User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    The best dragon ball z game ever made period. i wish they doing this as a hd collection for the 360. hopefully in the future. ..............................................
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    When I say the BEST, I really say that this game is the BEST Dragon Ball game in history, and one of the best shonen-anime game too. Hundreds of different characters and more than 40 transformations, hours and hours playing the history mode or playing with your friend at your home. In ps3, we really miss games like this. This game is much better than the two Raging Blast games or UltimateWhen I say the BEST, I really say that this game is the BEST Dragon Ball game in history, and one of the best shonen-anime game too. Hundreds of different characters and more than 40 transformations, hours and hours playing the history mode or playing with your friend at your home. In ps3, we really miss games like this. This game is much better than the two Raging Blast games or Ultimate Tenkaichi ones in PS3.
    I was only 12 years old when I was playing this game, and then my parents bought me my PS3 ... and then I stop playing this AWESOME game. Perhaps the best dragon ball game made in history....
    Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can change the story in every mission and specially in the movies representational, for an example: Broly movie you can kill while playing with master Roshi or Piccolo or Vegeta or...ETC.
    Other example is the Bardock movie where Frieza doesn't kill Bardock(like he does in the story line)but Bardock kills him.
    There's also an adventure mode (like an online game) where you grow level earn Z-points Zeni and other things.
    So yeah if you have a great PS2 collection and don't have this game in it go buy it in E-bay or in the closest gaming store!
    Collapse
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The budokai and the tenkaichi series made my childhood alongside with the anime they are based one. One of the greatest fighting games, if you really are a dbz fan. Go get it!
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    A great game made from my favorite anime the only flaw on the game is the story felt much more weaker than tenkaichi 2 did but overall this is one of the best games on the ps2.
  6. Nov 1, 2016
    10
    The best Dragon Ball Z game ever made. DBZ Xenoverse 2 plays like $#!7 compared to this. The gameplay was so fast and fluid, with so many different combos and every character having a unique style as well.
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 è il miglior videogioco dedicato a Goku e ai suoi amici e sicuramente è uno dei migliori picchiaduro per PS2.Un capolavoro fenomenale.
  8. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    Dragon Ball Z has always been larger than life and had been a staple for anime games. Unlike its counter part Budokai 3, this DBZ game is far more absurd, and that is fine. If it is a dragonball game it not suppose to be a Street Fighter emulator, it should feel like a dragon ball episode. This is where the Budokai Tenkaichi delivers massive 3D arenas, the ability to throw energy bombs,Dragon Ball Z has always been larger than life and had been a staple for anime games. Unlike its counter part Budokai 3, this DBZ game is far more absurd, and that is fine. If it is a dragonball game it not suppose to be a Street Fighter emulator, it should feel like a dragon ball episode. This is where the Budokai Tenkaichi delivers massive 3D arenas, the ability to throw energy bombs, instant transmission and Transformations.

    Atari had been really generous with its character selection, with over 150 characters which includes fighters spanning from the Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, and Dragon Ball GT universe, which only assists character customization. This is where the ability to make a character truly your own comes into play. For example King Kai's training gives you one or two extra bars of health, and Dende's healing ability heals you through out the battle, which really helps you in those extra long very close fights.

    The story mode is also a rewarding feature of the games, not only because you play through the sagas you have watched on TV before but also because you get to earn Dragon Balls through the process, collect all seven and guess what you get to make a wish, now granted it is not exactly a wish like in the anime, but it offers many unlockables, characters, and stages. This coupled with the tournament mode makes for a great game that as timeless as the Akira Toriyama's work.

    However at this point the DBZ characters are being rehashed and reused, but there is no way around that and that is understandable, but some of the lower tire characters have the same moves, finishers, and style, and that is just lazy.

