User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 173

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdrianaM.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I disagree with what others have said, this game is, in my opinion the best out of the three. The first two had ridiculous enemies and in this, the last game, we finally get to see the beginning of the story.
  2. MartR.
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    It's been a long run before this here got out, but it was worth the wait. The action is now even more over-the-top, the characters gritty and styled at the same time, the action is pulsating with energy and the boss encounters can still knock your socks off with tension. A good run with the style RPG-like development, even though three levels feels just like a tease before the real It's been a long run before this here got out, but it was worth the wait. The action is now even more over-the-top, the characters gritty and styled at the same time, the action is pulsating with energy and the boss encounters can still knock your socks off with tension. A good run with the style RPG-like development, even though three levels feels just like a tease before the real power runs in. I miss the graphic finesse of the first game's architecture, in this one there's been a trade-off between character design and the environments design, leaving the latter often lacklustre and hollow. The fast-paced storyline keeps it all together and a selection of now a bit more Onimusha-like weaponry makes stuff even more fun. Expand
  3. ErikoT.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The opening cinematic alone is worth a 10.
  4. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    A welcome come for dante, this is easily the best in the series. Albeit as hard as your mother-in-laws facial hairs its very enjoyable when you manage to progress levels and the boss battles are so beautiful to play and watch for that matter. Its excellent but not too original and the annoying puzzles remain. Better than Ninja Gaiden as its more engaging.
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    i just loved this game there were a few flaws but they were easily forgivible and then all the fun weapons and classes this game is great for anyone who loved spawn and/or god of war
  6. MikeD.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    I KNEW IT !!! The moment i played the game i knew that these gay american medias(1up, edge etc) will cry because its too hard... well boohoohoo learn how to play before you rate games. Allmost perfect game... and the difficulty level is just right, easy to learn but challenging to master.
  7. Ben
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    Graphics look great, gameplay is solid, music is good, the replayability is there; the game does include some cheesy-ness though it just adds to the humor, it does not take away from the overall depth of the game. I was blindsided by the use of a guitar as a weapon, that was odd for me, all the same, the game is VERY fun to play and that is what is important.
  8. NaomiM.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Hell ya! I loved Devil May Cry I've beat it twice and on different difficulty levels each time. I love Dante and his moves and all. Devil May Cry 2 then came out. I must say I wanted to cry because of all the repetative fighting and the horribally stupid ass story line. Where'd Trish go? Anyway, that game sucked. Then after waiting and waiting. Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Hell ya! I loved Devil May Cry I've beat it twice and on different difficulty levels each time. I love Dante and his moves and all. Devil May Cry 2 then came out. I must say I wanted to cry because of all the repetative fighting and the horribally stupid ass story line. Where'd Trish go? Anyway, that game sucked. Then after waiting and waiting. Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening came out. I bought it March 1st and played it all night. I'm only on the 6th mission now because damn its hard. But it was everything I hoped and dreamed of. Dante and Lady are total kick ass and i love it. Vergil is even cool. I was hoping that this game would be everything that I wanted and it is. And more since it's so damn hard! Sorry I rambled on so much i just love this game! Best DMC ever? YES! Sweet dreams! Collapse
  9. VSei'lar
    May 21, 2005
    10
    This game had me hooked from the opening scene right through every level, at ever difficulty level. The 'new' Dante is beautiful; his cocky character allows for a relief from the overly-serious characterisations of the 'previous' two games, while his twin brother Vergil's cool-tempered attitude allows you to see where the Dante of the other games comes from. The This game had me hooked from the opening scene right through every level, at ever difficulty level. The 'new' Dante is beautiful; his cocky character allows for a relief from the overly-serious characterisations of the 'previous' two games, while his twin brother Vergil's cool-tempered attitude allows you to see where the Dante of the other games comes from. The game play is delicious, and will never allow you to get bored; is it getting tedious? Switch styles! Switch weapons! And may I say...the Sparda skin is HOT. Expand
  10. NabeelK.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    The best game i ever seen... really amazing.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    Amazing, that's all i can say, the grafics, gameplay, sound, story, presentation.....everything is amazing. the only problem people might add is that it's too hard, but like ign said, that's your problem, not dante's.
  12. RandallHall
