• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 133

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game has to be the best out of all of them!! The graphics is amazing and the dialogue in the scenes is amazing and hilarious! Dante is my most fav. Char. but Lady at a close second. The games in order may have went from brilliant to lousy to absolutely spectacular, but this is an absolute must have game!!
  2. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    Better than DMC2, DMC4 and of course DmC, but still only decent compared to DMC1. It can get pretty fun at times if you don't stick to one style or move to play the game but instead find different ways to beat it.
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    fcking casuals complaining about the difficulty making this even easier than before. Playing as Vergil is the only good thing from Special Edition.
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    I came into this game with fairly high expectations after laying in bed one night realising every boss fight in video games i had ever played had been to easy. i wanted a challenge, well what better game then dmc 3 i thought. well lets star out with this games positives. The controls are solid and the game play is without a doubt amazing. the guns seem fair and all the weapons have there ups and downs. The boss fights were just as i expected which was simply amazing and stunning. i loved this game... for the 1st half. Dear god the 2nd half , you literally are running through copy pasted levels again and again and again and it seems that they had half a teem who knew what to do and half a teem sitting on the couch complaining about how long it was taking. the boss fights remains constant, but not much else does. Moving on the story is laughable. im seroious, ive never played a game with a story this bad. In one scene Dante just drives a motorcycle up a wall and jumps off and kills a bunch if guys, while in others he's just a flat out douche. while im complaining i might as well talk about my arch nemesis, the fixed camera, which you can "control" at certain points but ends up just moving 2 inches right or left and cant move up or down. One last thing is the game after replaying it twice( the 1st half and 2nd half) it says you can replay on a harder difficulty or as virgil the brother of dante, but his problem is hes supposed to be the bad guy and his story seems to play out in the exact same levels as dantes did. But with all that, i still liked dmc 3. I was a little dissapointed after the halfway point but considering what it set out to be it reached that, but it seemed to set its sight to low and could of been so much more Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing game. Incredible visuals for a PS2 game, both artistic and technical. The gameplay is really addictive and super-intense just like the franchise is known for. The weapons are all great. The amount of actions and attacks is impressive and very varied. Interesting story too. Seriously, this must be one of the best action game and franchise - except for the 2nd one - ever, up there somewhere along God of War and Ninja Gaiden, personally it's my favourite one but I know a lot of people like the other two better. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Devil May Cry 3 plays out to be a very good game, the plot is interesting although all you ever do is fight through the whole game if not solve puzzles as well. The combat controls are great as you can effortlessly chain gun and swords combos for devastating attacks. The graphics are good and the voice ancting and sound are all pretty good as well. The Vergil version that allows you to play as Vergil is not all that great because it is merely you playing through all the same levils as Vegil and not Dante and he (Vegil) does not have as much variability as Dante does so Vergil is kind of dissapointing. The only flaws are that the story seems kind of pathcy but other than that it's good. Overall Devil May Cry 3 is a great game that is definately worth playing for the fun of it. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Some of the best combat I've ever seen in any game (7 years later I've yet to see someone other than kamiya make a game that tops it) is combined with a level designer that needs to be fired. I frequently find myself thinking things like "HOLY CRAP THIS ACTION IS INTENSE" immediately followed by "ugh, this level..."
    I was originally expecting virgil to be some kind of token unlock
    character, either completely overpowered or completely useless, but he's actually a balanced character to play, and even more surprisingly, he's got some serious depth to his combat. The **** tier level design is forgiven this time with the addition of the bloody palace, a place where you can go and endlessly beat up hordes of demons without all that terrible platforming and crappy puzzle solving.
    If anything, if you've never played this game do it at least once right now, so you've got a good benchmark for "rebellious youthful dante" before the new DmC reboot comes out.
    Expand
  8. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Great story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some people don't like the game, maybe it's too hardcore for them, or they just like playing pointless retarded button mash games. DMC3 is one of the best games EVER. The Special Edition has a lot of nice additions, like the Gold checkpoint system, playing as Vergil, the lower difficulties were readjusted (You can't **** about the game being too hard now, the Easy mode is now A LOT easy), A new boss, New Costumes... It is really awesome. Collapse
  9. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Have you ever had such a peculiar feeling that you are playing a game that was made entirely and especially for you, in shape and execution ? A game able to earn a special place in your heart by smartly adopting almost all of your personal taste in terms of gameplay,action scenes, dialogue, characters and a... god f#cking good... soundtrack ? No ?! But i had, and that game is called Devil May Cry 3. It's a game that did what 99% of action games (including Bayonetta) failed and still failing miserably to make: it estabilishes a strong connection with the player. I love heavy metal/hard rock so Dante's style of an arrogant and rebel teenager with a hell of a good taste in music fits my taste like a glove. He's also badass and has amusing quotes. Even the jokes and funny situations on this games have good taste and will actually make you laugh. The action scenes are breathtaking and totally awesome to see. The other scenes have interesting dialogue and some character's comments are definitely worth of paying attention to. Great cutscenes and great characters but it doesn't ends there: the gameplay is superb. Fight like a maniac by mixing dual-wielding gunslinger with swords. Perform crazy and cool movements like walking on the walls, killingspree while riding on an enemy, make a "shower of bullets" or a "ceiling fan" movement with your sword - it doesn't appears to make any sense for you here, but that's how i can describe it . Before you