User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 65
  2. Negative: 6 out of 65
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyM.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    This is the single greatest fighting game I have ever played ever. I found myself playing it for hours without end...its was just awesome.
  2. DayshawnR.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Better than all the DBZ games i played!
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The budokai and the tenkaichi series made my childhood alongside with the anime they are based one. One of the greatest fighting games, if you really are a dbz fan. Go get it!
  4. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    My personal favourite dbz game. It has the best story mode. Many characters too choose from and awesome graphics and gameplay. It just feels so good when you punch an opponent right in the face. Only bad thing the music is horrible.
  5. Zach
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Easily the best of all the DBZ games. Before this I thought Budokai 3 was the top, but could have been better...Tenkaichi was ok but no transformations which took away alot. This one brings back the transformations in game and does it in style, it's very easy to choose exactly which form you want, be your character saijan, cell, frieza, etc. The whole fighting system has been Easily the best of all the DBZ games. Before this I thought Budokai 3 was the top, but could have been better...Tenkaichi was ok but no transformations which took away alot. This one brings back the transformations in game and does it in style, it's very easy to choose exactly which form you want, be your character saijan, cell, frieza, etc. The whole fighting system has been reworked and isn't nearly as clunky as before. Combos are a breeze to pull off, specials are better and add alot of strategy to a fight. Character selection is insane, I haven't seen a single character left out from any of the sagas. The story mode is the same, I'm only at the begining of the cell saga and am 30% complete. It even covers the dbz movies such as the tree of might, deadzone, cooler...it's really got it all! My only gripe is the AI, not that it's bad. Sometimes it will decide to do the same move over and over again which is iritating, and other times the computer will just decide it isnt going to let you win and utterly annihilate you. Nothing bad with the game, the difficulty can just be a bit outragous at times. If you are a DBZ fan and wish the games could be better, this is the one to buy. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 2 is one of the best fighters out there, and one of the best Dragon Ball Z games, with a INCREDIBLY large amount of playable characters, awesome controls, awesome graphics, and amazing sound, an awesome story mode, and highly replayable tournament modes, and great versus modes, this game is a must play for fighter and Dragon Ball Z fans.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    DBZ BT2 conducted in 2006 with a good story mode which follows almost cartoon fashion with several that are part of the game that makes fun of the person who plays, Spike has not really his game Ratté
  8. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    This is an excellent game. It has the basic necessities of any DBZ game. Graphics, controls, characters, and camera control. I love the story mode an gameplay. It fits so well with the DBZ storyline. The graphics are indescribable. The controls are really great. The character roster is superb, along with the transformations. The camera is also great. All in all, this game is great, but theThis is an excellent game. It has the basic necessities of any DBZ game. Graphics, controls, characters, and camera control. I love the story mode an gameplay. It fits so well with the DBZ storyline. The graphics are indescribable. The controls are really great. The character roster is superb, along with the transformations. The camera is also great. All in all, this game is great, but the only downside is the ''CGI'' cutscenes. That made me quinch. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2016
    8
    A great DBZ game, far surpasses the all of the Budokai games in my opinion. It is well known in the DBZ community if you want to play as alot of characters get Tenkaichi 3 but if you want a long and expansive story get Tenkaichi 2. The story mode is one of this games finest features, having not only all of DBZ but also all of DBGT, the movies and even alternate universe stories that haveA great DBZ game, far surpasses the all of the Budokai games in my opinion. It is well known in the DBZ community if you want to play as alot of characters get Tenkaichi 3 but if you want a long and expansive story get Tenkaichi 2. The story mode is one of this games finest features, having not only all of DBZ but also all of DBGT, the movies and even alternate universe stories that have different outcomes. The only gripe I have with it are that some of the missions are kinda cheap but if you master the game mechanics you should be fine. Expand

Awards & Rankings

63
47
#47 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
79
#79 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Play Magazine
    80
    Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 2 is the type of game that will only give you back what you're willing to put into it. [Nov. 2006, p.85]
  2. Outside of some minor quibbles with the user interface and some obscenely difficult matches, the only real snag is the fact that everything's so heavily based in the Dragon Ball Z mythos, there isn't much here for the non-fan to enjoy.
  3. The game was built for DBZ enthusiasts, but anyone who loves a great fighter will get into this high-flying, non-stop experience.