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This game is off the chain, it's so ill. I never seen a devil may cry like this one before. Dang this game is tight. Ecscuse my language. Boy I'll tell you as soon as you get your devil trigger with super dante nothing can stand in your way. Nothing. I heard the first dmc was supposed to be resident evil four. In resident evil four Leon sounds just like Dante. I noticed that This game is off the chain, it's so ill. I never seen a devil may cry like this one before. Dang this game is tight. Ecscuse my language. Boy I'll tell you as soon as you get your devil trigger with super dante nothing can stand in your way. Nothing. I heard the first dmc was supposed to be resident evil four. In resident evil four Leon sounds just like Dante. I noticed that during the dodging laser part. Expand
  13. Josh
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    This game is great! Its got awsome weapons, moves, and cut scenes but the bosses in this game are really hard untill you can find a strategy to fight them. Other than that as long as you take the time to learn the controls in the begining its not as hard as you may think. In all this is the best DMC yet.
  14. PodRod
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    This game is awsome...... I am rich and buy almost all of the new games. But I must admit that I only have seen very few such games. This game is just awsome. The story, gameplay, graphics are all just perfect.
  15. TraeM.
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!!!! I love the gunslinger style!!!
  16. TylerD.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Simply put, my favourite game. Ever. Capcom gave one hell of a comeback with this one.
  17. DavidC.
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I have played a lot, A LOT of games, but this is quite simply the best game I have ever played.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Devil May Cry washes away the sins of the previous installment and brings the series back to full fledged glory with this prequel to the story. It has one of the best, if not the best, combat systems in any action game. Every difficulty is challenging even the easiest. However, it is forgiving as you can accumulate all your red orbs and upgrade as you die on easy. Every weapon isDevil May Cry washes away the sins of the previous installment and brings the series back to full fledged glory with this prequel to the story. It has one of the best, if not the best, combat systems in any action game. Every difficulty is challenging even the easiest. However, it is forgiving as you can accumulate all your red orbs and upgrade as you die on easy. Every weapon is distinct from each other with their own styles of combat and particular uses. The weapons, combos, melee moves, and boss battles will have you in awe for days on end. If you're a fan of action and or challenging games Devil May Cry 3 is a MUST BUY. Expand
  19. ScottI.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Capcom has a masterpiece on it's hands. The rumors are true, the latest in the series bears much more of a resemblance to the 1st than the wholly forgettable 2nd. Graphics are beautiful, with nicely detailed character models and a fantastic sense of scale in the level designs. Enemy designs are cool, but I actually liked the designs from the demo (Included with RE Outbreak 2nd file) Capcom has a masterpiece on it's hands. The rumors are true, the latest in the series bears much more of a resemblance to the 1st than the wholly forgettable 2nd. Graphics are beautiful, with nicely detailed character models and a fantastic sense of scale in the level designs. Enemy designs are cool, but I actually liked the designs from the demo (Included with RE Outbreak 2nd file) more. As far as sound goes, the voiceacting is top notch, and the score is excellent, if a bit metal-heavy. I would have liked a little less metal and more emphasis on more gothic symphonic pieces, which also fit the series perfectly (see the main theme for evidence of this). If I can fault the sound category for anything, it's pretty heavy with Bruce Lee-esque yelps and shouts, which add unintended comedic value to scenes that were meant to be cool ;) Gameplay is tight and focused; with a nice array of moves and weapons to play with. The new on-the-fly weapon switching is fantastic, and gives true motivation to try for those huge combos (not to mention avoiding having to go into the menus, which annoyed me in this series' previous iterations). The other new addition, the Style system, is a good way to encourage multiple playthroughs to try out each one on a given level, but I often found myself wishing certain abilities were universal (wallrunning in particular). The story is appropriately cool, acted out in gorgeous cutscenes. And man, this game is HARD. This one is gonna be sitting in my PS2 for a while. All in all, DMC3 is as much a glorious return to the series' roots as it is an entirely new beast, and the melding of the two produces a game that is nothing short of sublimely awesome in it's presentation. Expand
  20. MuhammadAli
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    I'm halfway through the game...the games awsome...its narrated somewhat like metal gear solid...with a lot of well directed cutscenes...graphics to die for and amazing sound effects.The artwork in the backgrounds is jaw dropping..and the animation is better than ever...this games the best of the three parts.
  21. TajK.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Challenge, depth, and playability. It's all there.
  22. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    This game is great. I loved the first DMC but I never played DMC2 so I don't know if that sucked or not. In my opininon this game is the best out of the two. The graphics are good the gameplay is fast and fun but its hard. Almost harder than Ninja Gaiden hard you'll die alot but you'll still play and have fun. Just like Ninja Gaiden. Also Dante has a number of cool moves This game is great. I loved the first DMC but I never played DMC2 so I don't know if that sucked or not. In my opininon this game is the best out of the two. The graphics are good the gameplay is fast and fun but its hard. Almost harder than Ninja Gaiden hard you'll die alot but you'll still play and have fun. Just like Ninja Gaiden. Also Dante has a number of cool moves and weapons and the story is the best of them which still isn't saying much and the story still isn't all that great overall. The sound well frankly its annoying I don't mind guitar rock that much but I don't want like these Slipknot like guys blowing in my ears all the time and Dante's lines are a bit annoying too. The voice-overs are wll done though. The graphics are great too. I say pick this game up. Expand
