Devil May Cry PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 16, 2001
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 465
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game.
  2. DannyC.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever made!!! this game is so fun.
  3. Alex
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    while almost no game is perfect, Devil May Cry sure comes damn close. awesome ahead-of-its-time visuals, fast paced game play, and plenty of extra sutff to do (such as the secret missions and psudo-mini-games). one of, if not THE best game on PS2.
  4. Mike
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    One of the best games i have played. the story line may be short but the action is awesome. one of my fav things to do in that game is kill the final boss.
  5. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Extremely over the top, yet extremely awesome. It sort of takes the fixed camera angles that we see in old Resident Evil games and much of the Silent Hill franchise except incorporates action packed gameplay. It's like a mixture of horror, action, and fantasy. The gameplay in this game has heavily influenced countless other games such as the Kingdom Hearts franchise, God of War, andExtremely over the top, yet extremely awesome. It sort of takes the fixed camera angles that we see in old Resident Evil games and much of the Silent Hill franchise except incorporates action packed gameplay. It's like a mixture of horror, action, and fantasy. The gameplay in this game has heavily influenced countless other games such as the Kingdom Hearts franchise, God of War, and Dante's Inferno. This is a classic. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    What I desperatly needed was something positive and refreshing on the PS2, and my desires were fulfilled with Devil May Cry. I still believe to this day that this game is Capcom's gem and a brilliant title all around. The dark, Gothic appeal to this game is finely presented and Dante is one bad ass character. The weapons are another huge plus, upgrades and perks add a lot of content andWhat I desperatly needed was something positive and refreshing on the PS2, and my desires were fulfilled with Devil May Cry. I still believe to this day that this game is Capcom's gem and a brilliant title all around. The dark, Gothic appeal to this game is finely presented and Dante is one bad ass character. The weapons are another huge plus, upgrades and perks add a lot of content and makes it all worth your time. Devil May Cry isn't the longest game but extra difficulties are rewarding and worth attempting. This game is what PS2 badly needed, a gem action title with the potential for sequels. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Released only a year and a half after the PS2 launch, Devil May Cry is still one of the strongest PS2 games around. Amazing graphics & effects (for it's time), a diverse and fitting soundtrack, huge memorable playground arena boss battles, and stylish combat that rewards you for creativity. I beat this game when it came out and just finished it again yesterday and it's still an amazingReleased only a year and a half after the PS2 launch, Devil May Cry is still one of the strongest PS2 games around. Amazing graphics & effects (for it's time), a diverse and fitting soundtrack, huge memorable playground arena boss battles, and stylish combat that rewards you for creativity. I beat this game when it came out and just finished it again yesterday and it's still an amazing game. All of the game's elements combined really push you to beat the game's challenges. Yes, the game isn't perfect (Capcom's notorious locked camera angles cause frustration again, recycled bosses and environments [another Capcom staple], small monster/weapon variety), but it is still worth playing today. This and Onimusha are two unique twists from Capcom's PS1 Resident Evils and aren't for the faint of heart; if you can stomach the gore and prevalent horror then this is a memorable over-the-top action game worth playing. Expand
  8. BlackDragon
    Apr 5, 2002
    10
    Insane is the first word that strikes me. Insane moves, insane enemies, insane difficulty... Unless you unlock the secret "Automatic Easy" mode and plays through that first, you're in for one hell of a tough game.
  9. TarikT.
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    The game has crappy dialog but it really kicks ass. You play as an investigator named dante fighting evil. When you are equipped with guns and swords you are unstoppable.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2002
    10
    Great story line, very outstanding 3D graphics and the moves of Dante... Man, they totally knock my teeth out!! Too easy you say, try Dante must die mode and see if you still think it's TOO easy!! If you own a PS2 but don't have this game, you better go get one or you might aswell kill yourself~~
  11. Jani
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This one of the best action games out there.
  12. DanteS.
    Mar 7, 2002
    10
    This is among the 3 best games I've ever played. A solid Contender to MGS2. Take the fighting from THE MATRIX, Some Jhon Woo Camera angles, then put Castlevania's enviroments in 128 bits graphics, some metal/hard rock mind blowin' soundtrack, and the you have it. DEVIL MAY CRY.
  13. JarredS.
    May 7, 2003
    10
    Capcom shouldnt have wasted time makin Resident Evil they should have made Devil May Cry a saga this game is PERFECT!!!!!!!
  14. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    After playing Onimusha for months I wanted something new, that is when I heard about DMC. The game is extremely fun to play but it might not suit everyone. First off the game's story is cheesey and doesn't come close to Onimusha's, which wasn't that great either. However the game is pretty hard and extremely stylish. The graphics in the game are okay, I didn't After playing Onimusha for months I wanted something new, that is when I heard about DMC. The game is extremely fun to play but it might not suit everyone. First off the game's story is cheesey and doesn't come close to Onimusha's, which wasn't that great either. However the game is pretty hard and extremely stylish. The graphics in the game are okay, I didn't find them exceptionally good but they weren't bad. The gameplay is fast, hard and stylish. You can get the souls of your enemies and buy new abilities and items. Overall the gameplay is what made this game fun, for me atleast. The sound is really a mixed bag. The voice acting wasn't horrible, but it wasn't anything good. The music became repetitive but the music was good for awhile. The enviroments in the agme are small but filled with atmosphere. Overall, DMC is a good game for people who like pure action and little story, or someone looking for a stylishly hard game. However people will hate this game for its bad storyline and sometimes extremely hard gameplay. Expand
  15. AnthonyS.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Probably my favorite game. its very fun. it has pretty much no problems!
