Deus Ex: The Conspiracy Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The future is here, and the world is a dangerous and chaotic place. An ages old conspiracy bent on world domination has decided the time is right to emerge from the shadows and take control. No one believes they exist but you. You play the part of a powerful, nano-technology augmentedThe future is here, and the world is a dangerous and chaotic place. An ages old conspiracy bent on world domination has decided the time is right to emerge from the shadows and take control. No one believes they exist but you. You play the part of a powerful, nano-technology augmented anti-terrorist agent who must stop the conspirators from achieving their goals. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    Tremendous depth, great story, original gameplay-Deus Ex is the kind of game that almost shocks you with how good it is.
  2. Is there depth and brilliance in this? You're damn right there is. [May 2002, p.80]
  3. What is so great about Deus Ex is the ability to play the game however you want. [May 2002, p.24]
  4. Ex affords you a kind of gameplay latitude I haven't seen from any other action shooter. [June 2002, p.110]
  5. While the gameplay and situations in Deus Ex are immersive, the story execution is not.
  6. Survives its transition from PC to PS2 with its gameplay depth and well-acted voices intact, but with its graphics severely chopped and its control scheme compromised by the Dual Shock 2 button layout.
  7. Creaks with age. But there's still enough juice in these solid veins – the game looks, plays, and sounds just good enough. [June 2002, p.63]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Not the greatest of ports, however it is still the greatest game on the Playstation 2 and possibly the greatest ever made to date (2012). YouNot the greatest of ports, however it is still the greatest game on the Playstation 2 and possibly the greatest ever made to date (2012). You just got to look past those dated graphics, and read between the lines. I strongly reccomend the PC version though for the full experience, much quicker loading times and some fantastic mods, most notably New Vision + Biomod. Expand
  2. JonathanF.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    GRAPHICS The graphics of PlayStation DX are truly amazing. The faces and character models have been improved and everything looks much GRAPHICS The graphics of PlayStation DX are truly amazing. The faces and character models have been improved and everything looks much smoother than the PC version. STORY Plot has always been good in Deus Ex. At the start you're a UNATCO (United Nations Anti Terrorist Coalition) agent named JC Denton. It's your first day and you have to reclaim the Statue of Liberty from the clutches of the NSF (Nation Secessionist Force). But as the conspiracy unfolds you will find that not all is what you might think... GAMEPLAY The music is tense just like the PC game but it is actually a little easier, possibly because the PS2 Analogue DualShock isn't as huge and therefore daunting as the PC keyboard. LIFESPAN Completed Deus Ex? Doubt it. Go back and say something different. It'll be a completely different game. Expand
  3. GETREADYYOURCANDYASSISNEXT!
    Apr 6, 2002
    10
    THE GREAT ONE SAYS THIS, EVEN THOUGH THIS GAME COST 50 BUCKS, YES THE GREAT ONE SAID FIFTY DOLLARS, YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME. OR THE GREATTHE GREAT ONE SAYS THIS, EVEN THOUGH THIS GAME COST 50 BUCKS, YES THE GREAT ONE SAID FIFTY DOLLARS, YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME. OR THE GREAT ONE WILL DO SOMETHING TO YOU..... THE GREAT ONE WILL TURN HIS BOOT SIDEWAYS... GREASE IT UP REAL NICE.... AND THEN THE GREAT ONE WILL STICK IT STRAIGHT UP YOUR CANDYASS!!!!! IF YOU SMELLLLLLLLL WHAT THE GREAT ONE IS SMOKING! Expand
  4. PaulC.
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, nothing can touch this game. You can talk about your Halo or you Zelda, Deus Ex blows them both away. A top, top game.
  5. LeonK.
    Apr 11, 2002
    9
    Great Game. I love the way you manage your skills, and the gameplay is cool.
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    A good game for the PS2, This game got me to play the original PC game and I do not regret playing either one. This game opened my mind to theA good game for the PS2, This game got me to play the original PC game and I do not regret playing either one. This game opened my mind to the concept of an open game where you actually have a huge impact on the world. Expand
  7. MonaN
    Mar 11, 2008
    3
    Deus Ex undoubtedly has one of the best gameplay mechanics seen for ages. But the story is quite, how you say, tawdry. In reality, the story Deus Ex undoubtedly has one of the best gameplay mechanics seen for ages. But the story is quite, how you say, tawdry. In reality, the story just sort of gets out of control and, well, starts feeling colligated. As far as replayability goes, in games that reward the searcher, I typically do everything the first time and, well, I found my pistol sniping method too effective to resort to Expand

See all 19 User Reviews