• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 16, 2001
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 309

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Great game a True classic in a industry clouted with crap. and to the guy who said he beat it in 6 hours try normal or hard dont rag on it b/c u played on baby skill level. one game i'll never give up
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    No one ever made a game like this, best adventure game EVER. It was a new game in a new era, NAMCO with this Dante you tried to create a DEVIL but you didn't notice that you were creating a GOD.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Great 3rd person RPG game. Reminds me a little like final fantasy.. 10/10 for entire series. Its not a hair pulling game but more like a "tough looking game" but once you play it, so easy and fun once you get the touch.
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Devil May Cry is one of the best PS2 games I have played. It is challenging, entertaining, and crazy. The game is full of different kinds of combos and weapons that you can swap mid-battle, for even crazier combos. Dante doesn't get much dialogue in this which is upsetting because he proves that he is an awesome character in the 3rd game. I reccomend this to anybody with a PS2 or PS3.
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Devil May Cry is one of those games that you can not stop playing, especially if you are a lover of style games Hack and Slash, I often had difficulty completing some missions, which are the chapters of the game, I can say that I love the Saga Devil May Cry.O game has a gambling frenetic and spectacular soundtracks, which reminds me of the Resident Evil series of games, which brought upon me a sense of enormous Nostalgia.Esse without doubt is the list of the best games I ever play in my vida.Eu I enjoyed the characters, especially the Dante that without doubt is one of the strongest characters of the game world, and very charismatic, which marked the games in style Hack and Slash. Now back to the part where I said:'' Devil May Cry is one of those games that you can not stop playing,'' I said it exactly because it has great replay factor, which you can complete the game in many difficulties, and the game has a huge arsenal of weapons and abilities, you can acquire throughout the game, to kill more monsters to be removed they drop orbs. And that's why for me this game deserves note 10/10 Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Devil May Cry is a superb hack and slash action game that kept me entertained throughout its campaign. The graphics are great with nicely detailed character models and textures. The atmosphere is very hellish; dark, cold and sometimes chilly and scary. DMC offers the player a chance to play as a half devil, half human devil hunter called Dante who is badass and transverse through a number of levels - or missions - mostly hacking and slashing his way through hoards of enemies using his trusty sword and ranged weapons which seems simple enough. I love the way that you play as this near invincible character blowing everyone to bits, shooting unlimited grenade launcher rounds and the fact that you're in control of a powerful character (although you can still die). The frame rate is pretty stable and that's a good achievement as there can be a lot happening at once on screen. Combat is fast paced and flows smoothly as you hack and slash with a good selection of combos to learn which keeps the gameplay fresh.These combos are very accessible as you mostly only use the circle button to slash your sword. This is a game in which the controls are great but I do find the fact that the jump button is the triangle button and the cross button is the action button; I would have thought that it would have been the other way round but you'll get used to it. There are a couple of diversions from the excellent over the top action in which Dante may need to grab an item and bring it to a specific place. There are a variety of enemies to fight and their design fits in the dark horrifying world. Some enemies do require a bit of strategy to defeat as you can't just simply demolish them by pressing circle. To mix into the gameplay, Dante has got a couple of items to help out. Holy Water will grant Dante the ability to destroy every enemy on screen at that time - or take a chunk of a bosses health bar off, and Vital Star restores Dante's health. To stay alive and deal more damage, it's recommended that you would use them in combat. An excellent action game should have some tough as nails boss battles and thankfully, this game has just that. Each has their own attack pattern and require patience to take down. Dante has access to the "devil trigger." When Dante has enough devil trigger (or what ever you call them) symbols, he can go into a devil like state for a brief moment and deal more damage and take little damage himself. I find this awesome when you gain access to this. They are really fun to fight and are the highlight of the game, especially the final boss fight which will go down as the most EPIC boss fight I have encountered. The music - OMG - is awesome with a mixture of techno and orchestra while your battling through; the bosses have their own unique music which are superb to listen to. DMC uses a life system where if you die, you lose a life. The game gives you a chance to save your progress if you complete a mission. Fair enough but if you lose all of your lives, you have to reload your previously saved game which is a pain as it takes a couple of seconds to reload your saved data. Another problem is the camera can be a pain in the arse as it can't be adjusted and it can point in a direction where you don't want it to point; sometimes it can get you killed as off screen as you maybe hit by a projectile or lunge attack that you didn't see coming. Finally, even though there are 5 main bosses in the game, you have to fight 4 of them 3 times on 3 separate confrontations and each confrontation only offers very minor alterations to how they attack so it can get quite repetitive having to fight just one boss 3 times.
