• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Devil May Cry 3 marks the return of the world’s toughest demon slayer, Dante, in a riveting new game marked by complex storylines, striking graphics and unadulterated stylistic action. As a prequel to the first Devil May Cry, the story unfolds an earlier chapter in Dante’s history, to aDevil May Cry 3 marks the return of the world’s toughest demon slayer, Dante, in a riveting new game marked by complex storylines, striking graphics and unadulterated stylistic action. As a prequel to the first Devil May Cry, the story unfolds an earlier chapter in Dante’s history, to a fateful clash with his evil twin brother. In addition to its characteristic fast paced action, the game increases the intensity with a new "style" system. It adds more depth to gameplay and allows players to choose between short-range, long-range, defensive or evasive play styles. Each system has its own range of features and players can power up their favorite style for increased special attack abilities. Special Edition feature: Now play as Dante’s twin Vergil! [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sure, many of the bonus features could’ve been beefed up a bit more, but considering you’re getting the same masterful Devil May Cry 3 package with solid new content at a bargain basement price, there’s absolutely no reason not to go out and treat yourself to this action classic right away, whether you own the original already or not.
  2. Play UK
    92
    A superb game and a fitting swansong for Dante on the PlayStation 2. [JPN Import; Issue#139, p.104]
  3. AceGamez
    90
    Sure, many of the bonus features could've been beefed up a bit more, but considering you're getting the same brilliant Devil May Cry 3 experience with new content at a bargain basement price, there's absolutely no reason not to go out and treat yourself to this action classic.
  4. The Special Edition probably won't be for everyone (namely those who already destroyed the game on hard), but it's still recommended for its abundance of additions, including the ability to play as Vergil and the insane Bloody Palace mode.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    86
    The extras are nice, but the most important feature is the tweaked difficulty level. No more tears while playing! [Oct 2006]
  6. Though it adds a new playable character, tougher skill levels, and the option to speed everything up 20%, it still has the same annoying and unavoidable music, occasionally stiff controls, and that frustratingly limiting “chose your style of fighting” system that made the original Cry 3 a lot less fun than the first two incarnations.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game has to be the best out of all of them!! The graphics is amazing and the dialogue in the scenes is amazing and hilarious! Dante is myThis game has to be the best out of all of them!! The graphics is amazing and the dialogue in the scenes is amazing and hilarious! Dante is my most fav. Char. but Lady at a close second. The games in order may have went from brilliant to lousy to absolutely spectacular, but this is an absolute must have game!! Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    To be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MSTo be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MS DOS to present gen. I played Dante's Awakening before this one and played it out on every difficulty so the people who say the difficulty is crap are just trolls. I like many things about this game like, The setting/atmosphere, music, over the top gameplay and characters. This will be the only game i give a 10 cause this is my fave game and made me play for a very long time. The question i always ask you guys with some older games: Will you be able to enjoy this game now a days? Yes you will enjoy the pinnacle of the hack and slash genre. If Devil May Cry 1 created the hack and slash genre, part 3 perfected it. Final Verdict: This game will own your ass until you run like a back to your generic FPS games. Noobs need to avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  3. LeeK
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    A FANTASTIC game. Very entertaining, game play is very fast, and there is a variety of skills that can be learnt and used efficiently. The A FANTASTIC game. Very entertaining, game play is very fast, and there is a variety of skills that can be learnt and used efficiently. The game allows the player to use Dante's twin brother, Vergil and all his devil arms and his only skill- "Dark Slayer". The games graphics is very realistic. The cut scenes are very interesting and makes the player more enthusiastic to continue after that particular cut scene. The gameplay is very speedy and entertaining. There are various difficulties, allowing the gamer to test how good he is in this game. Players would probably take 2 or 3 months if they want to complete the game 100 percent including all the secret missions found in various levels. Also, like I said before, there are different difficulty levels. Overall, this game is the BEST!!! Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    After the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped DanteAfter the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped Dante with a new look and voice actor and made him one of the most beloved game characters ever. The gameplay is extremely fun and creative as you can create your own style and combos. The bosses are great, the level design is good and the characters are awesome (especially Vergil) However i feel that the soundtrack is rather forgettable and the story is really fleshed out to well and Vergil himself is rather underutilized as a playable character. If you do not have this game on PS2, get the HD Collection as it comes with the original and DMC3 (though skip DMC2). Expand
  5. Snachez
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    A good game, a damn good. I actually played DMC 3 first, since it is the first in the story (just like in Star Wars) and I found the game A good game, a damn good. I actually played DMC 3 first, since it is the first in the story (just like in Star Wars) and I found the game very enjoyable. I hate button masher fighting games, but this DMC 3 is nothing like it, even on normal difficulty you really have to dodge attacks and keep a close eye on what's going on, and that IMO gave the game more "depth" and intensity, since you have to concentrate on every battle. At "Dante Must Die" the game turns very hard, but that is expected. I love challenging games and this one is definately one. There are some very bad dialogue, I'm pointing to Dantes dirrection, although most of the stuff coming out of his mouth is funny and just awesome. Vergil is actually my favorite DMC boss/characther in any DMC game, if not counting Dante, although Vergils campain was very rushed, since there were no cutscenes, it was still solid and fun. All the parts, from older DMC games, come together very nicely when thinking about the story. A good game, though it's definately not one of those games that you can just pick up and play at any certain moment. I miss young Dante and I really hope for DMC 5 to be made. BTW stop making charachters that try to replace Dante, like the pussy Nero. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Outstanding to be a reharsed edition. It fixes original's problems (in particular difficulty) and the chance to play like Vergil is Outstanding to be a reharsed edition. It fixes original's problems (in particular difficulty) and the chance to play like Vergil is better though he has limited gun move. The inclusion of palace of blood is very good. Other issues, i think, are to uncover in a very uncoherent and apparent lack of variety playing Vergil mode. 9/10 no major faults. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    fcking casuals complaining about the difficulty making this even easier than before. Playing as Vergil is the only good thing from Special Edition.

See all 36 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
9
#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
8
#8 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006