• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2003
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Lucia's tale alone, a cruel sonnet of self realization wrapped in a story steeped in religious overtones, is reason enough to buy this game. [Mar 2003, p.40]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 12 out of 49
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    When I first played this I found the addition of a new playable character, the ability to fly, the ability to run superfast along with interesting puzzles and enemies to be a good + point for gameplay. Another thing I appreciated was the fact that you can approach a situation in two different ways since you get to play as two characters, each with their own perspectives. However, at the same time the gameplay was heavily damaged due to the slower/sluggish fighting overall as compared to Devil May Cry 1. But this is just my personal opinion as some people might prefer this type of gameplay instead. Gameplay: 8.5/10

    As for the graphics, they are quite dumbed down compared to the original Devil May Cry 1 and the camera angles are EXTREMELY bad compared to the first's amazing camera angles. Still, the game does manage to do some things better like have more shiny effects and give a more detailed character model to Dante. Graphics: 7.5/10

    Finally the story. The story of this game is not at all as good as the original's more personal story. Dante's story is just okay and Lucia's story is the only good and actual interesting part. Nevertheless, the introduction and the endings are just as well delivered as the first game IMO. Since this game has two stories and I actually liked Lucia's story, I'll give it a break. Story: 8.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    2deep4u
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Gran juego. No está a la altura de el original, pero sin duda alguna divierte convirtiéndose en una secuela fiel de "Devil May Cry". A pesar de los giros de la historia se destaca más que nada por las peleas de jefes y gráficos mejorados Full Review »