    DMC is an excellent hack and slash action game which is easy to play but tough as nails. Buy it as it's very cheap pre-owned now on PlayStation 2.
    Expand
  8. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This game was very refreshing when it came out, very few game had the style and flair this game came packed with. Too bad so many developers have tried to copy this formula unsuccessfully and degenerated the genre over the years.
  9. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best PS2 games out there, a must play, the graphics are great, and the soundtrack is can be haunting at times, and the controls are spot on, and if your looking for a real challenge play this on the harder difficulties and your in for one challenging time, it's fairly short it can be beat in about 4-5 hours on the easiest difficulty, but during that time your completely immersed in this cool experience, combat is fast and fun, you have swords, guns, and demonic powers at your disposal to fight your enemies, and the game does a good job at steadily introducing new enemies and weapons, and it shakes things up from the traditional third person levels by adding some first person underwater levels, and some on the rails shooting segments, and has one awesome 3 part final boss fight, my only complaints are that the platforming sections are overly frustrating, and that it can sometimes be hard to figure out where your supposed to go or what your supposed to do when you get there, but this is still a must play, definitely one of the best PS2 games you'll play. Expand
  10. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    A devil Hunter that never gets touched by any means? well thats Dante, he's a badass, and kills with skills and style. The story is simple, with a lot of fun, the combos feels solid and responsive. I wish they do a HD remake for the Playstation 3 or Xbox 360.
  11. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Extremely over the top, yet extremely awesome. It sort of takes the fixed camera angles that we see in old Resident Evil games and much of the Silent Hill franchise except incorporates action packed gameplay. It's like a mixture of horror, action, and fantasy. The gameplay in this game has heavily influenced countless other games such as the Kingdom Hearts franchise, God of War, and Dante's Inferno. This is a classic. Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    One of the best game that PS2 can offer. Cool story, good characters and a awesome soundtrack. The graphics is like a game for PS1 and the gameplay has some bugs.
  13. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    In earlier stages this game was Re4. When you play the game you can see the similarities. Isn't that cool! Anyway, this was one of the first A-list titles to be released for PS2. The premise is similar to the Resident Evil series, but streamlined. The game features fixed camera angles, spooky fantasized environments, keys and switches, and lots of stylish acton. Dante is a bad ass and I'm sure this game started the 3rd person action trend on PS2 (God of War, etc). If you haven't played it you are missing out. Expand
  14. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    What I desperatly needed was something positive and refreshing on the PS2, and my desires were fulfilled with Devil May Cry. I still believe to this day that this game is Capcom's gem and a brilliant title all around. The dark, Gothic appeal to this game is finely presented and Dante is one bad ass character. The weapons are another huge plus, upgrades and perks add a lot of content and makes it all worth your time. Devil May Cry isn't the longest game but extra difficulties are rewarding and worth attempting. This game is what PS2 badly needed, a gem action title with the potential for sequels. Expand
  15. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    "Devil May Cry" is cited as one of the most influential video games of all time. Released 11 years ago, it marked the beginning of a sub-genre of action titles with an emphasis on fast-paced, stylized combat. Sony's "God of War" and Team Ninja's "Ninja Gaiden" are two games that borrowed much from DMC. Originally planned as a "Resident Evil" installment, "Devil May Cry" casts players as Dante, a demon hunter armed with a giant sword and twin-pistols. Approached by a mysterious woman named Trish, Dante accepts a job offer to prevent the return of the demon emperor Mundus. The game mainly takes place inside a Gothic castle filled with supernatural monsters and puzzle rooms. In that sense, DMC resembles a "Castlevania" game as well as "Resident Evil". But the extreme difficulty and fast, stylish action is what really sets it apart. This is a Capcom production that ranks up with "Mega Man", "Street Fighter II" and "Resident Evil" as one of the company's best games. A true classic. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fun, fun, fun! I played this when it first came out and it has to be one of the best games I played on the PS2. The character were unique and well design, the combat full of action, enemies varied and also very well designed. The game did have some cheezy dialogue, but I found it charming and suited the tone of the game. The game could be a bit hard at times, especially on the higher difficulties (but I guess that was the point of them.) Overall: Devil May Cry is a game for the ages and gave birth to a truly icon character. Expand
  17. ERB
    Sep 5, 2013
    9
    The Devil May Cry series do have many games but until now this game still stands to be the best among them.And not just that,this game also stands to be one of the best PS2 games out there.The story line of this game is really impressive and even the game play is cool.And its graphics for a 2001 game is also good.An incredibly cool game and I just love it!Yeah probably one of the best games out there. Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Un juego clásico que, de seguro, marcó un antes y un después en el mundo de los videojuegos.
