• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Devil May Cry 3 marks the return of the world’s toughest demon slayer, Dante, in a riveting new game marked by complex storylines, striking graphics and unadulterated stylistic action. As a prequel to the first Devil May Cry, the story unfolds an earlier chapter in Dante’s history, to a fateful clash with his evil twin brother. In addition to its characteristic fast paced action, the game increases the intensity with a new "style" system. It adds more depth to gameplay and allows players to choose between short-range, long-range, defensive or evasive play styles. Each system has its own range of features and players can power up their favorite style for increased special attack abilities. Special Edition feature: Now play as Dante’s twin Vergil! [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sure, many of the bonus features could’ve been beefed up a bit more, but considering you’re getting the same masterful Devil May Cry 3 package with solid new content at a bargain basement price, there’s absolutely no reason not to go out and treat yourself to this action classic right away, whether you own the original already or not.
  2. 92
    A superb game and a fitting swansong for Dante on the PlayStation 2. [JPN Import; Issue#139, p.104]
  3. The Special Edition probably won't be for everyone (namely those who already destroyed the game on hard), but it's still recommended for its abundance of additions, including the ability to play as Vergil and the insane Bloody Palace mode.
  4. Far more than a new skin for the same action, playing as Vergil drastically alters the way you approach Devil May Cry. [Feb 2006, p.106]
  5. The extras are nice, but the most important feature is the tweaked difficulty level. No more tears while playing! [Oct 2006]
  6. Though it adds a new playable character, tougher skill levels, and the option to speed everything up 20%, it still has the same annoying and unavoidable music, occasionally stiff controls, and that frustratingly limiting “chose your style of fighting” system that made the original Cry 3 a lot less fun than the first two incarnations.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game has to be the best out of all of them!! The graphics is amazing and the dialogue in the scenes is amazing and hilarious! Dante is my most fav. Char. but Lady at a close second. The games in order may have went from brilliant to lousy to absolutely spectacular, but this is an absolute must have game!! Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Have you ever had such a peculiar feeling that you are playing a game that was made entirely and especially for you, in shape and execution ? A game able to earn a special place in your heart by smartly adopting almost all of your personal taste in terms of gameplay,action scenes, dialogue, characters and a... god f#cking good... soundtrack ? No ?! But i had, and that game is called Devil May Cry 3. It's a game that did what 99% of action games (including Bayonetta) failed and still failing miserably to make: it estabilishes a strong connection with the player. I love heavy metal/hard rock so Dante's style of an arrogant and rebel teenager with a hell of a good taste in music fits my taste like a glove. He's also badass and has amusing quotes. Even the jokes and funny situations on this games have good taste and will actually make you laugh. The action scenes are breathtaking and totally awesome to see. The other scenes have interesting dialogue and some character's comments are definitely worth of paying attention to. Great cutscenes and great characters but it doesn't ends there: the gameplay is superb. Fight like a maniac by mixing dual-wielding gunslinger with swords. Perform crazy and cool movements like walking on the walls, killingspree while riding on an enemy, make a "shower of bullets" or a "ceiling fan" movement with your sword - it doesn't appears to make any sense for you here, but that's how i can describe it . Before you ask, yes, it's crazy and cool as you can imagine it by reading this review. All this fun plated in a badass soundtrack, i couldn't ask for more. By defeating bosses, you unlock new weapons and you can also be a demon for a short period of time (recommended for boss battles). It's possible to buy new items, combos, maximaze some aspect of your guns or weapons and even change "styles" of gameplay. So there is definitely a RPG vein right there: you prefer using guns for combat, make upgrade for your guns by collecting red orbs and then switch for "gunslinger" as your style; or you may want to invest more on defense, in that situation you may want to choose the "trickster" style of combat. The difficulty is very well-balanced: the tough guys will have tough battles, bosses will have good challenge and ordinary enemies will have some middle challenge (i played it in normal difficulty). If there was something to complain about the game it would be definately be the scenarios. Most of the scenarios are excessively dark and with lack of detail. Some are uncreative or rather boring. Also too much litte variety in combat soundtrack and the story isn't much deep as it could have been. However, i can't deny the incredibly satisfying and remarkable experience i had with this game. A worthy deserving of a 9,5 score. I will raise it to 10 instead of giving it a 9 because i love this game so much that i strongly recommend it even after admiting its (small) flaws. 10 does not means that DMC 3 is perfect, far from it. It means that this is an experience that you cannot miss. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    To be honest. This is my favorite game of all time. I know it sounds unbelievable on this site but i played many games in every era from MS DOS to present gen. I played Dante's Awakening before this one and played it out on every difficulty so the people who say the difficulty is crap are just trolls. I like many things about this game like, The setting/atmosphere, music, over the top gameplay and characters. This will be the only game i give a 10 cause this is my fave game and made me play for a very long time. The question i always ask you guys with some older games: Will you be able to enjoy this game now a days? Yes you will enjoy the pinnacle of the hack and slash genre. If Devil May Cry 1 created the hack and slash genre, part 3 perfected it. Final Verdict: This game will own your ass until you run like a back to your generic FPS games. Noobs need to avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is DMC3, but with Vergil and Bloody Palace added in. This is the version you should get, those added extras are pretty cool. Playing as vergil is awesome, you just play through the main game with him instead of Dante. He has his trademark moves from his boss battles, and a couple of new ones. He is highly aggressive - though he does have evasion in the form of teleportation. The thing that's best about him is that he does feel very different to Dante, it means you have to play differently, and master him separately. But here's my DMC3 review: What a brilliant game! Extremely hard, enemies coming from all over the place, slick 60 frames per second, tonnes of boss battles. The system is fair and responsive, everything is programmed correctly to make a fine experience. It has six fighting styles, so you choose one at the start of each mission. Trickster is for dodging, royalguard is for intercepting and stopping attacks, swordmaster is for showing off, gunslinger is for making guns more stylish at a distance, quicksilver is for slowing down time, and doppelganger means you can split into 2! Combine this with the fact that you have 5 swords and 5 guns - and you can take 2 of each of those into each mission, and you have... 600 combinations in total! Keep experimenting and you will never get bored. This is one of the best games on the PS2 and stands up today. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    After the disappointment of DMC2, Devil May Cry 3 improved on everything that made the original Devil May Cry fun. A completely revamped Dante with a new look and voice actor and made him one of the most beloved game characters ever. The gameplay is extremely fun and creative as you can create your own style and combos. The bosses are great, the level design is good and the characters are awesome (especially Vergil) However i feel that the soundtrack is rather forgettable and the story is really fleshed out to well and Vergil himself is rather underutilized as a playable character. If you do not have this game on PS2, get the HD Collection as it comes with the original and DMC3 (though skip DMC2). Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Devil May Cry 3 plays out to be a very good game, the plot is interesting although all you ever do is fight through the whole game if not solve puzzles as well. The combat controls are great as you can effortlessly chain gun and swords combos for devastating attacks. The graphics are good and the voice ancting and sound are all pretty good as well. The Vergil version that allows you to play as Vergil is not all that great because it is merely you playing through all the same levils as Vegil and not Dante and he (Vegil) does not have as much variability as Dante does so Vergil is kind of dissapointing. The only flaws are that the story seems kind of pathcy but other than that it's good. Overall Devil May Cry 3 is a great game that is definately worth playing for the fun of it. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    fcking casuals complaining about the difficulty making this even easier than before. Playing as Vergil is the only good thing from Special Edition.

See all 27 User Reviews