  16. JamesT.
    Jan 29, 2002
    7
    Good game and graphics but is too short.
  17. Elmo
    Feb 1, 2002
    9
    What a great game. It looks like a dream, plays like one too, but feels like a nightmare. The more you get powers the better you feel about this game. It realy is worth owning.
  18. IshanZ.
    Feb 10, 2002
    10
    I played this game at my friend's house and it was cool!
  19. PsychoMantis
    Feb 20, 2002
    8
    A pretty bad ass game if you ask me, the action is intense and Dante's moves he pulls off are super slick. The graphics in this game are sweet, the sound effects rock your speakers and the music keeps the pace but why did I give it an 8? The storyline (or lack thereof) wasn't very involving, as fun as the game is it lacked depth, also if this were a 2 player game then it would A pretty bad ass game if you ask me, the action is intense and Dante's moves he pulls off are super slick. The graphics in this game are sweet, the sound effects rock your speakers and the music keeps the pace but why did I give it an 8? The storyline (or lack thereof) wasn't very involving, as fun as the game is it lacked depth, also if this were a 2 player game then it would be excellent. Pretty good as is, I don't think I'd go pay 50$ or even 40 for it but its a nice rental, i can't wait for #2. Expand
  20. EmpyriaN6
    Feb 3, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome! I have no idea what kind of retard can say that it's virtually unplayable...You will have learnt a lot of stuff in a mere 20 minutes, and you will be expanding your knowledge as you play. The graphics are astounding and so is the sound. The camera may be a bit annoying sometimes, but this only happens seldomly and it does not ruin the gameplay.
  21. VahagnM.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  22. ZiggyStardust
    May 10, 2002
    7
    The Good: -graphics are very good. the backdrops are breathtaking at times. the bosses look cool too. -it"s fun for a little while. The Bad: -there"s no replay value. once you play this through you"ll never put it in the ps2 again. it will become the most boring game on the planet. -the story is disjointed, and doesn"t make sense. if the story isn"t going to make sense, at least make it The Good: -graphics are very good. the backdrops are breathtaking at times. the bosses look cool too. -it"s fun for a little while. The Bad: -there"s no replay value. once you play this through you"ll never put it in the ps2 again. it will become the most boring game on the planet. -the story is disjointed, and doesn"t make sense. if the story isn"t going to make sense, at least make it complex enough to fool some people like in mgs2 (ha, i"m sure i"ll get some flak for that). -there are far too many of these short survival horror games (onimusha being the shortest! - 3 hours to find all the flourites and explore everything - dammit, i want my money back). it should take you about 10 hours to beat DMC if you die a fair bit (which you likely will - a good thing). -there are yet again massive lip sync problems with a capcom game... surprise surprise. -the sound seems dull (although cool otherwise) - i personally dislike how the enemies respawn. Leave a room for a second and you"ll find all the enemies that you sent to hell have returned. how lame. Expand
  23. Mark
    Feb 27, 2003
    9
    This game is awsome. but once you beat it it gets kind of boring. It is has awsome graphics. thats all i can say now.
  24. CoolDude
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    Brillllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!! but play DMC2 as it is so much better.
  25. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass mother f***er!! I love the smooth movements and the way you use guns and a sword. I love everything about this game ( even Dante). This is definetly a must have game!!
  26. DizzyS.
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    This is one of the greatest games ever made and I don't impress easily the only bad thing is that the franchise was slayed by devil may cry 2 Imean 2 wasnt bad but it wasnt good either capcom needs to bring it all back with 3 I just hpoe they can pull it off because with a game franchise this good it cant just go to waste DMC Rocks.
  27. RyanM.
    May 7, 2004
    10
    Though, now it may be older, it is still an excellent adventure that will leave you all craving more. And sadly the sequel doesn't offer that.
  28. JoshuaS.
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    I don't understand how any true fan of video gaming could NOT appreciate this game. The style, presentation and intense pace of DMC are only matched by the fun to be had in experiencing this game. The bosses and levels strike the perfect balance of acceptable learning curve combined with challenge that keep them from being annoying and frustrating. The fighting system is I don't understand how any true fan of video gaming could NOT appreciate this game. The style, presentation and intense pace of DMC are only matched by the fun to be had in experiencing this game. The bosses and levels strike the perfect balance of acceptable learning curve combined with challenge that keep them from being annoying and frustrating. The fighting system is user-friendly and then some, and the enemies are varied enough to keep the player from becoming bored. Plus--and arguably, most importantly--there is much more than sufficient reason to replay this game more than once or twice as the unlockables are VERY worth it! A triumph to be celebrated and relived again and again!! Expand
  29. JonathanF.
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    By far the best PS2 action game I've played in a while. Although the camera can get a little frustrating at times, Dante attacks with such style and grace that you sometimes think he is one with the sword. It gets a little hard at times . . . but you can forgive it as Dante is just SO DAMN COOL ! ! !
