• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2003
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 140
  2. Negative: 29 out of 140

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    In sharp contrast to Devil May Cry, the sequel dumbs down the difficulty an extreme amount. It caters to everyone who whined that the first was too hard, the game play it watered down, it ruins Dante's lovable cocky, confident, and competent personality, and the characters and storyline are absolutely unengaging.
  2. ZiftK.
    Oct 13, 2006
    4
    Not a very good game. Dante's disk is atleast DECENT. Dante moves very slugish, and is a very boring character. So, Play the first, DMC3, because this game isn't even worth a look. However, if you want to play it THAT bad, rent it, or borrow it, however, I even have to say that's not even worth it.
  3. Jack
    Feb 5, 2005
    2
    So disappointing that I want to cry! They take the franchise of the original stylish-action genre and then give it to a crap developer so that the action is weak and easy, the enviroments are bland, the characters from an after-school special, and the pacing poor. If you've played the first, don't play this one. This is just the originals sick little brother.
  4. JonJ.
    Oct 7, 2004
    2
    All of you who have given this game a score of 5 or above, i have but 2 questions for you: "Did you play the first Devil may cry?" and "Did you see the stinger?" So, I guess I have only one question, because if you DID rate this game higher than a 5, if that, then its appearent you havent played the first one. .... did you see the stinger?
  5. BobMarley
    Sep 15, 2004
    1
    No woman no cry.
  6. Dante399L.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    It shouldn't have been named Devil May Cry! This title is way too good for this disappointment.
  7. AlCoholic
    Apr 28, 2003
    3
    First off, i loved DMC1, and that is probably why this game is so disappointing to me. the storyline is non-existent, with dante basically just roaming around pointlessly most of the game fighting repetative monsters in gigantic monotonous levels that reduce him to the size of a fly and look like they have been made using ps1 graphics, and the sound of firing your guns and weapon soundsFirst off, i loved DMC1, and that is probably why this game is so disappointing to me. the storyline is non-existent, with dante basically just roaming around pointlessly most of the game fighting repetative monsters in gigantic monotonous levels that reduce him to the size of a fly and look like they have been made using ps1 graphics, and the sound of firing your guns and weapon sounds has been murdered to where you will swear its a popgun and not a shotgun. last but not least, it is only like 5 hours long, and lucia levels are the same game with a different twist. if you like dante slower, smaller, less exciting, more pathetic, and fatter around the stomach, then this game is for you. otherwise, go back to DMC1 and hope capcom can exorcise these flaws with a better game. Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    This game was an utter waste of my money and time. The graphics may have been good, but that's it. He is waaaaay too serious in the whole thing and the story moves waaaay too fast. There is nothing good at all about this game and i suggest not even renting it. There is nothing amusing or amazing about this game at all.
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    3
    Dante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, butDante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, but instead it took all the horror and creepiness of the first game, chewed it up, spat it out, and said "here's the sequel, enjoy." This game took the horror aspects of the first game and ran with them, but unfortunately made Dante so slow that a snail could actually pose a threat in this game. In the first game, Dante was fast and moved with grace. In this game he moves like a guy who thought it would be cool to run around with a sword today. The open enironments in this game are the only thing this game has to offer that is relatively good, but even then, the game suffers from low resolution and character models that make the first game cry itself to sleep. The plot is pretty dull and boring and is so forgetable it makes my yawns yawn. Playing as Lucia on the second disc is a cool addition and she feels a hell of a lot different from Dante, but her levels are just as boring as Dante's. In fact "boring" is the best word to describe this game. It's so dull and lifeless that it can bairly be considered a game. It is just a time waster, and when you consider the fact that this franchise has three good games out of its four released ones, a time waster doesn't quite cut it. Expand
  10. SeptSinstar
    May 22, 2003
    4
    This game is just sad compare to the first Devil Maybe Cry. I feel that to make a good game you need to have a good story line to get the player into... and this game has NONE!
  11. May 10, 2013
    4
    it's short, the storyline is shallow and makes no sense, and there's no real sense of excitement to the combat anymore. Entire boss fights are handled by standing in place and mashing the shoot button for 10 minutes, and enemies present absolutely no challenge. The main character is a cardboard cutout of an attempt at making something "cool", the ending is anti-climactic, and one fullit's short, the storyline is shallow and makes no sense, and there's no real sense of excitement to the combat anymore. Entire boss fights are handled by standing in place and mashing the shoot button for 10 minutes, and enemies present absolutely no challenge. The main character is a cardboard cutout of an attempt at making something "cool", the ending is anti-climactic, and one full half of the game is simply replaying the game start to finish, but with a different character. The story is unappealing, the challenge is unengaging, not only is there little replayability, but I had a hard time finding the motivation to even finish the game once, let alone a second time. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Utter garbage. Aside from having Dante in it, I really can not think of anything good to say about it. Gameplay is pathetically easy. Controls are awkward and sometimes unresponsive. Voice acting (aside from Dante) is weak. Creature and level design and art direction is decent most of the time, but mostly feels like a rehash of the first game. Overall: A really pathetic attempt at a sequelUtter garbage. Aside from having Dante in it, I really can not think of anything good to say about it. Gameplay is pathetically easy. Controls are awkward and sometimes unresponsive. Voice acting (aside from Dante) is weak. Creature and level design and art direction is decent most of the time, but mostly feels like a rehash of the first game. Overall: A really pathetic attempt at a sequel to a fantastic game. Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone needed to know how to take a great game or series and ruin it, Capcom would be the people to ask.