  23. SlaynG.
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    You can kick ass and take names while doing it in complete in a pure and utter choatic style. All i gotta say is "It's gonna be one hell of a party"
  24. DuoX
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    I am really getting sick and tired of people who play this game because they are drawn in by the gorgeous visuals and mind-blowing cut-scenes, and then they die. And they die again. And this goes on until they "throw the controller in the wall" or "break the disc into tiny shards". I mean, really. Isn't it best to just admit that maybe there are games which are a bit harder than I am really getting sick and tired of people who play this game because they are drawn in by the gorgeous visuals and mind-blowing cut-scenes, and then they die. And they die again. And this goes on until they "throw the controller in the wall" or "break the disc into tiny shards". I mean, really. Isn't it best to just admit that maybe there are games which are a bit harder than others, and they might ACTUALLY involve some learning on your part if you keep dying. At any rate, I think DMC3 is honestly THE action title of PS2 this year, and anyone with at least some experience with action games that require fast reflexes (fighting games are great for that) should immediately pick this up. Given that I usually played this in sessions of approximately 3-5 hours until it was completed on normal difficulty, my hands were often very tired afterwards. And although I died my share in the boss fights, I was never trying one boss more than three times until I passed it. And mind you, I usually play RPGs. :P So don't buy into all that crap about the game being too difficult to play or anything. The Game is certainly tough, but you are too... right? Expand
  25. Velen
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Crazy Let's Rock.
  26. TitaniumDragon
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This game is incredibly difficult on normal mode, but easy mode is easy enough for the average competant gamer, methinks, though even that is a misnomer. Normal mode is very difficult, but once you learn how to play the game properly, it isn't SO bad; it is mostly that the difficulty level ramps up incredibly quickly at the beginning, where you start dying a lot on level 3 or so. This game is incredibly difficult on normal mode, but easy mode is easy enough for the average competant gamer, methinks, though even that is a misnomer. Normal mode is very difficult, but once you learn how to play the game properly, it isn't SO bad; it is mostly that the difficulty level ramps up incredibly quickly at the beginning, where you start dying a lot on level 3 or so. Levels range from average to insane in difficulty, and while a lot of fun, I'm sure this game isn't for everyone. It looks gorgeous though and is truly a challenging and fun game to those who enjoy such things. Its biggest flaw is the lack of ability to save just before some bosses; having to play through the entire level again to fight some of the bosses is annoying as they will kill you a great deal. That said, it is a satisfying challenge and you feel good when you start winning. Expand
  27. Alex
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    i have one word that can describe this game: ouch. DMC3 is much more difficult than the previous two titles, and fixed many of the problems from DMC2. the one major problem that has remained persistant throughout the series, however, is the camera. DMC3, sadly, has not fixed this problem. but, with the nice level of challenge and fun that this game offers, its easy to forgive most of the i have one word that can describe this game: ouch. DMC3 is much more difficult than the previous two titles, and fixed many of the problems from DMC2. the one major problem that has remained persistant throughout the series, however, is the camera. DMC3, sadly, has not fixed this problem. but, with the nice level of challenge and fun that this game offers, its easy to forgive most of the game's problems. Expand
  28. MikeB.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    If you like a challenge, you'll love DMC3. It's one of the best action adventure games I've ever played. It is a difficult game, but it is also a FAIR game. The game pushes you to learn the attack patterns of the bosses and various other enemies. This game reminded me of games like Viewtiful Joe and Ninja Gaiden, because they reward skillful play. If you are a button If you like a challenge, you'll love DMC3. It's one of the best action adventure games I've ever played. It is a difficult game, but it is also a FAIR game. The game pushes you to learn the attack patterns of the bosses and various other enemies. This game reminded me of games like Viewtiful Joe and Ninja Gaiden, because they reward skillful play. If you are a button masher, this game will destroy you. But, if you are patient and take pay attention to enemy patterns this game loses its insane difficulty and becomes very accessible. It'll either addict you or frustrate you. This really is in the upper echelon of action adventure games, on any system. I can only think of a couple games that are better than DMC3. Expand