  30. RussH.
    Feb 3, 2006
    9
    Good game..the camara sucks though, stuff attacks you and you can't see it half the time. or you attack things and don't know what you're attacking. Everything else is fun though.
  31. AdamW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, but very low replay value. The cut scenes and Dante's quips are both quite funny and bad ass. Definitely worth a rental. The worst thing about it is that the game can be quite hard for the casual gamer.
  32. MaxP.
    Nov 10, 2001
    10
    Holly f... dat was thge best--hardest f.... game I've ever played in my life....it makes Max Payne look like sh.. iz gotz to pickz upz a playstation 2 just for dmc--grand theft auto 3 and all the other f..... amazing games for PS2.
  33. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2001
    10
    Simply the best game of all time! Everything about this game is absolutely phenomenal. The gameplay is superb, and overall it makes the Resident Evil Series look simply pathetic in comparison. For the one person I know who thought this game was too easy: Piss Off! You're a damn fool, and so is anyone who doesn't love this game.
  34. CharlesG.
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. The graphics are just amazing. I can't believe how much fun it is. This game is so fun, amazing cannot describe it.
  35. BrandonM.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Can you say finally? We all have been waiting for a game such as DMC for quite some years now. The combos rock the matrix style slowdown in mid-air shooting just makes any fan of action movies drool. I say why should I go rent or watch a movie, when I can sit down and play one? p.s. there had better be a sequel.
  36. EnderW.
    Oct 28, 2001
    9
    I think that this is one of the best PS2 games to date. But this game is so hard it will give u gray hair or an ulcer, the reason I didnt give this a 9 is beacuse there are no cheats to help you.
  37. Lodde
    Jan 11, 2002
    9
    Okay, maybe this game is not perfect, but DMC is an awesome game. I've played tons of games, and this one definitely is one of the most exciting to play (especially when in mind-altered states). Screw what everyone is saying about camera angles and storyline, stop knitpicking you pansies! DMC is a necessary action packed addition to any true PS2 gamers's library.
  38. MichelleW.
    Jan 16, 2002
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because it has a lot of action and it really is a great game.
  39. MatM>
    Jan 18, 2002
    10
    Simply amazing!!
  40. B.AnquerT.
    Jan 24, 2002
    10
    Kick Assssssssssssss.
  41. Will
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    Simply put, this game is sweet.
  42. AnonymousMC
    Feb 17, 2002
    9
    tru, the camera angles make it tricky, but DMC is NOT hard. it should take u less than 5 hrs to beat the game if ur good enough. &that's as a first-timer.
    Next Generation is stupid. this game is definitely not too difficult & u can beat it within a few hrs
  43. Serra
    Apr 19, 2002
    9
    Dead Stuff! Muh-ha-ha...DIE! Extremely cool game. Short though. But I so dearly love watchin' blood fly. Not all girls are opposed to violence, after all. I eat dead things.
  44. MikeyC.
    Jun 18, 2002
    9
    Really fast pace my kinda game but it was to short. i beat it two times the first three days i had it. i would have gave it a 7 but he looks like anthony kiedis from the red hot chili peppers the greatest rockstar of all time so ill give it a 9.
  45. FranF.
    Jan 15, 2003
    9
    Capcom has done again with yet another superb game. Take Resident Evil but add more action, better controls and Giger-ish/Bosch environments and you'll be in for the ride of your life. Simply one of THE best games for the PS2. As for difficulty, I didn't find it that hard at all. Compared to RE, it was rather easy so I'm a bit confused as to why people are complaining about Capcom has done again with yet another superb game. Take Resident Evil but add more action, better controls and Giger-ish/Bosch environments and you'll be in for the ride of your life. Simply one of THE best games for the PS2. As for difficulty, I didn't find it that hard at all. Compared to RE, it was rather easy so I'm a bit confused as to why people are complaining about the difficulty. Even the last boss fight only takes a couple trys. Go out and get this game, especially now that it's only $20.00. You could do a hell of a lot worse and probably won't do a heck of a lot better for that pricetag (that is, unless you find SotN for the PSOne and in that case...) Expand
  46. DOMINIQUEB.
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    THIS Game is one one the best games i ever played. man once you play it you will play over and over again. Take my word for it.
  47. Janu
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    This game rocks!! I just love this game because you just slash and chop and rip monsters' brains out!! The gameplay is very good and the grpahics are awesome!! I recommend this to anyone who owns a PS2!! Rent it first, though, because you don't have to listen to me....
  48. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    9
    Spanish comment: Excelente juego. Entretenido, buena historia, realmente vale la pena aun cuando tiene bastante tiempo de hecho....
  49. DaveC.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    Awesome game graphics = 9 gameplay = 10 storyline = 8 sound= 10 overall = 10/10 this game is cool! cool replay value on dante must die mode and loads of extra missions you must be mad or not good enough to cut it as a demon slayer if you dont want to get this game! worth every penny! :P
  50. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2004
    10
    [anynonomys suck chunks and 14 and i love this game oooohhh bad cam angle's cry me a river you cum guzzling gutter slut devil may cry rocks and so does its sequal and plastation mag sucks for sayin it dosent! Devel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel[anynonomys suck chunks and 14 and i love this game oooohhh bad cam angle's cry me a river you cum guzzling gutter slut devil may cry rocks and so does its sequal and plastation mag sucks for sayin it dosent! Devel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocksDevel may cry rocks Expand
  51. Adlai
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    This game really rocks. The graphics is awesome, the fights are really cool(you gotta believe me!!), and the story is different from other games (a demon protagonist, cool right)
  52. Ummm
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass really really hard.