    When this game came out, it was very disappointing. So much had changed from the original game and not for the best.

    The environments were now drab generic city streets. You fight the most generic enemies ever including demonic tanks and evil cooperation CEOs. I dont like to spoil endings in reviews but i feel like it is a must here, so be warned for below is a ***HUGE SPOILER***

    At the end of the game you fight a super generic boss and think to yourself, its finally over. But nope, they needed a way to tie in the first game somehow, so the final boss is a blob consisting of all the bosses from the original game at once. The most unimaginative ending to the most bland and boring sequel ever.

    Combat is dumbed down, removing all the style from the last game. Weapons are now hidden throughout the level instead of being requirements of moving forward with a puzzle, so i found myself missing a lot of them throughout the play though because it is never explained they had changed it. About the 5th or 6th level in I found a sword floating on top of a building and finally realized why i hadn't gotten any new weapons. Now that i had found a new weapon does that change up how combat is? No or not at least what you would expect out of getting a different weapon. It isn't rewarding at all.

    The story was never amazing in the first place, but it made sense and at least kept me intrested. This story though is the most generic and boring ever. Lucia is a demon and doesn't know it, cooperations are evil, ect.

    There is no redeeming factors here. At least in the timeline this takes place at the end of the 4 games, so pretend it never happened and you'll enjoy the other 4 games a lot more.
    Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2015
    4
    Devil may cry 2, like devil may cry wasn't intended to be, however a last second change of plans made the sequel to the hit that is devil may cry came to be. Devil May Cry 2 gives the player the ability to play as a artificial angel named Lucia, and Dante the demon hunter. Both campaigns trail a quest to stop Atrius from reviving Agrosax from the demon world. Lucia travels to defeatDevil may cry 2, like devil may cry wasn't intended to be, however a last second change of plans made the sequel to the hit that is devil may cry came to be. Devil May Cry 2 gives the player the ability to play as a artificial angel named Lucia, and Dante the demon hunter. Both campaigns trail a quest to stop Atrius from reviving Agrosax from the demon world. Lucia travels to defeat Atrius, while Dante travels to hell to defeat Agrosax. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. 75
    Games this intense are rare, and DMC2's minor flaws are well worth dealing with. [Mar 2003, p.45]
  2. A solid game with plenty of action, but the original set new standards for this genre, and DMC 2 just doesn't match its level of personality or polish. [Mar 2003, p.34]
  3. It's just disappointing to see such an uninspired sequel that simply goes through the motions of being an action game rather than taking advantage of concepts introduced in its predecessor.