ask, yes, it's crazy and cool as you can imagine it by reading this review. All this fun plated in a badass soundtrack, i couldn't ask for more. By defeating bosses, you unlock new weapons and you can also be a demon for a short period of time (recommended for boss battles). It's possible to buy new items, combos, maximaze some aspect of your guns or weapons and even change "styles" of gameplay. So there is definitely a RPG vein right there: you prefer using guns for combat, make upgrade for your guns by collecting red orbs and then switch for "gunslinger" as your style; or you may want to invest more on defense, in that situation you may want to choose the "trickster" style of combat. The difficulty is very well-balanced: the tough guys will have tough battles, bosses will have good challenge and ordinary enemies will have some middle challenge (i played it in normal difficulty). If there was something to complain about the game it would be definately be the scenarios. Most of the scenarios are excessively dark and with lack of detail. Some are uncreative or rather boring. Also too much litte variety in combat soundtrack and the story isn't much deep as it could have been. However, i can't deny the incredibly satisfying and remarkable experience i had with this game. A worthy deserving of a 9,5 score. I will raise it to 10 instead of giving it a 9 because i love this game so much that i strongly recommend it even after admiting its (small) flaws. 10 does not means that DMC 3 is perfect, far from it. It means that this is an experience that you cannot miss. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is DMC3, but with Vergil and Bloody Palace added in. This is the version you should get, those added extras are pretty cool. Playing as vergil is awesome, you just play through the main game with him instead of Dante. He has his trademark moves from his boss battles, and a couple of new ones. He is highly aggressive - though he does have evasion in the form of teleportation. The thing that's best about him is that he does feel very different to Dante, it means you have to play differently, and master him separately. But here's my DMC3 review: What a brilliant game! Extremely hard, enemies coming from all over the place, slick 60 frames per second, tonnes of boss battles. The system is fair and responsive, everything is programmed correctly to make a fine experience. It has six fighting styles, so you choose one at the start of each mission. Trickster is for dodging, royalguard is for intercepting and stopping attacks, swordmaster is for showing off, gunslinger is for making guns more stylish at a distance, quicksilver is for slowing down time, and doppelganger means you can split into 2! Combine this with the fact that you have 5 swords and 5 guns - and you can take 2 of each of those into each mission, and you have... 600 combinations in total! Keep experimenting and you will never get bored. This is one of the best games on the PS2 and stands up today. Expand
  11. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    To be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MS DOS to present gen. I played Dante's Awakening before this one and played it out on every difficulty so the people who say the difficulty is crap are just trolls. I like many things about this game like, The setting/atmosphere, music, over the top gameplay and characters. This will be the only game i give a 10 cause this is my fave game and made me play for a very long time. The question i always ask you guys with some older games: Will you be able to enjoy this game now a days? Yes you will enjoy the pinnacle of the hack and slash genre. If Devil May Cry 1 created the hack and slash genre, part 3 perfected it. Final Verdict: This game will own your ass until you run like a back to your generic FPS games. Noobs need to avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    This is the DMC people love. The challenging difficulty, even on Normal/Easy, the insane combos that are hard to pull, the awesome stylish meter, and the funny one-liners from Dante. This game took the other 2, and just took away all the bad things, and improved it from there. I cannot think of one bad character in this game. Dante is hilarous, Vergil is badass, Lady is likeable, and Arkham/Jester is the ultimate villain. The gameplay, unlike the 1st and 2nd, rewards you for actually pulling off combos, instead of mashing. Also in this game are Styles, some of those include Trickster/Swordsmaster/Gunslinger, and some others. They are all good in their own way, and can be improved by leveling up, when leveling up, you learn new combos and moves. The bosses in this game are incredible! The Vergil fights are some of my favorites, and the Jester fights were just plain fun. The OST in this game was awesome, and the weapons were fantastic. A guitar scythe that summons bats!
    Overall, this game is a must-have if you are a DMC fan, or just a hack-n-slash fan.
    Expand
  13. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Stunning game that demands any gamers attention! This is a must play. It isn't a very long game, but with Vergil playable and the different difficulties and the drive to learn to play like a pro it can take up to 50 hours to experience this game fully
  14. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    After the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped Dante with a new look and voice actor and made him one of the most beloved game characters ever. The gameplay is extremely fun and creative as you can create your own style and combos. The bosses are great, the level design is good and the characters are awesome (especially Vergil) However i feel that the soundtrack is rather forgettable and the story is really fleshed out to well and Vergil himself is rather underutilized as a playable character. If you do not have this game on PS2, get the HD Collection as it comes with the original and DMC3 (though skip DMC2). Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    This was where I actually liked Dante's personality and attitude. Compare to 4, this is enjoyable on its own way. DMC4 is bright and delightful while DMC3 is dark and epic!
  16. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Great story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some people don't like the game, maybe it's too hardcore for them, or they just like playing pointless retarded button mash games. DMC3 is one of the best games EVER. The Special Edition has a lot of nice additions, like the Gold checkpoint system, playing as Vergil, the lower difficulties were readjusted (You can't **** about the game being too hard now, the Easy mode is now A LOT easy), A new boss, New Costumes... It is really awesome. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The extras are nice, but the most important feature is the tweaked difficulty level. No more tears while playing! [Oct 2006]
  2. 80
    The game's a little easier this time, but playing through with Vergil is a completely different experience.
  3. Far more than a new skin for the same action, playing as Vergil drastically alters the way you approach Devil May Cry. [Feb 2006, p.106]