  53. SigurdL.
    Mar 5, 2005
    8
    It's an absolute blast of a game in allmost every way. Although the camera can get annoying sometime, but that is not important when the game is so good. The graphics is perfect in everyway. The difficult level is to hard on normal, that's why it gets two points down with the annoying camera.
  54. MichaelV.
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This is some tight s@#!$ homie. It's a bit short though. ( I beat it in about 6 hours.) It's definitley a worthy purchase. It only costs $9.00! I really enjoyed this game and after you beat it you can go back with every item and move you had when you beat it. Now, if you'll excuse me im gonna go and play through it again.
  55. DavidB.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I love this game and it gets funnier every time you beat it. Yeah it gets easier, but the bosses get harder and that is waht makes it fun.
  56. AnonymousMC
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    This game is off the SHIZNIZE. This game is up there with Madden and thats uo there. I've played one, two, and three, but I haven't seen the fourth one on playtion2. I heard it was only on xbox360, playstaion3,or something like that. If so if you don't mide please put Devil May Cry 4 on playstion2. Ha maybe you have a 5,6,7,8,9,10 and so on coming out and soon. If soThis game is off the SHIZNIZE. This game is up there with Madden and thats uo there. I've played one, two, and three, but I haven't seen the fourth one on playtion2. I heard it was only on xbox360, playstaion3,or something like that. If so if you don't mide please put Devil May Cry 4 on playstion2. Ha maybe you have a 5,6,7,8,9,10 and so on coming out and soon. If so please put that on playstion2. Thanks for taking some time out of your busy schechle. Collapse
  57. ThrdSonofSparda
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    The brilliance of the Sony's PS2 game engine is superbly displayed in this one of a kinda Action game. Forget what those so-called "hard core," gamers would rate this (go play your FPS since thinking is to hard for you), true fans still have it sitting on their shelves and don't consider it a casual game. Where else can you find a wise cracking protagonist who can talk trash The brilliance of the Sony's PS2 game engine is superbly displayed in this one of a kinda Action game. Forget what those so-called "hard core," gamers would rate this (go play your FPS since thinking is to hard for you), true fans still have it sitting on their shelves and don't consider it a casual game. Where else can you find a wise cracking protagonist who can talk trash with the best of the bosses, hack and slash with killer style, has one hell of a family lineage, and still finds time to save the world. This game has amazing graphics to boot, a wonderful story that is not @ all convoluted but straight forward, wicked secret challenges, gr8 fights and oh and did I mention he eats pizza too? Get off your bum and go get this game. That's an order!!! Expand
  58. Cheese3
    Nov 11, 2001
    10
    The monsters in Devil May Cry are very imaginative and very fun to kill. The idea of having a sword and a gun is genious.
  59. GregE.
    Nov 13, 2001
    7
    Horrible camera hinders an otherwise flawless game.
  60. StevenC.
    Nov 19, 2001
    10
    3rd favorite, and can you pleas send me some codes, really need it for blue creek apartment. Thanks, Steven.
  61. FaithMoonStone
    Nov 27, 2001
    10
    I would give this game a 100 but i can`t... this gave is so cool. You get different guns and swords and you go through missions and you get more life by getting blue stones... this is an awesome game! There better be a sequel!!!
  62. BrandonW.
    Nov 4, 2001
    10
    This game is just plain fun. There are a few issues with camera and difficulty, but they rarely detract from the overall experience.
  63. PatrickM.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    Wow. Devil May Cry is a shining example of what next-generation gaming is all about. Beautiful graphics, tight control, and clever game design. If you own a PS2, buy this game. If not, this may be the reason to pick one up!
  64. MichaelQ.
    Dec 14, 2001
    10
    Add I feel Mr. Tickle should be beat. I've only played the demo, and I couldn't get enough. All must play this game, and THIS game has turned into the reason I really, really want a PS2.
  65. KyleB.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    This game was both fun and frustriating. The graphics were some of the best I have seen, and the game play was great. The weapons though limited were great and were fun to use such as the pistols. But Dante still pissed me off! He was built up with all this attitude but he fell for the girl, that is a boring. They fall in love and the main thing that attracts him to her is the fact she This game was both fun and frustriating. The graphics were some of the best I have seen, and the game play was great. The weapons though limited were great and were fun to use such as the pistols. But Dante still pissed me off! He was built up with all this attitude but he fell for the girl, that is a boring. They fall in love and the main thing that attracts him to her is the fact she looks like his mom. The enemies look nice and there are a wide range of original ones, The back grounds look very good and the bosses are huge! The challange can become a bit overwhelming. The difficulty Dante Must Die! should have come with a free control coupon because you will through the control a couple times. But overall this is a good game worth buying. Expand
  66. D'strueself
    Jul 18, 2002
    10
    ...Nevermind.