  29. SquaLLL.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    DMC1 was great, DMC2 sucked, and DMC3 was the best of all 3. Everything about this game was great the moves are even better and stylish, more weapons to choose from, and it has a great storyline... I think Capcom made something cool here.. Dante was even cooler with his badass attitude and Vergil with his Kenshin Himura like moves hehe... One of the best, challenging, adventure gameS DMC1 was great, DMC2 sucked, and DMC3 was the best of all 3. Everything about this game was great the moves are even better and stylish, more weapons to choose from, and it has a great storyline... I think Capcom made something cool here.. Dante was even cooler with his badass attitude and Vergil with his Kenshin Himura like moves hehe... One of the best, challenging, adventure gameS EVER!!! 10 Stars for you Dante! Rock on baby!! Expand
  30. RobertC.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    This game is the best DMC game that has been made. It has some of the things from the first and second game, but it beats them by a whole lot!!!!!!! i espically like the way that you get have a different style like swordmaster, and then you get to use those two swords. the only defect is the devil meter, it only has three circles and goes down realy fast. i think Dante is cooler in this This game is the best DMC game that has been made. It has some of the things from the first and second game, but it beats them by a whole lot!!!!!!! i espically like the way that you get have a different style like swordmaster, and then you get to use those two swords. the only defect is the devil meter, it only has three circles and goes down realy fast. i think Dante is cooler in this game and is better than before. Expand
  31. JohnS.
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    Kicks god of war's ass hard.
  32. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Devil May Cry 3 is a trip back to the series roots, and brings a damn fun time with it. And seriously... Computer Games Magazine should restrain itself to computer games.
  33. D.S.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Now don't get me wrong, God Of War (serving as one of many examples) was a great game, but DMC3 Is just simply better than any other action/slasher game I've ever played. For one, ill often play a games such as God of War and then feel really stupid for dying because there really isn't any skillful way to kill enemies. This renders dying and winning somewhat unsatisfying. Now don't get me wrong, God Of War (serving as one of many examples) was a great game, but DMC3 Is just simply better than any other action/slasher game I've ever played. For one, ill often play a games such as God of War and then feel really stupid for dying because there really isn't any skillful way to kill enemies. This renders dying and winning somewhat unsatisfying. DMC3 Requires patience and genuine skill. The controls are purposefully clunkier that other action games as it requires you to think before action and use more combos. (ie. You must always pay attention the the direction in which your character is facing-- a back analouge move may require a left analouge pull, etc.) Difficulty is somewhat unforgiving but in my opinion, I enjoy it as games are becoming more for the casual gamer. Bottom line, Go buy this game at all costs, just as long as you're ready for a hell of a challenge. Expand
  34. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Great story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some peopleGreat story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some people don't like the game, maybe it's too hardcore for them, or they just like playing pointless retarded button mash games. DMC3 is one of the best games EVER. Expand
  35. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest game i've ever played. Good story, the graphics is better than its predecessors and the gameplay is awesome, is **** speed! Awesome heavy metal soundtrack and good voice acting.
  36. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    With "Devil May Cry" (a superb action game), Capcom had caught lightning in a bottle. Unfortunately, that didn't happen twice with the release of a tepid sequel in 2003. So for the third installment, the developers went back to what made the original so great. In the process, they also went back in the timeline and made a prequel instead. "Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening" recalls theWith "Devil May Cry" (a superb action game), Capcom had caught lightning in a bottle. Unfortunately, that didn't happen twice with the release of a tepid sequel in 2003. So for the third installment, the developers went back to what made the original so great. In the process, they also went back in the timeline and made a prequel instead. "Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening" recalls the original game's style of play and tells the story of the hero's rise to prominence. It's also one of the toughest games Capcom has ever made. DMC 3 is an extremely polished action-adventure that features crazy combat and over-the-top, kinetic cutscenes. This is one of the PS2's best action offerings but the extreme difficulty will not appeal to casual gamers. The game offers four different combat styles to choose from at the beginning of each level. As you progress, you'll be able to power up Dante in a variety of ways while additional weapons become available. It's worth noting that "Devil May Cry 3" is more comparable to the XBOX version of "Ninja Gaiden" than the original DMC. This is due to the emphasis on hyper tough fights, similar boss battles and an extensive arsenal of weaponry. It's not as good as "Ninja Gaiden", but DMC 3 is a much better game than part 2. I'd also recommend the Special Edition which features Dante's brother, Virgil, as a playable character. "Dante's Awakening" is arguably the best installment in the series. Expand
  37. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    The perfection of beat em up combat on the PS2. This game has fast-paced action, tons of combos, great levels and loaded with great (and hilarious) cut-scenes. It's not for everyone mind you.

