Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Devil May Cry 3 unfolds an earlier chapter in Dante's history, before the original Devil May Cry, to the fateful clash between Sparda's twin sons, divided by the divergence of their chosen paths. Along the way, Dante encounters formidable foes and unusual characters including a mysterious man named Arkham and a female hunter named Lady whose mission is to take down all demons, including Dante. These precursory events disclose the complex roots of Dante's character and reveal insight into his clouded past. In addition to its strong roots, the game increases the intensity of gameplay with a new "style" system, which adds an additional level of depth. Depending on preference, players can choose to use short-range, long-range, defensive or evasive play styles. Each system has its own range of gameplay features and players can choose to power up their favorite style for increased special attack abilities. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. The best action game on the current generation of systems; it has everything you could ever want in such a title within the genre – including the most important facet of all, depth – and lots of it too.
  2. As long as you don't mind your games having a bit of a kick to them, you should be picking this up as soon as possible.
  3. Combat-heavy adventure with shooters and swords. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  4. While not the most innovative game, Devil May Cry 3 has all of the slick combat you would expect out of the title.
  5. DMC3 is truly hardcore and seriously challenging but partly at the expense of being playable and fun. [GamesMaster]
  6. OK yeah, the game's tough—as in Ninja Gaiden, you'll have to learn certain techniques to beat particular enemies. But the action is so much more interesting and entertaining in DMC3 than it was in the previous games, thanks mainly to the new fighting-style system, I didn't really mind the difficulty.
  7. As ridiculous and entrenched as its name. [June 2005, p.87]

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 5 out of 56
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Perfect balance between gameplay, difficulty, and graphics.


    10/10 game. Anyone that doesn't like it is an americna crybaby that can't get
    past stage 1. Expand
  2. TylerD.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Simply put, my favourite game. Ever. Capcom gave one hell of a comeback with this one.
  3. MikeD.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    I KNEW IT !!! The moment i played the game i knew that these gay american medias(1up, edge etc) will cry because its too hard... well boohoohoo learn how to play before you rate games. Allmost perfect game... and the difficulty level is just right, easy to learn but challenging to master. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest game i've ever played. Good story, the graphics is better than its predecessors and the gameplay is awesome, is **** speed! Awesome heavy metal soundtrack and good voice acting. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    No me jodan, "Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening" tiene la excelencia suficiente como para superar el juego original: jugabilidad placentera, gráficos atormesedores y peleas sólidas que pueden dejarte con la boca abierta. Expand
  6. Alex
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    i have one word that can describe this game: ouch. DMC3 is much more difficult than the previous two titles, and fixed many of the problems from DMC2. the one major problem that has remained persistant throughout the series, however, is the camera. DMC3, sadly, has not fixed this problem. but, with the nice level of challenge and fun that this game offers, its easy to forgive most of the game's problems. Expand
  7. RickSJedi
    Nov 7, 2006
    2
    Wow, high scores from everyone. Ok lets see, a guitar as a weapon, Dante himself is like a goth white boy with stupid jokes,every stage seems to look the same, some of the worst Boss battles i have ever seen in a game before(The F#@ked up Ice Dog-the witch lady), Dante seems useless with his new moves(although he's younger), the difficulty is for the insane. For one I have a life, so i'm not going to sit a game(WELL THIS GAME ANYWAY!) and play for 4 hours trying to figure out how to use all the "style" systems, cuz SwordMaster is prob the best. So what do we have so far, we have horrid gameplay where nothing flows like the first DMC and we have stupid charaters,a real nice Sh!$ story, terrible settings(not near as close a the beauiful mansion in DMC-1. If you have me Devil May Cry 2 was better than this joke of a game. Now some of you game whores might say well it was just to hard for you, well maybe but i really loved and passed the First game like 7 times, the secound game like 3 times so i kinda now what a DMC game is supposed be like. If you buy this game and once again listen to he the critics don't blame anyone if your FORCING YOURSELF to play through this game. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews