• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 174

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Snachez
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    A good game, a damn good. I actually played DMC 3 first, since it is the first in the story (just like in Star Wars) and I found the game very enjoyable. I hate button masher fighting games, but this DMC 3 is nothing like it, even on normal difficulty you really have to dodge attacks and keep a close eye on what's going on, and that IMO gave the game more "depth" and intensity, since A good game, a damn good. I actually played DMC 3 first, since it is the first in the story (just like in Star Wars) and I found the game very enjoyable. I hate button masher fighting games, but this DMC 3 is nothing like it, even on normal difficulty you really have to dodge attacks and keep a close eye on what's going on, and that IMO gave the game more "depth" and intensity, since you have to concentrate on every battle. At "Dante Must Die" the game turns very hard, but that is expected. I love challenging games and this one is definately one. There are some very bad dialogue, I'm pointing to Dantes dirrection, although most of the stuff coming out of his mouth is funny and just awesome. Vergil is actually my favorite DMC boss/characther in any DMC game, if not counting Dante, although Vergils campain was very rushed, since there were no cutscenes, it was still solid and fun. All the parts, from older DMC games, come together very nicely when thinking about the story. A good game, though it's definately not one of those games that you can just pick up and play at any certain moment. I miss young Dante and I really hope for DMC 5 to be made. BTW stop making charachters that try to replace Dante, like the pussy Nero. Expand
  2. ShaneW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    A great game that most should give a try.Vergil has few moves and no cut scenes of his own except for the beginning, making it seem that the developers just tacked it on for more value. Dante is even cockier but some of his lines just seem so tacky. Still very awesome but the plot wasn't that thick or developed. Definitely worth a buy.
  3. JayA.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This game is the best devil may cry yet. And at such a low price whats not to like about it.
  4. LeeK
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    A FANTASTIC game. Very entertaining, game play is very fast, and there is a variety of skills that can be learnt and used efficiently. The game allows the player to use Dante's twin brother, Vergil and all his devil arms and his only skill- "Dark Slayer". The games graphics is very realistic. The cut scenes are very interesting and makes the player more enthusiastic to continue after A FANTASTIC game. Very entertaining, game play is very fast, and there is a variety of skills that can be learnt and used efficiently. The game allows the player to use Dante's twin brother, Vergil and all his devil arms and his only skill- "Dark Slayer". The games graphics is very realistic. The cut scenes are very interesting and makes the player more enthusiastic to continue after that particular cut scene. The gameplay is very speedy and entertaining. There are various difficulties, allowing the gamer to test how good he is in this game. Players would probably take 2 or 3 months if they want to complete the game 100 percent including all the secret missions found in various levels. Also, like I said before, there are different difficulty levels. Overall, this game is the BEST!!! Expand
  5. CodyB
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    One of THE best games the ps2 has to offer! THE number one badass in the history of video gaming in his third role as the demon-hunting badass, the beginning of the history of devil may cry (when the devil's tower rises in the middle of L.A., how dante's twin brother becomes the black angel, and when dante first invades hell), and a demon-ass-kicking bonanza with beastin One of THE best games the ps2 has to offer! THE number one badass in the history of video gaming in his third role as the demon-hunting badass, the beginning of the history of devil may cry (when the devil's tower rises in the middle of L.A., how dante's twin brother becomes the black angel, and when dante first invades hell), and a demon-ass-kicking bonanza with beastin graphics!!! The ONLY reason this game got a 9 instead of a perfect score is because of the number of missions (there could have been more missions when invading hell). Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Outstanding to be a reharsed edition. It fixes original's problems (in particular difficulty) and the chance to play like Vergil is better though he has limited gun move. The inclusion of palace of blood is very good. Other issues, i think, are to uncover in a very uncoherent and apparent lack of variety playing Vergil mode. 9/10 no major faults.
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game has to be the best out of all of them!! The graphics is amazing and the dialogue in the scenes is amazing and hilarious! Dante is my most fav. Char. but Lady at a close second. The games in order may have went from brilliant to lousy to absolutely spectacular, but this is an absolute must have game!!
