Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time has come to cleanse this world. Hunt down the unworthy...and show them no mercy. Three years have passed since the events of FINAL FANTASY VII. Buried alive following the Meteor disaster, a mysterious group known as the DG (Deepground) Soldiers emerges and begins raiding the city. The enigmatic Vincent Valentine is somehow connected to these attacks, and he may be the only one who can save this shattered world. When the world is engulfed in darkness, his gun will toll a dreadful dirge... Other characters from FINAL FANTASY VII join Vincent on his journey, and as the story unfolds, you will bear witness to shocking truths never revealed in the original game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 51
  2. Negative: 10 out of 51
  1. This game should not disappoint fans, it is different for sure, but it is also an excellent, very well executed shooter, which still retains the elements of FF we all love - the complex plot, upgrades, EXP, and even a chance to discuss chocobos if you just find the right girl to chat with!
  2. The story is interesting and fairly epic, but told in such large chunks at a time, that sometimes the pacing is thrown off.
  3. On the other hand, despite all the effort that clearly went into this game's visuals, story points, and even gun customization, making Dirge of Cerberus fun to play slipped to a disappointingly low priority somewhere along the way. [Sept. 2006, p.93]
  4. Manages to be engaging thanks to its rich storyline, and the typically luxurious cutscenes provided by Square Enix. I found it challenging enough for my level of twitch skills (or lack thereof) in the genre.
  5. 57
    The gameplay is too simple, the levels uninteresting and the repetitive music, annoying. In a sentence it's all right for a quick blast, but nothing that holds any major draw.
  6. For anyone who isn't desperately in love with FFVII; though - in other words, if you've never written erotic gay fanfiction about Cloud and Sephiroth, drawn fanart of Tifa engaged in a bestial act with Red XIII, or considered changing your name to Vincent Valentine - it's impossible to recommend Dirge of Cerberus as anything other than a curiosity.
  7. Dirge is an ugly, cynical and tiresome videogame, the likes of which the next generation will hopefully eradicate. [June 2006, p.130]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This game is an realy brilliant game.
    This game is about Vincent Valentine and that's why it's look's soo different as FF game.
    I hope
    Square-Enix will release the HD version of Dirge of Cerberus for ps3, Xbox360,WiiU and PC. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    I feel like I'm biased since Vincent has always been my favorite Final Fantasy character, but this game was very fun. I've never been too into the Final Fantasy universe, and I think I love this game so much because it doesn't play like normal Final Fantasy does. There's no turn-based fighting, it's all just run in there and kill everything. The storyline was complicated and hard to follow (I've always felt Square Enix games have overly-convoluted plots) but the graphics are gorgeous and the soundtrack is great. My biggest complaint with the game is the difficulty level. Even on expert mode, it's still a very easy game and always feels a little too short for me. But, other than that, it's a very good and fun game. Expand
  3. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    8
    This game is one of the best Final Fantasy Games I have ever played. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    Ooh sumthing different this time! HA! Dirge is better with a keyboard and mouse IMO. I didnt like this game that much jus clearing it for the sake of a FF fan. However this game isnt grand at all. Sure the cg gets everyone excited but at sum point i find myself in circles. If this is ur 1st ff game the hard bosses will chase u away from sqaure! Shelke! lol. Impossible to get perfects here. Nice story . Cant belive what a high user score this game got. Id probably give this a 58 Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    5
    A chore, for the most part. excessive FMV (which is welcome, thanks to the uneven gameplay) Repetitive, dark and gloomy levels populated by a very small pool of annoying enemy types with some very nasty AI scripting many simply spam knockdown attacks at the player (get up, knock down ad infinitum). Controls are poor but serviceable but the main problem is the camera and auto lock-on system, which the player needs to fight as well as enemies. Only of interest to the FFVII fanatic, Dirge of Cerberus is both an unnecessary extension of Vincent's backstory from FFVII and a wrecking ball that ruins some core characters of that game (Hojo is reduced to a two-dimensional cackling lunatic), and the less said about the new characters the better. Though it is nice to see the gang again, with exception to Yuffie, Reeve (Cait Sith) and Cid, their screen time is very small, the FMV is the game's greatest asset, and is of equal quality to the animation in Advent Children. In fact there are so many cutscenes and pointlessly easy sections Square Enix probably should have just made an OVA instead. Satisfying conclusion, though, but not a keeper. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    5
    An OK spin-off title that is altogether completely forgettable. If it wasn't for the FF 7 affiliation I doubt this game would have seen any sales.

    At it's core it is a generic third person action shooter. The combat is bland, the gameplay is bland, the story is uninteresting.

    Overall:
    It isn't a bad game as it technically delivers a functioning game. But it is so unbelievably bland I get sleepy just thinking about it. But, at the very least, Vincent is still cool and it's always a pleasure to see him on screen.
    Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2013
    2
    Perhaps the single worst example of cutscence and gameplay segregation in history. Vincent in cutscenes can jump six stories and take down an attack helicopter without needing to reload. Vincent in game plinks away at footsoldiers and needs keycards to bypass a tall fence. Playing through it, you'll encounter more boring cliches than you can shake a stick at: waves and waves of enemies, shamelessly-recycled boss fights, exploding barrels, moronic AI, forced turret sections, forced stealth sections, the works. It's slow, boring, and not worth your time.
    How about that story, then? Well, it's hardly better. It's heavily connected to the plot of Final Fantasy VII, but at the same time, it has very little to do with it. Hojo's alive now, there's a whole bunch of stuff about Deepground and the Tsvets that was never even implied in the original, and while most of the cast shows up at some point, they're generally just there for fanservice. The ones who get focus, primarily, are Vincent, Yuffie, Cait Sith, and Cid. Cid is generally okay, but Yuffie and Cait Sith were terrible in the first game, and have only gotten more annoying with time. Vincent himself... well, you know how people claim to hate Cloud because 'all he does is mope,' but it's not true because the guy actually did go through some pretty meaty development in the original game? Vincent really does do nothing but mope. He has no goals, no agency, no likes or dislikes, most of his dialogue is ellipses. At times, he has flickers of a romance, but he approaches it with the same monotone dullardry that he approaches everything else. He's basically a brick that shoots things. You could replace him with a gun turret on wheels and keep most of the plot intact. Well, you'd lose the bits where he turns into hilarious-looking monsters, but that's not a bug, it's a feature.
    About the nicest thing I can say about this game is that the FMV cutscenes look very good, and the soundtrack is quite nice. Watch them on YouTube if that piques your interest. If you must own every single appearance by the FFVII characters and have Vincent Valentine tattooed on your chest, then I'd say you might be able to enjoy yourself. Otherwise... no.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews