Dino Stalker PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Sep 9, 2002
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Get used to the controls and don't even think about quitting until you've reached the third or fourth level. By that time, you won't want to quit playing, and will be glad you took my advice.
  2. Game Informer
    73
    Makes some strides in the genre, but it seems like the company didn't finish the job. [Oct 2002, p.85]
  3. Though Dino Stalker features all the relevant gore and shocks of Capcom’s classic survival horror games (and is proud to say so) the slow gameplay, limited freedom and short lifespan puts the survival of Dino Stalker in doubt.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The most innovative light gun game in years - for better and for worse. [Oct 2002, p.140]
  5. 60
    It's just difficult for the game to be fun enough to surmount the great, big, monstrous control problem the concept inherently carries.
  6. 60
    Misfires slightly as a stand-alone first-person shooter, as it's not deep enough to warrant too much replay. But in connection with the Guncon2, the game outshines any recent competitors.
  7. As a light-gun game it’s too awkward and as a FPS it’s just too damn slow and unresponsive.
  8. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    55
    Despite its adventure game pretentions, Dino still suffers from annoying time limits and short overall length. [Oct 2002, p.179]
  9. PSM Magazine
    50
    A carpel-tunnel-syndrome-inducing experiment that may just make you more sore and bored than upbeat and happy. [Oct 2002, p.40]
  10. Gets brownie points for being curious and backing up that curiosity with a shoot-a-thon conventional-enough to be otherwise average-at-best.
  11. 50
    Aside from the horribly awkward controls, Dino Stalker suffers from what can best be described as a lack of inspiration.
  12. A frustrating mess of a game.
  13. 40
    A hodge-podge of first-person shooter aspects, smashed into the middle of a slow-ass adventure, using the light gun, and with a story that is about as fresh as a McDonalds Cheeseburger on a slow Sunday.
  14. Has problems galore, most noticeably in the controls, and to be perfectly frank: it’s just not fun to play.
  15. Play Magazine
    40
    This idea just doesn't work. [Aug 2002, p.71]
  16. If the dinos don't kill you, our weapon system might.
  17. Lets you blast up dinosaurs, but its attempt to mix full control of the character plus fast-paced shooting ends up less than average.
  18. GameNow
    25
    Too short, too easy, and too tedious. [Oct 2002]

Awards & Rankings

#42 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jan 3, 2017
    7
    Personally I think a review score of 50% is pretty harsh. I wonder if the reviewers played the game with a guncon?? I found this gamePersonally I think a review score of 50% is pretty harsh. I wonder if the reviewers played the game with a guncon?? I found this game enjoyable but not mind blowing. One must realize this game is quite outdated and in my opinion its a fun game but does have some annoyances. The game is relatively short, only 7 stages and each can be beat in less than 10 minutes however the stages are challenging enough and different from each other. The frustration in this game comes in repeating each level if you fail. It can get extremely boring retrying right back from the very start of the chapter. As well if you beat a level, replaying the game there is little challenge in figuring out how to get through the game again once you know what finally works. Apart from that the game is a light gun game and does a decent job being one. The theme is a little out there but the game works to do what it needs to do. There's nothing magical about the game but is is a decent game that in my opinion deserves a 7. Although the game is pretty easy to finish in a day the replay value is in trying to get higher and higher scores in each stage. I'm not much into replaying for better scores, but this is where one would need to find value in this game as overall that is it's old school design. Full Review »
  2. JimmyB.
    Dec 2, 2004
    8
    I ve played many lightgun games and the least you can say is that this one stands out. + the dinos actually have an AI ( except for the I ve played many lightgun games and the least you can say is that this one stands out. + the dinos actually have an AI ( except for the bosses they re as dumb as an horses ass) + the controll system : At first you think what the f*ck but you get used to it easily and I want to congratulate capcom for comming up with this unique system. - the games is quite short - the bosses are no challenge endnote If you have played about a hundred games this is a refreshing experience. Full Review »
  3. GraceS.
    Jan 20, 2004
    4
    It is fun but way too easy, short, abit awkward and hardly value for money. If you like the Dino Crisis series this is worth playing. Paula It is fun but way too easy, short, abit awkward and hardly value for money. If you like the Dino Crisis series this is worth playing. Paula is also sexy. Full Review »