    Acción sólida y divertida, gráficos impresionantes para la época y una historia que vale la pena disfrutar
  19. Feb 12, 2014
    8
    Great style, with fun , if somewhat dumb battling. One of these easy to play tough to master type games. Alot of games try to be cool and fail. This one doesn't
  20. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    I found this game at a used game store for 5 dollars. And I have to say, I got more than my money's worth. This game is amazing. I haven't played any of the others yet, but I look forward to. The gameplay is fun, the graphics are outstanding for the time, the story could be a bit better, the characters (Dante in particular) are pretty likable. The only problems I have with this game are the camera angle switches constantly and can get in the way a lot, most of the time the enemies are either too easy or too hard (I was on the lava crab thing on normal difficulty and I blew hours just trying to kill it but I couldn't so I switched to Easy difficulty and i hit him maybe 3 times and he died. Now it's way too easy and I can't switch back to normal), and it's pretty dark (but that's probably just a problem with my TV). It's a great game. I'd say it's still worth $20, maybe $25. If you're wanting your first DMC game, get this, not the new one. Expand
  21. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Devil may cry is the definition of an stylish action game. It has good graphics and great action but could have been better. Devil May Cry 3 is way better.
  22. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Released only a year and a half after the PS2 launch, Devil May Cry is still one of the strongest PS2 games around. Amazing graphics & effects (for it's time), a diverse and fitting soundtrack, huge memorable playground arena boss battles, and stylish combat that rewards you for creativity. I beat this game when it came out and just finished it again yesterday and it's still an amazing game. All of the game's elements combined really push you to beat the game's challenges. Yes, the game isn't perfect (Capcom's notorious locked camera angles cause frustration again, recycled bosses and environments [another Capcom staple], small monster/weapon variety), but it is still worth playing today. This and Onimusha are two unique twists from Capcom's PS1 Resident Evils and aren't for the faint of heart; if you can stomach the gore and prevalent horror then this is a memorable over-the-top action game worth playing. Expand
  23. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    It's always very difficult to review a game so long after its release as for every one title that still stands up today there are a whole host that don't. Perhaps had I played Devil May Cry back in 2001 (rather than in 2013!) I might have enjoyed it more but a decade’s worth of advancements in video games means that, whilst I can appreciate its influence, I simply did not enjoy the time I spent on it.

    A poor camera that often leaves you staring at a wall, a lack of signposting leading to moments of wandering around aimlessly wondering where you are supposed to go and fighting mechanics which simply aren't as satisfying as more modern efforts in the genre (such as Bayonetta) all show the games age. As a result I wouldn't recommend it to anyone other than perhaps those that were fans of the game when it was first released.
    Expand
  24. Feb 14, 2011
    2
    kekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekekeke
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  2. A groundbreaking title that takes the genre in a new and exciting direction. Capcom has once again managed to breathe life into a genre that had been stuck in something of a rut of late.
  3. I don't say such things lightly, but this is easily one of the best games I've ever played. Everywhere I look, I find more things I want to praise about this title.