Devil May Cry PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 16, 2001
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 461 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 461
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.
    Jan 1, 2002
    6
    Good Graphix and game play, but.. not near enough devil trigger weapons, and WAY to easy, I beat this game in 2 days or about 6 hours. I like a little something more complex than get item put in slot.. over and over and over, a freggin baby could beat this game no problem.
  2. JamesT.
    Jan 29, 2002
    7
    Good game and graphics but is too short.
  3. AladdinS.
    Jan 8, 2002
    5
    I was extremely disappointed with DMC. After seeing all the 10s people were giving it I thought it would be good. The graphics and sound are nice, but that's the only thing I like about it. Bad story, bad camera, simplistic controls, lame RPG elements, short, and not many different enemies. I also hate how enemies respawn. Revisit a room and it will once again be swamping with I was extremely disappointed with DMC. After seeing all the 10s people were giving it I thought it would be good. The graphics and sound are nice, but that's the only thing I like about it. Bad story, bad camera, simplistic controls, lame RPG elements, short, and not many different enemies. I also hate how enemies respawn. Revisit a room and it will once again be swamping with enemies. Agh, just thinking about this game makes me literally sick to my stomach. It's got to be the most overrated game in history. Expand
  4. ZiggyStardust
    May 10, 2002
    7
    The Good: -graphics are very good. the backdrops are breathtaking at times. the bosses look cool too. -it"s fun for a little while. The Bad: -there"s no replay value. once you play this through you"ll never put it in the ps2 again. it will become the most boring game on the planet. -the story is disjointed, and doesn"t make sense. if the story isn"t going to make sense, at least make it The Good: -graphics are very good. the backdrops are breathtaking at times. the bosses look cool too. -it"s fun for a little while. The Bad: -there"s no replay value. once you play this through you"ll never put it in the ps2 again. it will become the most boring game on the planet. -the story is disjointed, and doesn"t make sense. if the story isn"t going to make sense, at least make it complex enough to fool some people like in mgs2 (ha, i"m sure i"ll get some flak for that). -there are far too many of these short survival horror games (onimusha being the shortest! - 3 hours to find all the flourites and explore everything - dammit, i want my money back). it should take you about 10 hours to beat DMC if you die a fair bit (which you likely will - a good thing). -there are yet again massive lip sync problems with a capcom game... surprise surprise. -the sound seems dull (although cool otherwise) - i personally dislike how the enemies respawn. Leave a room for a second and you"ll find all the enemies that you sent to hell have returned. how lame. Expand
  5. BenN.
    Mar 15, 2003
    6
    A good game at the end of the day, consider buying it but it does get a little boring and you could be playing it all day thinking it's the best game and before you know it you don't wanna play it anymore, also there is boss after boss which gets very annoying knowing all your hard work in beating them is rewarded with an even harder boss, very annoying!
  6. GregE.
    Nov 13, 2001
    7
    Horrible camera hinders an otherwise flawless game.
  7. D
    Jun 27, 2002
    6
    Graphics (9/10) Audio (8/10) Story(2/10) Gameplay(8/10) Replay Value(3/10) The Graphics, Music and sound effects, and core gameplay all truly kick ass in this game, the reason i rated it a 6 overall though is because id rather spend 50$ elsewhere where i can actually buy a game with a longer lasting life. This game has very small replay value (I thought) once through is enough, and it is Graphics (9/10) Audio (8/10) Story(2/10) Gameplay(8/10) Replay Value(3/10) The Graphics, Music and sound effects, and core gameplay all truly kick ass in this game, the reason i rated it a 6 overall though is because id rather spend 50$ elsewhere where i can actually buy a game with a longer lasting life. This game has very small replay value (I thought) once through is enough, and it is a fairly short game, unfortunately. The gameplay is great, fast and action packed, but there isnt enough of it. Also the story was pretty much nothing. I did finish the game, so im not totally biased in my thinking it had a crap story. Rent it before you buy it, after you beat it (the game that is) and you think youll still have fun with it a month later then go for a purchase, it just wasnt for me. Expand
  8. Dante
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    S'aright.
  9. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    It's always very difficult to review a game so long after its release as for every one title that still stands up today there are a whole host that don't. Perhaps had I played Devil May Cry back in 2001 (rather than in 2013!) I might have enjoyed it more but a decade’s worth of advancements in video games means that, whilst I can appreciate its influence, I simply did not enjoy the time IIt's always very difficult to review a game so long after its release as for every one title that still stands up today there are a whole host that don't. Perhaps had I played Devil May Cry back in 2001 (rather than in 2013!) I might have enjoyed it more but a decade’s worth of advancements in video games means that, whilst I can appreciate its influence, I simply did not enjoy the time I spent on it.

    A poor camera that often leaves you staring at a wall, a lack of signposting leading to moments of wandering around aimlessly wondering where you are supposed to go and fighting mechanics which simply aren't as satisfying as more modern efforts in the genre (such as Bayonetta) all show the games age. As a result I wouldn't recommend it to anyone other than perhaps those that were fans of the game when it was first released.
    Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Devil may cry is the definition of an stylish action game. It has good graphics and great action but could have been better. Devil May Cry 3 is way better.
  11. Jul 10, 2015
    7
    Don't expect anything new, but compared to the spread of story campaigns that are long and open-world, it's not hard to appreciate the tight action-packed campaign design of DMC1. Although the main mechanic consists of bashing buttons, there's strategy in upgrading techniques and applying them. The main location is a mysterious and atmospheric castle, and often the lack of in-game compassDon't expect anything new, but compared to the spread of story campaigns that are long and open-world, it's not hard to appreciate the tight action-packed campaign design of DMC1. Although the main mechanic consists of bashing buttons, there's strategy in upgrading techniques and applying them. The main location is a mysterious and atmospheric castle, and often the lack of in-game compass adds to the mystery. But it's nonetheless skillfully designed to be relatively easy to progress through the campaign. The HD edition seems to be just a graphical update. The game aesthetics fit very well with the HD look, and it runs at a high solid speed. Expand
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Released only a year and a half after the PS2 launch, Devil May Cry is still one of the strongest PS2 games around. Amazing graphics & effects (for it's time), a diverse and fitting soundtrack, huge memorable playground arena boss battles, and stylish combat that rewards you for creativity. I beat this game when it came out and just finished it again yesterday and it's still an amazingReleased only a year and a half after the PS2 launch, Devil May Cry is still one of the strongest PS2 games around. Amazing graphics & effects (for it's time), a diverse and fitting soundtrack, huge memorable playground arena boss battles, and stylish combat that rewards you for creativity. I beat this game when it came out and just finished it again yesterday and it's still an amazing game. All of the game's elements combined really push you to beat the game's challenges. Yes, the game isn't perfect (Capcom's notorious locked camera angles cause frustration again, recycled bosses and environments [another Capcom staple], small monster/weapon variety), but it is still worth playing today. This and Onimusha are two unique twists from Capcom's PS1 Resident Evils and aren't for the faint of heart; if you can stomach the gore and prevalent horror then this is a memorable over-the-top action game worth playing. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  2. A groundbreaking title that takes the genre in a new and exciting direction. Capcom has once again managed to breathe life into a genre that had been stuck in something of a rut of late.
  3. I don't say such things lightly, but this is easily one of the best games I've ever played. Everywhere I look, I find more things I want to praise about this title.