• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avengeIn a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avenge mankind. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    Perhaps the coolest evolution of the survival horror series yet, even besting "Onimusha Warlords," without breaking a sweat.
  2. 100
    Quite possibly the game of the year – if you liked "Onimusha," then Devil May Cry will definitely possess you.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  4. Control wise, this setup is a major improvement over the stiff and cumbersome control scheme of RE series. Everything moves swiftly, smoothly, with dead on response to your button action.
  5. 92
    The fastest, sexiest, loudest, and, like all things spawned from the bowels of hell, intensely addictive assault on your senses to hit the PS2 thus far.
  6. Above all else, this game is spooky, stylish and most importantly, fun from beginning to end.
  7. While camera problems are nothing new, Devil May Cry's biggest flaw is that it ends too quickly. Thus, its biggest strength is also its biggest weakness: the fast-paced nature of the game makes it easier to finish.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 126
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemyVery fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. VahagnM.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  3. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass mother f***er!! I love the smooth movements and the way you use guns and a sword. I love everything about this game ( even Dante). This is definetly a must have game!! Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Un juego clásico que, de seguro, marcó un antes y un después en el mundo de los videojuegos.
    Acción sólida y divertida, gráficos
    Un juego clásico que, de seguro, marcó un antes y un después en el mundo de los videojuegos.
    Acción sólida y divertida, gráficos impresionantes para la época y una historia que vale la pena disfrutar
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    The game that started it all. Style and combat all in a small package. Devil May Cry took the Hack and Slash and Action genre and turned it upThe game that started it all. Style and combat all in a small package. Devil May Cry took the Hack and Slash and Action genre and turned it up to 11.

    Originally considered a spinoff of the Resident Evil series, it became bigger after E3 and was announced as its own series. It follows the Devil Hunter; Dante as he tries to find the truth out behind his mothers murder.

    Now a recently bought the HD collection pack and some of the combat didn't age quite as well as my nostalgia goggles would of liked to remember, but it was also released in 2001, that is 13 years ago, but still the game play is channeling and rewarding.

    As Dante you have a Devil Arm (sword/melee weapon) and gun at your disposal at all times. The guns have unlimited ammo, and its because hes a devil himself of course! You'll need both as you cut your way though hordes of demons and bosses to reach your final goal.

    Combat is simple (compared to its sequels) but gratifying. You'll execute combos and get ranked on combat on a ranking system D-S. At the end of each chapter you will get a final rank on combos, time and damage take with score reduction on items used. This was brand new and gave a huge amount of replay value to the game, always wanting to go back and do that one chapter better or faster. Later games in the series actually had leader boards so that you could match yourself to other people on the internet to see how well you did. This took a single playthou game to multiple playthous easily.

    Bosses are amazing, but can get repetitive as you see the multiple times throughout the game before you're finally able to take them down. Also on later difficulties you may see them even more often depending on how long it takes you to defeat each boss.

    Characters in this game is amazing. Dante is a total badass. Hes a bit more serious in the first game then in 3 or 4, but he still will have his witty remarks. Trish who resembles your mother is pretty mysterious, you wont find out much about her until later on in the game.

    Environment and enemy design is dark and unique. You'll find yourself fighting anything for marionettes to shadows and everything in between. They did a good job with the variety of the enemies. The final battle is breathe taking and its in a multipart fight.

    Overall this is an amazing game, a must play for any action fans.
    Expand
  6. MichelleW.
    Jan 16, 2002
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because it has a lot of action and it really is a great game.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2001
    0
    I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to have bought that one! Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001