• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 539 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avengeIn a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avenge mankind. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    Perhaps the coolest evolution of the survival horror series yet, even besting "Onimusha Warlords," without breaking a sweat.
  2. 100
    Quite possibly the game of the year – if you liked "Onimusha," then Devil May Cry will definitely possess you.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  4. Control wise, this setup is a major improvement over the stiff and cumbersome control scheme of RE series. Everything moves swiftly, smoothly, with dead on response to your button action.
  5. 92
    The fastest, sexiest, loudest, and, like all things spawned from the bowels of hell, intensely addictive assault on your senses to hit the PS2 thus far.
  6. Above all else, this game is spooky, stylish and most importantly, fun from beginning to end.
  7. While camera problems are nothing new, Devil May Cry's biggest flaw is that it ends too quickly. Thus, its biggest strength is also its biggest weakness: the fast-paced nature of the game makes it easier to finish.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 127
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemyVery fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. VahagnM.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  3. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass mother f***er!! I love the smooth movements and the way you use guns and a sword. I love everything about this game ( even Dante). This is definetly a must have game!! Expand
  4. May 20, 2014
    9
    The best shooting & sword fighting hybrid I have ever seen while also shows some of the best graphics and character models of the year. It'sThe best shooting & sword fighting hybrid I have ever seen while also shows some of the best graphics and character models of the year. It's music fits perfectly with the game's style then the acting it's simple but the cut scenes are amazing. The only things that I hate is the part that you go to space which is bad and the camera ruined some moments and I also wish that I could have been a little longer. My review to the Fifth best game of the year 9.0005. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2015
    9
    This game is, as far as action beat-em-up titles go, a fantastic game. It's worth noting that, despite what I say in this review, this game isThis game is, as far as action beat-em-up titles go, a fantastic game. It's worth noting that, despite what I say in this review, this game is worth buying and playing. However, most consumers know this, so I'm going to point out a few of the game's flaws, and what people should be prepared for before buying this game. I will often compare this game to Resident Evil 4 in my review, for the reason that DMC started off as RE4 in development, but became its own game when Capcom thought that it was straying too far from what Resident Evil traditionally was. Despite this, DMC uses many of the same stylistic choices as RE4, making any similarities notable (especially considering that both games are amazing). The fighting system is fast and easily picked up. I love that I was able to play this game without many forced tutorials. However, this game should be played with the mindset of playing a Resident Evil game, meaning that you should CHECK EVERYTHING. In the first room of the initial castle area, there was a door that, judging by a glowing aura, appeared to be sealed. When you approach it, a hand comes out of the wall and attempts to damage you. So, it took me a while to figure out that you had to interact with the door and use red souls to unlock it. This is where a short tutorial would have been nice. Furthermore, the game controls can feel cumbersome when it comes to generally moving around. Because, in each room, there are certain boundaries where, once you walk across them, the ENTIRE camera angle shifts. This is arbitrary in most cases, but it can become quite an annoyance when trying to complete timed puzzles where there are several sudden camera shifts, as you often end up accidentally reversing direction and going back to the previous camera angle, causing you to fail reaching the end of the puzzle before time runs out. This is where Resident Evil 4 is superior, having a mix between third and first person. This allowed the camera to shift smoothly and comfortably. However, it should be said that DMC made that sacrifice in exchange for faster, more comfortable controls, where RE4 could feel stiff, despite the camera. As for progression, the game is divided into individual chapters, each consisting of a single short mission that usually has one objective, whereas Resident Evil 4 was divided into chapters that consisted of multiple strings of objectives. With this aspect, Devil May Cry would have been better off using save points scattered throughout the world, rather than only being able to save at the end of each mission. This can break the flow of play, but is otherwise harmless. The main character, Dante, is cool calm and tough, but is generally disconnected. If you weren't playing as him, it'd be hard to care about him. What you do know about his past (which you're told through bulky exposition) only serves the purpose of giving him some motivation, but oftentimes it seems unused. When Dante comes across any demon working for the main villain (who you know killed his mother....no that's not a spoiler, you find out pretty early on), Dante seems more concerned with acting cool and cocky, rather than angry and vengeful, as one might expect. Most of the story and characters operate on a throwaway, cliched plot that offers little. So, DMC should not be played for its story, but rather for its amazing gameplay. Expand
  6. Elmo
    Feb 1, 2002
    9
    What a great game. It looks like a dream, plays like one too, but feels like a nightmare. The more you get powers the better you feel about What a great game. It looks like a dream, plays like one too, but feels like a nightmare. The more you get powers the better you feel about this game. It realy is worth owning. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2001
    0
    I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to have bought that one! Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001