing a DVD to VHS. And in my opinion this game is the best FPS on ps2, better enemies than half life, and the you choose how to complete the missions is superb. A must for every ps2 owner who loves FP shooters. Expand
  17. OllyL.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Who cares that the graphics aren't A1? You won't when you get sucked in. This game had developers and writers who can think -- it's full of politics, concepts, jokes, tension. For the sake of future gaming, this deserves to be bought by everyone who cares.
  18. LeonK.
    Apr 11, 2002
    9
    Great Game. I love the way you manage your skills, and the gameplay is cool.
  19. GETREADYYOURCANDYASSISNEXT!
    Apr 6, 2002
    10
    THE GREAT ONE SAYS THIS, EVEN THOUGH THIS GAME COST 50 BUCKS, YES THE GREAT ONE SAID FIFTY DOLLARS, YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME. OR THE GREAT ONE WILL DO SOMETHING TO YOU..... THE GREAT ONE WILL TURN HIS BOOT SIDEWAYS... GREASE IT UP REAL NICE.... AND THEN THE GREAT ONE WILL STICK IT STRAIGHT UP YOUR CANDYASS!!!!! IF YOU SMELLLLLLLLL WHAT THE GREAT ONE IS SMOKING!
  20. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    With terrorists openly killing thousands as well as drugs, disease and pollution being widespread the world's economies are on the verge of total collapse. A shadowy organisation, bent on world domination, begins to emerge and no one but you believes they exist.

    A port from the PC original Deus Ex is usually labelled as a first person shooter but it is so much more than that. One of the
    With terrorists openly killing thousands as well as drugs, disease and pollution being widespread the world's economies are on the verge of total collapse. A shadowy organisation, bent on world domination, begins to emerge and no one but you believes they exist.

    A port from the PC original Deus Ex is usually labelled as a first person shooter but it is so much more than that. One of the biggest factors that separates it from other FPS games is the ability to improve and customise your character as the game progresses. The way in which you upgrade your character has a huge impact on the way the game plays; maxing out your hacking skills for example meaning you can override gun turrets to attack enemies. Very few games, even now in 2013, allow the player such freedom to play exactly how they wish.

    This port is certainly not without its flaws. Even when released eleven years ago the controls and graphics were a mixed bag and the game featured the odd bug or two (although none were game breaking). It is however easy to overlook these minor problems in such a unique gaming experience.
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#41 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#76 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's very complicated yet highly accessible and features the kind of attention to detail that consoles just have never witnessed before.
  2. Game Informer
    90
    Is there depth and brilliance in this? You're damn right there is. [May 2002, p.80]
  3. GMR Magazine
    80
    One of the best PC games of 2000 is ported faithfully to the PS2. Upgrade your character's skills and attributes to your liking. [Feb 2003, p.92]