    If you like crazy over-the-top action then this is the game for you. If you prefer a more "serious" or realistic tone to your games then look somewhere else, because this game is in the zone were
    The perfection of beat em up combat on the PS2. This game has fast-paced action, tons of combos, great levels and loaded with great (and hilarious) cut-scenes. It's not for everyone mind you.

    If you like crazy over-the-top action then this is the game for you. If you prefer a more "serious" or realistic tone to your games then look somewhere else, because this game is in the zone were we stick to fun!
    Expand
  38. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    What a brilliant game! Extremely hard, enemies coming from all over the place, slick 60 frames per second, tonnes of boss battles. The system is fair and responsive, everything is programmed correctly to make a fine experience. It has six fighting styles, so you choose one at the start of each mission. Trickster is for dodging, royalguard is for intercepting and stopping attacks,What a brilliant game! Extremely hard, enemies coming from all over the place, slick 60 frames per second, tonnes of boss battles. The system is fair and responsive, everything is programmed correctly to make a fine experience. It has six fighting styles, so you choose one at the start of each mission. Trickster is for dodging, royalguard is for intercepting and stopping attacks, swordmaster is for showing off, gunslinger is for making guns more stylish at a distance, quicksilver is for slowing down time, and doppelganger means you can split into 2! Combine this with the fact that you have 5 swords and 5 guns - and you can take 2 of each of those into each mission, and you have... 600 combinations in total! Keep experimenting and you will never get bored. This is one of the best games on the PS2 and stands up today. Expand
  39. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Perfect balance between gameplay, difficulty, and graphics.