  8. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    I came into this game with fairly high expectations after laying in bed one night realising every boss fight in video games i had ever played had been to easy. i wanted a challenge, well what better game then dmc 3 i thought. well lets star out with this games positives. The controls are solid and the game play is without a doubt amazing. the guns seem fair and all the weapons have thereI came into this game with fairly high expectations after laying in bed one night realising every boss fight in video games i had ever played had been to easy. i wanted a challenge, well what better game then dmc 3 i thought. well lets star out with this games positives. The controls are solid and the game play is without a doubt amazing. the guns seem fair and all the weapons have there ups and downs. The boss fights were just as i expected which was simply amazing and stunning. i loved this game... for the 1st half. Dear god the 2nd half , you literally are running through copy pasted levels again and again and again and it seems that they had half a teem who knew what to do and half a teem sitting on the couch complaining about how long it was taking. the boss fights remains constant, but not much else does. Moving on the story is laughable. im seroious, ive never played a game with a story this bad. In one scene Dante just drives a motorcycle up a wall and jumps off and kills a bunch if guys, while in others he's just a flat out douche. while im complaining i might as well talk about my arch nemesis, the fixed camera, which you can "control" at certain points but ends up just moving 2 inches right or left and cant move up or down. One last thing is the game after replaying it twice( the 1st half and 2nd half) it says you can replay on a harder difficulty or as virgil the brother of dante, but his problem is hes supposed to be the bad guy and his story seems to play out in the exact same levels as dantes did. But with all that, i still liked dmc 3. I was a little dissapointed after the halfway point but considering what it set out to be it reached that, but it seemed to set its sight to low and could of been so much more Expand
  9. GordonD.
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    One of the most underrated games of 2005. While certain other big-name games flaunted more cinematic style and more accessible play, DMC3 quietly raised the bar for depth, challenge and freedom. Reviewers liked GoW; real gamers liked DMC3. Do yourself a favor by picking this up, playing as hard as you can (Yellow continue mode, and do not buy continues!), then after a week or two of One of the most underrated games of 2005. While certain other big-name games flaunted more cinematic style and more accessible play, DMC3 quietly raised the bar for depth, challenge and freedom. Reviewers liked GoW; real gamers liked DMC3. Do yourself a favor by picking this up, playing as hard as you can (Yellow continue mode, and do not buy continues!), then after a week or two of thinking you might be good, go download some FAQs on the game. You'll be amazed at how much depth exists, that you haven't even scratched. I can't give this crazy action game a higher recommendation. If you own a PS2, take advantage of your privilege and buy this critically underappreciated masterpiece. Expand
  10. David
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Devil may cry 3 is slightly better then the original, and infinately better then the second one, which was as painful as stapling your eyelids shut. The special edition has very few extras and you're kinda wasting your money on this if you already have Dante's Awakening. Having said that, if you dont already possess the non-special-edition it will probably be one of the best Devil may cry 3 is slightly better then the original, and infinately better then the second one, which was as painful as stapling your eyelids shut. The special edition has very few extras and you're kinda wasting your money on this if you already have Dante's Awakening. Having said that, if you dont already possess the non-special-edition it will probably be one of the best purchases you'll ever make for your PS2. Expand
  11. ChrisN.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Great game at a cheap price.
  12. RobH.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    this is one of the best games out there in the world today folks. With its insane speed, over 20different style moves, good music, and storyline too, it is a must to get for any hardcore gamer's collection. I personally played and beat all the modes and levels of DMC3 and think it is hard for the avergae player. But it is possible for the average gamer to beat. Plus with the release this is one of the best games out there in the world today folks. With its insane speed, over 20different style moves, good music, and storyline too, it is a must to get for any hardcore gamer's collection. I personally played and beat all the modes and levels of DMC3 and think it is hard for the avergae player. But it is possible for the average gamer to beat. Plus with the release of the special edition to show Capcom's respect and graitude to us the gamers, they added a hell-in-a-handbasket bonus features like unlocking and playing as Vergil. Vergil, i think, is better than Dante with his Yomato sword and his noble and honorable fighting, i would play the entire game as him only on any diffulculty. If you enjoyed the first 3 versions of the Devil May Cry Series, than go and get the Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Special Edition today! Expand
  13. AdamW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    One of the most awesome games ever on the PS2. Seriously. Vergil is great, though they should have made more moves for him. Dante also rocks. You should but this.