  67. JamesN.
    Jul 21, 2002
    10
    I liked that game it's Adventure & Action. I like it because you have to figure things out. It's like a mystery you find things and you put something in and something starts to happen there would be some new creature and you have to fight them then can get passed them. I was wondering are you going make Devil May Cry 2? If they did I would rent it or buy then quickly.
  68. VahagnM.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Best game ever.
  69. SteveW.
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    An Awesome Game That You Can Play Again And Again And Never Get Bored Of Altho No Game Is Perfect And I Have To Say That This Game Is Way To Hard Its Like Normal Is Hard And Easy-auto Is Normal Geez And The Camara Gets Anoying When Fightin Nightmare Especially Kool Game , To Hard!
  70. Taj
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Great game. Offered the best in the action genre at it's time.
  71. Dante
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    S'aright.
  72. ShauniJ.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    It is a great game but needed more secrets and unlockables. other than that it is enjoyable. (Great when you had a bad day,you can unleash your anger) :)
  73. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best game ever made. This game is simply amazing; great control, great graphics, great gameplay, and the perfect difficulty level. It was a work of genius and everyone who owns a PS2 should own it.
  74. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    The starting kick for a great innovation in the action genre - purely brilliant.
  75. DanteVSKratosP.
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Devil May Cry 1: 3 word sums it up This Game Rock's GamePlay: Street Fighter (Best Game Play Ever) Theme: Castlevania or RE (Gothic Casttle Sweet) Sound: Realistic Sound Track: Great Music sets mood the game Story Line: Better than any other name one Action game Name one Action Game that combines fanstasy& Great game Play yeah you say God of War I agree that bad A** game but Devil Devil May Cry 1: 3 word sums it up This Game Rock's GamePlay: Street Fighter (Best Game Play Ever) Theme: Castlevania or RE (Gothic Casttle Sweet) Sound: Realistic Sound Track: Great Music sets mood the game Story Line: Better than any other name one Action game Name one Action Game that combines fanstasy& Great game Play yeah you say God of War I agree that bad A** game but Devil May Cry came frist and but to me Devil May Cry : Best Action Gothic Game God of War: Best Action Medieval Game These two Games are both best of best stop Hating on either one games both are best of best period. To me this two neck to neck for me no one like one better than other but Devil May Cry came frist remember that! Expand
  76. seungp
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    This game is great. It really made way for stylish hack-n-slash action games to follow, in my opinion. However, I have some issues with its difficulty selection. It's way too hard on normal difficulty, and way too easy on easy automatic mode. They should have balanced out difficulty modes more gradually because the first few missions are very hard for someone who is new. If that This game is great. It really made way for stylish hack-n-slash action games to follow, in my opinion. However, I have some issues with its difficulty selection. It's way too hard on normal difficulty, and way too easy on easy automatic mode. They should have balanced out difficulty modes more gradually because the first few missions are very hard for someone who is new. If that makes the player give up and go down to easy automatic mode, it will be too easy and ruin the experience. Dante is a likable character. However his personality seems to change drastically from every release of sequel, probably because the development team changed frequently. I feel like its makers butchered this series by releasing 2 bad games (2 and 4) and not being smart about preserving Dante's personality. Dante in this game is not like anything you'll see in other DMC games. He is depicted as an outcast who longs for parental reminisces in a post-modern world that also has gothic elements and mythical monsters. As an unique setting as it is, it blends well with the style the game strives for, and the product is a masterpiece that reinvented its genre in early 2000's. There are other issues in the game as well, however. Camera can vary from being an annoyance to the main source of frustration, depending on the player. Dante's motifs are also very generic so it makes the tidbits of story the game contains even more shallow. Cutscenes are sometimes cool, but other times silly and even embarassing from time to time as Dante shows off or makes comments that would have been left unsaid. Overall, however, it is a great action game, and 8 is a high rating that I believe it deserves. Expand
  77. DonnieF.
    Nov 21, 2001
    9
    Aside from some odd camera angles, this game is probably the best game out there for ps2, nothing can come close to it.
  78. ShawnJ.
    Dec 16, 2001
    9
    DMC is amazing! The story line/plot is very cool and pulls you deeper into the gameplay. I gave DMC a 9 for the simple fact that they don't have a sequel out... I need my fix!
  79. Dantesparda416
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I give this game an 11 out of a 10 it is perfect in every way. awesome graphics, cool ass music, dante can do awsome techniques like changing into a devil. the one draw back is that you cant change into sparda in regular mode........oh if anyone finds devil may cry midis please e-mail it to me. dont forget devil may cry 2 is coming out this winter dont miss this one.