    10/10 game. Anyone that doesn't like it is an americna crybaby that can't get past stage 1.
  40. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best action games ever and one of my favorite games. Combining amazing graphics with diverse, detailed environments, an eclectic yet cohesive soundtrack that ranges from industrial rock to dark ambient, and emotive voice acting (with improved writing) that fleshes out the characters, DMC3 creates a memorable atmosphere that is leagues better than the original and creates a newOne of the best action games ever and one of my favorite games. Combining amazing graphics with diverse, detailed environments, an eclectic yet cohesive soundtrack that ranges from industrial rock to dark ambient, and emotive voice acting (with improved writing) that fleshes out the characters, DMC3 creates a memorable atmosphere that is leagues better than the original and creates a new standard for other games to try to reach. The combat has been improved with more weapons & combos for them, a new "Style" system that changes how you maneuver the environments or how your weapons work, and better targeting & improved camera system. While the difficulty has been ramped up dramatically, skill always wins the day; grinding is an option with all the available unlocks and consumables but never necessary. Most levels end in a memorable boss fight, with each boss having their own personality with unique AI, movement/ability set, and arena. Everything combines in this game to bring together a real masterpiece that will keep you playing for a long time. Expand
  41. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    A fantastic return to form. Perhaps a bit harsh with difficulty at times, but nothing that isn't doable. Great visuals, great narrative, action pact combat. Overall: I can sum up this games in three words: Dante has returned!
  42. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    capcom's masterpiece yes this is one of the best games on the playstaion 2 maybe one of the best of all time amazing balance between graphics game play and difficulty and it also have descent story
  43. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Before I bought this game, I saw some videos online about this game being one of the most difficult of all time. I honestly never expected to beat it due to the hype about the difficulty. However, I was able to complete this game without much frustration. However, that is not to say that the difficulty was over hyped. Devil May Cry 3 is a very hard game. It requires mastery of all theBefore I bought this game, I saw some videos online about this game being one of the most difficult of all time. I honestly never expected to beat it due to the hype about the difficulty. However, I was able to complete this game without much frustration. However, that is not to say that the difficulty was over hyped. Devil May Cry 3 is a very hard game. It requires mastery of all the mechanics in order for the player to succeed. Being able to complete the game without frustration is a true testament to how good this game actually is. Although there were levels that were borderline maddening, I never felt frustrated. I enjoyed the game so much that whenever I would die, it made me analyze my previous attempt at the level to try and figure out what went wrong. The times I died never felt cheap, and were not due to poor game design. They were because of me. I made errors. But Devil May Cry 3 is such a great game that it made me want to keep playing, no matter how many times I needed to try to beat a level. The combat is very smooth and fast paced, the graphics (for a ps2 game) were very good looking, and the story was deeper than in previous installments of the franchise. Despite Devil May Cry 3 being very difficult, it is a game that I recommend to all action fans. It is an extremely well made game that should be enjoyed by anyone who is up to the challenge. Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    No me jodan, "Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening" tiene la excelencia suficiente como para superar el juego original: jugabilidad placentera, gráficos atormesedores y peleas sólidas que pueden dejarte con la boca abierta.
  45. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece. Very difficult though, but it's worth the outstanding gameplay, story, and secrets you can find. I actually played this when I was a whole lot younger (9 as a matter of fact then) and got so addicted I beat it on Dante Must Die difficulty. A must buy on PS2.
  46. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    The prequel to the original game, Dante's Awakening brought the series back to life by looking back on the original game and improving on it.

    Its the story of a younger Dante battling it out for humanity and his fathers power against his brother Vergil. It takes place in the tower of Temen-ni-gru. This is the tower that has seal the gate to hell and Sparda's power. Each environment
    The prequel to the original game, Dante's Awakening brought the series back to life by looking back on the original game and improving on it.

    Its the story of a younger Dante battling it out for humanity and his fathers power against his brother Vergil. It takes place in the tower of Temen-ni-gru. This is the tower that has seal the gate to hell and Sparda's power.

    Each environment is fresh and unique. You'll venture to the top of the tower all the way to the bottom faces off against demons and bosses along the way.

    Each boss will reward you with a new weapon that you can equip at the tart of the level. They changed up equipment in this game a bit so that you can have 2 slots equipped at a time, but can only switch when you start a new level, which i felt was a bit of a downfall from freely being able to switch from the menus but they give you two slots for devil arms and two slots for guns so its not that big of an issue.

    Each weapon is completely unique to the last and changes your combat style completely. You'll get a pair of twin swords that talk to a guitar that shoots bats, you can use the weapons that fit you best.

    All the bosses are completely original. You'll fight a horse and chariot to your doppelganger on your way to face off against your brother. You'll find the normal enemies challenging as well.

    Overall this game ended up being perfect for me, there was an issue with some people with the original game due to the fact that the difficulty was not set correctly, but they rereleased a special edition with lowered difficulty that people can play. This is my favorite game in the series.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. A dark mix of revealing narrative and gun-toting, sword-swinging, demon slaying action that works well with a result that's certainly satisfying.
  2. Although there have been many games in this mold, Devil May Cry 3 sets itself apart from others by incorporating fighting styles to keep this game fresh, instead of just repetitive.
  3. Well, we hate to say it, but DMC3 is still no "Devil May Cry." The world has moved on, folks, and a lot of that game's sheen is now standard issue in gaming. [PSW]