  14. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing game. Incredible visuals for a PS2 game, both artistic and technical. The gameplay is really addictive and super-intense just like the franchise is known for. The weapons are all great. The amount of actions and attacks is impressive and very varied. Interesting story too. Seriously, this must be one of the best action game and franchise - except for the 2nd one - ever, upAmazing game. Incredible visuals for a PS2 game, both artistic and technical. The gameplay is really addictive and super-intense just like the franchise is known for. The weapons are all great. The amount of actions and attacks is impressive and very varied. Interesting story too. Seriously, this must be one of the best action game and franchise - except for the 2nd one - ever, up there somewhere along God of War and Ninja Gaiden, personally it's my favourite one but I know a lot of people like the other two better. Expand
  15. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Devil May Cry 3 plays out to be a very good game, the plot is interesting although all you ever do is fight through the whole game if not solve puzzles as well. The combat controls are great as you can effortlessly chain gun and swords combos for devastating attacks. The graphics are good and the voice ancting and sound are all pretty good as well. The Vergil version that allows you toDevil May Cry 3 plays out to be a very good game, the plot is interesting although all you ever do is fight through the whole game if not solve puzzles as well. The combat controls are great as you can effortlessly chain gun and swords combos for devastating attacks. The graphics are good and the voice ancting and sound are all pretty good as well. The Vergil version that allows you to play as Vergil is not all that great because it is merely you playing through all the same levils as Vegil and not Dante and he (Vegil) does not have as much variability as Dante does so Vergil is kind of dissapointing. The only flaws are that the story seems kind of pathcy but other than that it's good. Overall Devil May Cry 3 is a great game that is definately worth playing for the fun of it. Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Some of the best combat I've ever seen in any game (7 years later I've yet to see someone other than kamiya make a game that tops it) is combined with a level designer that needs to be fired. I frequently find myself thinking things like "HOLY CRAP THIS ACTION IS INTENSE" immediately followed by "ugh, this level..."
    I was originally expecting virgil to be some kind of token unlock
    Some of the best combat I've ever seen in any game (7 years later I've yet to see someone other than kamiya make a game that tops it) is combined with a level designer that needs to be fired. I frequently find myself thinking things like "HOLY CRAP THIS ACTION IS INTENSE" immediately followed by "ugh, this level..."
    I was originally expecting virgil to be some kind of token unlock character, either completely overpowered or completely useless, but he's actually a balanced character to play, and even more surprisingly, he's got some serious depth to his combat. The **** tier level design is forgiven this time with the addition of the bloody palace, a place where you can go and endlessly beat up hordes of demons without all that terrible platforming and crappy puzzle solving.
    If anything, if you've never played this game do it at least once right now, so you've got a good benchmark for "rebellious youthful dante" before the new DmC reboot comes out.
    Expand
  17. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Great story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some peopleGreat story, Great music, Great deep fighting mechanics, Great Characters, Fantastic gameplay, A lot of diversity of weapons, combos, styles and strategies, The best bosses ever on a game, It's not a retarded button mash game, you gotta learn, be patient and actually have focus to play it, Very Challenging. What else could you want? One of the best games ever. I don't get why some people don't like the game, maybe it's too hardcore for them, or they just like playing pointless retarded button mash games. DMC3 is one of the best games EVER. The Special Edition has a lot of nice additions, like the Gold checkpoint system, playing as Vergil, the lower difficulties were readjusted (You can't **** about the game being too hard now, the Easy mode is now A LOT easy), A new boss, New Costumes... It is really awesome. Expand
  18. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is DMC3, but with Vergil and Bloody Palace added in. This is the version you should get, those added extras are pretty cool. Playing as vergil is awesome, you just play through the main game with him instead of Dante. He has his trademark moves from his boss battles, and a couple of new ones. He is highly aggressive - though he does have evasion in the form of teleportation. TheThis is DMC3, but with Vergil and Bloody Palace added in. This is the version you should get, those added extras are pretty cool. Playing as vergil is awesome, you just play through the main game with him instead of Dante. He has his trademark moves from his boss battles, and a couple of new ones. He is highly aggressive - though he does have evasion in the form of teleportation. The thing that's best about him is that he does feel very different to Dante, it means you have to play differently, and master him separately. But here's my DMC3 review: What a brilliant game! Extremely hard, enemies coming from all over the place, slick 60 frames per second, tonnes of boss battles. The system is fair and responsive, everything is programmed correctly to make a fine experience. It has six fighting styles, so you choose one at the start of each mission. Trickster is for dodging, royalguard is for intercepting and stopping attacks, swordmaster is for showing off, gunslinger is for making guns more stylish at a distance, quicksilver is for slowing down time, and doppelganger means you can split into 2! Combine this with the fact that you have 5 swords and 5 guns - and you can take 2 of each of those into each mission, and you have... 600 combinations in total! Keep experimenting and you will never get bored. This is one of the best games on the PS2 and stands up today. Expand
  19. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    Better than DMC2, DMC4 and of course DmC, but still only decent compared to DMC1. It can get pretty fun at times if you don't stick to one style or move to play the game but instead find different ways to beat it.