  80. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Great game a True classic in a industry clouted with crap. and to the guy who said he beat it in 6 hours try normal or hard dont rag on it b/c u played on baby skill level. one game i'll never give up
  81. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Devil May Cry is a superb hack and slash action game that kept me entertained throughout its campaign. The graphics are great with nicely detailed character models and textures. The atmosphere is very hellish; dark, cold and sometimes chilly and scary. DMC offers the player a chance to play as a half devil, half human devil hunter called Dante who is badass and transverse through a numberDevil May Cry is a superb hack and slash action game that kept me entertained throughout its campaign. The graphics are great with nicely detailed character models and textures. The atmosphere is very hellish; dark, cold and sometimes chilly and scary. DMC offers the player a chance to play as a half devil, half human devil hunter called Dante who is badass and transverse through a number of levels - or missions - mostly hacking and slashing his way through hoards of enemies using his trusty sword and ranged weapons which seems simple enough. I love the way that you play as this near invincible character blowing everyone to bits, shooting unlimited grenade launcher rounds and the fact that you're in control of a powerful character (although you can still die). The frame rate is pretty stable and that's a good achievement as there can be a lot happening at once on screen. Combat is fast paced and flows smoothly as you hack and slash with a good selection of combos to learn which keeps the gameplay fresh.These combos are very accessible as you mostly only use the circle button to slash your sword. This is a game in which the controls are great but I do find the fact that the jump button is the triangle button and the cross button is the action button; I would have thought that it would have been the other way round but you'll get used to it. There are a couple of diversions from the excellent over the top action in which Dante may need to grab an item and bring it to a specific place. There are a variety of enemies to fight and their design fits in the dark horrifying world. Some enemies do require a bit of strategy to defeat as you can't just simply demolish them by pressing circle. To mix into the gameplay, Dante has got a couple of items to help out. Holy Water will grant Dante the ability to destroy every enemy on screen at that time - or take a chunk of a bosses health bar off, and Vital Star restores Dante's health. To stay alive and deal more damage, it's recommended that you would use them in combat. An excellent action game should have some tough as nails boss battles and thankfully, this game has just that. Each has their own attack pattern and require patience to take down. Dante has access to the "devil trigger." When Dante has enough devil trigger (or what ever you call them) symbols, he can go into a devil like state for a brief moment and deal more damage and take little damage himself. I find this awesome when you gain access to this. They are really fun to fight and are the highlight of the game, especially the final boss fight which will go down as the most EPIC boss fight I have encountered. The music - OMG - is awesome with a mixture of techno and orchestra while your battling through; the bosses have their own unique music which are superb to listen to. DMC uses a life system where if you die, you lose a life. The game gives you a chance to save your progress if you complete a mission. Fair enough but if you lose all of your lives, you have to reload your previously saved game which is a pain as it takes a couple of seconds to reload your saved data. Another problem is the camera can be a pain in the arse as it can't be adjusted and it can point in a direction where you don't want it to point; sometimes it can get you killed as off screen as you maybe hit by a projectile or lunge attack that you didn't see coming. Finally, even though there are 5 main bosses in the game, you have to fight 4 of them 3 times on 3 separate confrontations and each confrontation only offers very minor alterations to how they attack so it can get quite repetitive having to fight just one boss 3 times.
    DMC is an excellent hack and slash action game which is easy to play but tough as nails. Buy it as it's very cheap pre-owned now on PlayStation 2.
    Expand
  82. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This game was very refreshing when it came out, very few game had the style and flair this game came packed with. Too bad so many developers have tried to copy this formula unsuccessfully and degenerated the genre over the years.
  83. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best PS2 games out there, a must play, the graphics are great, and the soundtrack is can be haunting at times, and the controls are spot on, and if your looking for a real challenge play this on the harder difficulties and your in for one challenging time, it's fairly short it can be beat in about 4-5 hours on the easiest difficulty, but during that time your completelyThis is one of the best PS2 games out there, a must play, the graphics are great, and the soundtrack is can be haunting at times, and the controls are spot on, and if your looking for a real challenge play this on the harder difficulties and your in for one challenging time, it's fairly short it can be beat in about 4-5 hours on the easiest difficulty, but during that time your completely immersed in this cool experience, combat is fast and fun, you have swords, guns, and demonic powers at your disposal to fight your enemies, and the game does a good job at steadily introducing new enemies and weapons, and it shakes things up from the traditional third person levels by adding some first person underwater levels, and some on the rails shooting segments, and has one awesome 3 part final boss fight, my only complaints are that the platforming sections are overly frustrating, and that it can sometimes be hard to figure out where your supposed to go or what your supposed to do when you get there, but this is still a must play, definitely one of the best PS2 games you'll play. Expand
  84. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    It's always very difficult to review a game so long after its release as for every one title that still stands up today there are a whole host that don't. Perhaps had I played Devil May Cry back in 2001 (rather than in 2013!) I might have enjoyed it more but a decade’s worth of advancements in video games means that, whilst I can appreciate its influence, I simply did not enjoy the time IIt's always very difficult to review a game so long after its release as for every one title that still stands up today there are a whole host that don't. Perhaps had I played Devil May Cry back in 2001 (rather than in 2013!) I might have enjoyed it more but a decade’s worth of advancements in video games means that, whilst I can appreciate its influence, I simply did not enjoy the time I spent on it.

    A poor camera that often leaves you staring at a wall, a lack of signposting leading to moments of wandering around aimlessly wondering where you are supposed to go and fighting mechanics which simply aren't as satisfying as more modern efforts in the genre (such as Bayonetta) all show the games age. As a result I wouldn't recommend it to anyone other than perhaps those that were fans of the game when it was first released.
    Expand
  85. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Devil may cry is the definition of an stylish action game. It has good graphics and great action but could have been better. Devil May Cry 3 is way better.
  86. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    No one ever made a game like this, best adventure game EVER. It was a new game in a new era, NAMCO with this Dante you tried to create a DEVIL but you didn't notice that you were creating a GOD.
