• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brace yourself, the Digimon are back and they’re ready for another adventure! All access to the Real World has been terminated, security has been breached, and in the process of the investigation a new mysterious world has been discovered. It's up to you, the Digital Security Guard to investigate and bring peace back to the Digital World. Play as the most popular Digimon from the TV series. Featuring a new enhanced battle system, with real-time battles. Unlock special Digivolved Digimon by mastering skills and techniques. [Bandai] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. 61
    It has a wholly unsatisfying single-player game, made worse by a clunky camera and overly cheap enemies. It's also unbalanced, leaving players without any compatriots out in the cold.
  2. A poor imitation of a solid RPG. It plays like a knock off. On one hand I'm glad to see that Digimon is changing its direction but on the other hand I have a finger that can't wait to press the Off button.
  3. A frustrating slog of an action RPG for solo gamers, Digimon World 4 gains a little pep in four-way multiplayer mode. But only just. [Nov 2005, p.129]
  4. This may please whatever contingency there is of fans who still keep up with Bandai's answer to Pokémon, but for everyone else this is just a slapdash action RPG that seems more intent on punishing players with clumsy, tedious gameplay than actually engaging, or maybe even entertaining, them.
  5. I really tried to understand the appeal of Digimon, but the bland little scamps just rub me the wrong way. Digimon World 4 won't convert anyone who doesn't already get it.
  6. 40
    Where the colorful Pokemon games are finely polished and well-oiled machines, Digimon World 4 feels like a junker thrown together out of rusty spare parts.
  7. The difficulty curve does level off after a while, but the sheer boredom of the endless hit-and-run battles does not. [Sept 2005, p.75]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. JaredP.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    I thought it was a cute game I'm 13 but I still like it even the older ones like 1,2,3 they were all good because they offer a challenge and take forever to beat. Expand
  2. AlexanderD.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    I think Digimon world 4 should be 100% 10 out of 10 because the game uses weapons and it also digivolves and use a weapon too unlike the other digimon world/rumble arena games! Expand
  3. JuanD.
    Jan 24, 2006
    8
    The interphase between scenarios takes to much time.
  4. BonbonAliano
    Aug 6, 2005
    5
    Personally, I'm not a fan of Digimon. But, I think that the 1st "Digimon World" for the old PlayStation is better than the new versions. Why they make it worse? Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    2
    A horrendously bad game. I haven't played any other Digimon World games, but I don't think I want to. There is a lot of information needed to be known by the player in terms of stats, equipment, spells, etc. However, the game does an atrocious job of teaching it to you. Learning the rules of the game is optional and forces you to talk to rooms filled of tutorial-elves. Combat is ridiculous. Your character swings your sword with the same animation over and over, causing sword-fighting to look goofy and ineffective. Level structure is abominable. There are no save points, meaning every time you die you have restart from the main hub. This presents forced back-tracking, making traversing through the world repetitive. If the game was easy, this wouldn't be such a big problem. The enemies take a massive amount of hits, barely drop health-restoring items, are more agile than you, and respawn constantly. The game is designed to be played with four people, but more often than not you'll be playing alone or with one other person. One could rationalize that you can buy healing items, but they are ridiculously overpriced. Not only that, but whenever you die you loose all of your money. You can revive your past-self to regain your money, but reviving requires an item that is rarely dropped by enemies. Digimon World 4 is a giant mess of missed-direction, confusion, and frustration. The story is non-existent, the gameplay is shallow and poorly executed, the mechanics are unexplained and confusing. It could possibly be the worst game I've ever played. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    2
    This game is garbage.
  7. StephenC.
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    this game is for 5 year olds who have no other games who would torture 4 friends by making them play this game.

See all 8 User Reviews