  20. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Have you ever had such a peculiar feeling that you are playing a game that was made entirely and especially for you, in shape and execution ? A game able to earn a special place in your heart by smartly adopting almost all of your personal taste in terms of gameplay,action scenes, dialogue, characters and a... god f#cking good... soundtrack ? No ?! But i had, and that game is called DevilHave you ever had such a peculiar feeling that you are playing a game that was made entirely and especially for you, in shape and execution ? A game able to earn a special place in your heart by smartly adopting almost all of your personal taste in terms of gameplay,action scenes, dialogue, characters and a... god f#cking good... soundtrack ? No ?! But i had, and that game is called Devil May Cry 3. It's a game that did what 99% of action games (including Bayonetta) failed and still failing miserably to make: it estabilishes a strong connection with the player. I love heavy metal/hard rock so Dante's style of an arrogant and rebel teenager with a hell of a good taste in music fits my taste like a glove. He's also badass and has amusing quotes. Even the jokes and funny situations on this games have good taste and will actually make you laugh. The action scenes are breathtaking and totally awesome to see. The other scenes have interesting dialogue and some character's comments are definitely worth of paying attention to. Great cutscenes and great characters but it doesn't ends there: the gameplay is superb. Fight like a maniac by mixing dual-wielding gunslinger with swords. Perform crazy and cool movements like walking on the walls, killingspree while riding on an enemy, make a "shower of bullets" or a "ceiling fan" movement with your sword - it doesn't appears to make any sense for you here, but that's how i can describe it . Before you ask, yes, it's crazy and cool as you can imagine it by reading this review. All this fun plated in a badass soundtrack, i couldn't ask for more. By defeating bosses, you unlock new weapons and you can also be a demon for a short period of time (recommended for boss battles). It's possible to buy new items, combos, maximaze some aspect of your guns or weapons and even change "styles" of gameplay. So there is definitely a RPG vein right there: you prefer using guns for combat, make upgrade for your guns by collecting red orbs and then switch for "gunslinger" as your style; or you may want to invest more on defense, in that situation you may want to choose the "trickster" style of combat. The difficulty is very well-balanced: the tough guys will have tough battles, bosses will have good challenge and ordinary enemies will have some middle challenge (i played it in normal difficulty). If there was something to complain about the game it would be definately be the scenarios. Most of the scenarios are excessively dark and with lack of detail. Some are uncreative or rather boring. Also too much litte variety in combat soundtrack and the story isn't much deep as it could have been. However, i can't deny the incredibly satisfying and remarkable experience i had with this game. A worthy deserving of a 9,5 score. I will raise it to 10 instead of giving it a 9 because i love this game so much that i strongly recommend it even after admiting its (small) flaws. 10 does not means that DMC 3 is perfect, far from it. It means that this is an experience that you cannot miss. Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    fcking casuals complaining about the difficulty making this even easier than before. Playing as Vergil is the only good thing from Special Edition.