  87. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    One of the best game that PS2 can offer. Cool story, good characters and a awesome soundtrack. The graphics is like a game for PS1 and the gameplay has some bugs.
  88. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    In earlier stages this game was Re4. When you play the game you can see the similarities. Isn't that cool! Anyway, this was one of the first A-list titles to be released for PS2. The premise is similar to the Resident Evil series, but streamlined. The game features fixed camera angles, spooky fantasized environments, keys and switches, and lots of stylish acton. Dante is a bad ass and I'mIn earlier stages this game was Re4. When you play the game you can see the similarities. Isn't that cool! Anyway, this was one of the first A-list titles to be released for PS2. The premise is similar to the Resident Evil series, but streamlined. The game features fixed camera angles, spooky fantasized environments, keys and switches, and lots of stylish acton. Dante is a bad ass and I'm sure this game started the 3rd person action trend on PS2 (God of War, etc). If you haven't played it you are missing out. Expand
  89. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    "Devil May Cry" is cited as one of the most influential video games of all time. Released 11 years ago, it marked the beginning of a sub-genre of action titles with an emphasis on fast-paced, stylized combat. Sony's "God of War" and Team Ninja's "Ninja Gaiden" are two games that borrowed much from DMC. Originally planned as a "Resident Evil" installment, "Devil May Cry" casts players as"Devil May Cry" is cited as one of the most influential video games of all time. Released 11 years ago, it marked the beginning of a sub-genre of action titles with an emphasis on fast-paced, stylized combat. Sony's "God of War" and Team Ninja's "Ninja Gaiden" are two games that borrowed much from DMC. Originally planned as a "Resident Evil" installment, "Devil May Cry" casts players as Dante, a demon hunter armed with a giant sword and twin-pistols. Approached by a mysterious woman named Trish, Dante accepts a job offer to prevent the return of the demon emperor Mundus. The game mainly takes place inside a Gothic castle filled with supernatural monsters and puzzle rooms. In that sense, DMC resembles a "Castlevania" game as well as "Resident Evil". But the extreme difficulty and fast, stylish action is what really sets it apart. This is a Capcom production that ranks up with "Mega Man", "Street Fighter II" and "Resident Evil" as one of the company's best games. A true classic. Expand
  90. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    The game that started it all. Style and combat all in a small package. Devil May Cry took the Hack and Slash and Action genre and turned it up to 11.

    Originally considered a spinoff of the Resident Evil series, it became bigger after E3 and was announced as its own series. It follows the Devil Hunter; Dante as he tries to find the truth out behind his mothers murder. Now a recently
    The game that started it all. Style and combat all in a small package. Devil May Cry took the Hack and Slash and Action genre and turned it up to 11.

    Originally considered a spinoff of the Resident Evil series, it became bigger after E3 and was announced as its own series. It follows the Devil Hunter; Dante as he tries to find the truth out behind his mothers murder.

    Now a recently bought the HD collection pack and some of the combat didn't age quite as well as my nostalgia goggles would of liked to remember, but it was also released in 2001, that is 13 years ago, but still the game play is channeling and rewarding.

    As Dante you have a Devil Arm (sword/melee weapon) and gun at your disposal at all times. The guns have unlimited ammo, and its because hes a devil himself of course! You'll need both as you cut your way though hordes of demons and bosses to reach your final goal.

    Combat is simple (compared to its sequels) but gratifying. You'll execute combos and get ranked on combat on a ranking system D-S. At the end of each chapter you will get a final rank on combos, time and damage take with score reduction on items used. This was brand new and gave a huge amount of replay value to the game, always wanting to go back and do that one chapter better or faster. Later games in the series actually had leader boards so that you could match yourself to other people on the internet to see how well you did. This took a single playthou game to multiple playthous easily.

    Bosses are amazing, but can get repetitive as you see the multiple times throughout the game before you're finally able to take them down. Also on later difficulties you may see them even more often depending on how long it takes you to defeat each boss.

    Characters in this game is amazing. Dante is a total badass. Hes a bit more serious in the first game then in 3 or 4, but he still will have his witty remarks. Trish who resembles your mother is pretty mysterious, you wont find out much about her until later on in the game.

    Environment and enemy design is dark and unique. You'll find yourself fighting anything for marionettes to shadows and everything in between. They did a good job with the variety of the enemies. The final battle is breathe taking and its in a multipart fight.

    Overall this is an amazing game, a must play for any action fans.
    Expand
  91. Aug 18, 2015
    9
    Jackpot! Whew, for a second I thought the protagonist was going to be named 'Tony'... Dante it is. Thank God!
    I have nothing to say about this game, bosses are hard, yet rewarding. Regular demons are tough as well. The main protagonist is a treat to be controlling as he is both humorous and powerful. The only reason I will not be giving this game a perfect score is because uhhhh...
    Jackpot! Whew, for a second I thought the protagonist was going to be named 'Tony'... Dante it is. Thank God!
    I have nothing to say about this game, bosses are hard, yet rewarding. Regular demons are tough as well. The main protagonist is a treat to be controlling as he is both humorous and powerful. The only reason I will not be giving this game a perfect score is because uhhhh... Resident Evil reborn (Story). The lack of a compelling story is this game's only let-down. The style meter is certainly unique and rewarding while the combat and the upgrading system are a world on their own. Overall this is an excellent game and I would recommend it to anyone, fan or not of the genre. 9/10. Excellent Game!