  22. RickTheJedi
    Nov 10, 2006
    2
    Wow, high scores from everyone. Ok lets see, a guitar as a weapon, Dante himself is like a goth white boy with stupid jokes, every stage seems to look the same, some of the worst Boss battles i have ever seen in a game before(The Ice Dog-the witch lady), Dante seems useless with his new moves(although he's younger), the difficulty is for the insane. For one I have a life, so i'm Wow, high scores from everyone. Ok lets see, a guitar as a weapon, Dante himself is like a goth white boy with stupid jokes, every stage seems to look the same, some of the worst Boss battles i have ever seen in a game before(The Ice Dog-the witch lady), Dante seems useless with his new moves(although he's younger), the difficulty is for the insane. For one I have a life, so i'm not going to sit at a game(WELL THIS GAME ANYWAY!) and play for 4 hours trying to figure out how to use all the "style" systems, cuz SwordMaster is prob the best. So what do we have so far, we have horrid gameplay where nothing flows like the first DMC and we have stupid characters a real crappy story(no I Expand
  23. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Extreme Action Fighting Games Ever with Twin Brother tale looking the power and have different the purpose, where in this dmc 3 se have Vergil can be playable character, yes it's Great...the graphics is good, gameplay is crazy extreme style, and the lady in this games is kick-ass too.
  24. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    To be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MS DOS to present gen. I played Dante's Awakening before this one and played it out on every difficulty so the people who say the difficulty is crap are just trolls. I like many things about this game like, The setting/atmosphere, music, over the topTo be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MS DOS to present gen. I played Dante's Awakening before this one and played it out on every difficulty so the people who say the difficulty is crap are just trolls. I like many things about this game like, The setting/atmosphere, music, over the top gameplay and characters. This will be the only game i give a 10 cause this is my fave game and made me play for a very long time. The question i always ask you guys with some older games: Will you be able to enjoy this game now a days? Yes you will enjoy the pinnacle of the hack and slash genre. If Devil May Cry 1 created the hack and slash genre, part 3 perfected it. Final Verdict: This game will own your ass until you run like a back to your generic FPS games. Noobs need to avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  25. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    This is the DMC people love. The challenging difficulty, even on Normal/Easy, the insane combos that are hard to pull, the awesome stylish meter, and the funny one-liners from Dante. This game took the other 2, and just took away all the bad things, and improved it from there. I cannot think of one bad character in this game. Dante is hilarous, Vergil is badass, Lady is likeable, andThis is the DMC people love. The challenging difficulty, even on Normal/Easy, the insane combos that are hard to pull, the awesome stylish meter, and the funny one-liners from Dante. This game took the other 2, and just took away all the bad things, and improved it from there. I cannot think of one bad character in this game. Dante is hilarous, Vergil is badass, Lady is likeable, and Arkham/Jester is the ultimate villain. The gameplay, unlike the 1st and 2nd, rewards you for actually pulling off combos, instead of mashing. Also in this game are Styles, some of those include Trickster/Swordsmaster/Gunslinger, and some others. They are all good in their own way, and can be improved by leveling up, when leveling up, you learn new combos and moves. The bosses in this game are incredible! The Vergil fights are some of my favorites, and the Jester fights were just plain fun. The OST in this game was awesome, and the weapons were fantastic. A guitar scythe that summons bats!
    Overall, this game is a must-have if you are a DMC fan, or just a hack-n-slash fan.
    Expand
  26. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Stunning game that demands any gamers attention! This is a must play. It isn't a very long game, but with Vergil playable and the different difficulties and the drive to learn to play like a pro it can take up to 50 hours to experience this game fully
  27. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    After the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped Dante with a new look and voice actor and made him one of the most beloved game characters ever. The gameplay is extremely fun and creative as you can create your own style and combos. The bosses are great, the level design is good and the characters areAfter the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped Dante with a new look and voice actor and made him one of the most beloved game characters ever. The gameplay is extremely fun and creative as you can create your own style and combos. The bosses are great, the level design is good and the characters are awesome (especially Vergil) However i feel that the soundtrack is rather forgettable and the story is really fleshed out to well and Vergil himself is rather underutilized as a playable character. If you do not have this game on PS2, get the HD Collection as it comes with the original and DMC3 (though skip DMC2). Expand
  28. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    This was where I actually liked Dante's personality and attitude. Compare to 4, this is enjoyable on its own way. DMC4 is bright and delightful while DMC3 is dark and epic!
  29. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best game from 2005 until know.The combat system is just amazing + the ranking system is the best ,cruel and soo fun making it even more harder to obtaine SSS at all categories
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The extras are nice, but the most important feature is the tweaked difficulty level. No more tears while playing! [Oct 2006]
  2. 80
    The game's a little easier this time, but playing through with Vergil is a completely different experience.
  3. Far more than a new skin for the same action, playing as Vergil drastically alters the way you approach Devil May Cry. [Feb 2006, p.106]