    Expand
  92. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    A devil Hunter that never gets touched by any means? well thats Dante, he's a badass, and kills with skills and style. The story is simple, with a lot of fun, the combos feels solid and responsive. I wish they do a HD remake for the Playstation 3 or Xbox 360.
  93. BenN.
    Mar 15, 2003
    6
    A good game at the end of the day, consider buying it but it does get a little boring and you could be playing it all day thinking it's the best game and before you know it you don't wanna play it anymore, also there is boss after boss which gets very annoying knowing all your hard work in beating them is rewarded with an even harder boss, very annoying!
  94. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2001
    0
    I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to have bought that one!
  95. Uter
    May 27, 2003
    4
    One of video gamings greatest mysteries is why this DMC is actually liked by some people. I really don't get it. I bought the game, didn't like it, beat it anyway, and then sold it.
  96. D.
    Jan 1, 2002
    6
    Good Graphix and game play, but.. not near enough devil trigger weapons, and WAY to easy, I beat this game in 2 days or about 6 hours. I like a little something more complex than get item put in slot.. over and over and over, a freggin baby could beat this game no problem.
  97. AladdinS.
    Jan 8, 2002
    5
    I was extremely disappointed with DMC. After seeing all the 10s people were giving it I thought it would be good. The graphics and sound are nice, but that's the only thing I like about it. Bad story, bad camera, simplistic controls, lame RPG elements, short, and not many different enemies. I also hate how enemies respawn. Revisit a room and it will once again be swamping with I was extremely disappointed with DMC. After seeing all the 10s people were giving it I thought it would be good. The graphics and sound are nice, but that's the only thing I like about it. Bad story, bad camera, simplistic controls, lame RPG elements, short, and not many different enemies. I also hate how enemies respawn. Revisit a room and it will once again be swamping with enemies. Agh, just thinking about this game makes me literally sick to my stomach. It's got to be the most overrated game in history. Expand
  98. HardcoreGamer
    Dec 27, 2002
    3
    Let me start out by saying that after I 1st played DMC I came away impressed. The graphics were tight, and the gameplay seemed fun. But my attitude quickly changed to one of disgust and boredom. Mostly I was disgusted with why I purchased such a bad game. Let me explain. DMC seriously lacks interesting gameplay. There are a special attack moves, but why do them when repeatedly pressing 1 Let me start out by saying that after I 1st played DMC I came away impressed. The graphics were tight, and the gameplay seemed fun. But my attitude quickly changed to one of disgust and boredom. Mostly I was disgusted with why I purchased such a bad game. Let me explain. DMC seriously lacks interesting gameplay. There are a special attack moves, but why do them when repeatedly pressing 1 or 2 buttons is so much more effective? The story is some kind of moronic joke. Short video sequences happen now and then. They remind me of Tekken Tag Tournament endings; nothing ever really happens and none of them link together to form any kind of cohesive story. Sorry to say it, but if you like DMC you are probably relatively new to gaming, or easily entertained. Expand
  99. D
    Jun 27, 2002
    6
    Graphics (9/10) Audio (8/10) Story(2/10) Gameplay(8/10) Replay Value(3/10) The Graphics, Music and sound effects, and core gameplay all truly kick ass in this game, the reason i rated it a 6 overall though is because id rather spend 50$ elsewhere where i can actually buy a game with a longer lasting life. This game has very small replay value (I thought) once through is enough, and it is Graphics (9/10) Audio (8/10) Story(2/10) Gameplay(8/10) Replay Value(3/10) The Graphics, Music and sound effects, and core gameplay all truly kick ass in this game, the reason i rated it a 6 overall though is because id rather spend 50$ elsewhere where i can actually buy a game with a longer lasting life. This game has very small replay value (I thought) once through is enough, and it is a fairly short game, unfortunately. The gameplay is great, fast and action packed, but there isnt enough of it. Also the story was pretty much nothing. I did finish the game, so im not totally biased in my thinking it had a crap story. Rent it before you buy it, after you beat it (the game that is) and you think youll still have fun with it a month later then go for a purchase, it just wasnt for me. Expand
  100. Daniel
    Feb 18, 2003
    4
    The game has excellent graphics, but it lacks any sense of a good story line. The enemies you encounter are few and there AI level is somewhat low. (Meaning they are really stupid). Same with bosses. Just figure out their fighting pattern and you got them. Many people are easily swayed to like the game due to its graphics. However, as you progress through the game it can get a little old. The game has excellent graphics, but it lacks any sense of a good story line. The enemies you encounter are few and there AI level is somewhat low. (Meaning they are really stupid). Same with bosses. Just figure out their fighting pattern and you got them. Many people are easily swayed to like the game due to its graphics. However, as you progress through the game it can get a little old. Suggest renting first since the game is relatively short. I rented it and beat it in 4 days. And I was not playing it none stop either. The game just did not fill my expectations. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  2. A groundbreaking title that takes the genre in a new and exciting direction. Capcom has once again managed to breathe life into a genre that had been stuck in something of a rut of late.
  3. I don't say such things lightly, but this is easily one of the best games I've ever played. Everywhere I look, I find more things I want to praise about this title.