    9/10 - A great game for any dragon ball fan, not the best arcade fighting game but it is still a treat to Dragon Ball fans. If you have a copy cherish it, if you don't find one at a reasonable price before it gets super expensive.
    Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    This game is truly amazing! This game has many things to offer . It has very good graphics for a ps2 game
  10. Mar 5, 2017
    10
    O jogo é incrível, com vários recursos memoráveis e louváveis, fusão no meio da luta, transformação fluida, lutas dinâmicas, cenários destrutíveis. O jogo merece atenção por ser um clássico, ótimo jogo de luta para fãs e não fãs de Dragon Ball. Na minha opinião um dos melhores jogos de Dragon Ball se não o melhor.
  11. Jan 7, 2018
    10
    All the characters from all the series, really good playable moves and combos, great story, selection sistem to fight and good graphics. This is one of the best games ever made for a franchise. Ultimate and beyond
  12. ShaneSammut
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    People say that budokai 3 has been and will be the best DBZ game to ever be released i say no. Tenkaichi 3 for dbz fans will deliver the dbz experiance your looking for!!! it's not that there is over 150 characters, its that the characters are more unique than most would think, this time round they have changed moves for the better. The fighting is more intense and defined, there isPeople say that budokai 3 has been and will be the best DBZ game to ever be released i say no. Tenkaichi 3 for dbz fans will deliver the dbz experiance your looking for!!! it's not that there is over 150 characters, its that the characters are more unique than most would think, this time round they have changed moves for the better. The fighting is more intense and defined, there is no DBZ game so far that you can get hold of better than Tenkaichi 3 Expand
  13. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ridiculously fast paced, many characters and has tons of action, this has got to be the greatest DBZ game i have ever played. If you've played older Tenkaichi games before try this out! If your a newbie to the DBZ world you'll probably have a hard time learning the controls. I give this a 10 out of 10. Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    awesome is just the right word to describe this amazing game.not a fan of DBZ and it's the first game of the series i have played but after 5hours of game play,i just couldn't stop playing.a very addictive game i must say. Being a big fan of naruto,i must confess that naruto's battle system pales in comparism to tenkaichi 3. With such a fast pace combat,a deep deep battle system,fantasticawesome is just the right word to describe this amazing game.not a fan of DBZ and it's the first game of the series i have played but after 5hours of game play,i just couldn't stop playing.a very addictive game i must say. Being a big fan of naruto,i must confess that naruto's battle system pales in comparism to tenkaichi 3. With such a fast pace combat,a deep deep battle system,fantastic game modes and of course lot and lots of playable characters,this game definitely deserves a 10/10.only wished the 2player mode was in btw 2-d and 3-d like tekken 5 rather than the split screen Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    I'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First andI'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First and foremost I want to say that none of the Tenkaichi games are very well balanced, NONE! However, in Tenkaichi 2 some characters had attacks that were mind-numbingly powerful(Great Ape Baby's Throw), rushing attacks took ZERO ki if they didn't connect and the customization setup was a true game-breaker(Halo for starters cut down energy needed for all attacks in half with no real consequences). Also, everyone has been given their own unique combo set this time around instead of having the generic setup as the other games did and some character have had their move-set changed to avoid having redundant attacks and to keep their techniques more in line to the attacks they actually performed in the anime. So anyone who played Tenkaichi 2 before laying their hands on this will realize that its a bit more difficult to play since you can no longer mash your opponents into oblivion. It actually takes some skill this time around and any DBZ fan should at least have the patience to play this game and realize it's not worth giving a "0" rating. Expand
  16. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    It's Dragon Ball Z is the best, the battle that are successful is the ultimate battle mode and the scenario are the best but it's the graphic that I was disappointed but despite the ca game is very playable and 'are over 70 playable characters, what good game
  17. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    When i was younger i loved this game. Yes, the 1st Tenkaichi was too difficult for me, and I had so much frustration with it. Now this game improved that. Controls were good, and i always managed to pull off sick combos. Well okay i played on the easiest difficulty but THAT DOESN'T MATTER! This game is fun, and awesome, especially if you are a DBZ fan.
  18. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    this game is great
    its very adictive because the gameplay is fast and dynamic
    i liked the characters and the attacks
    best dragon ball z game of ever
  19. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best DBZ game so far for me. t's basically about every DBZ game ever released, starting out with the first one to the last one. The graphics are similar to DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 2 and the controls are spot on. The characters are at it's best and the other necessities of DBZ make this the best game so far. The camera can be controlled by you and it makes the best prequel to any other DBZBest DBZ game so far for me. t's basically about every DBZ game ever released, starting out with the first one to the last one. The graphics are similar to DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 2 and the controls are spot on. The characters are at it's best and the other necessities of DBZ make this the best game so far. The camera can be controlled by you and it makes the best prequel to any other DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi game in the series. Nonetheless, I give this game my highest regards. Keep on doing what you're doing, Akira and Funimation. Expand
  20. Jun 1, 2017
    9
    a great game for fans of the series, the controls may be hard to learn, but once you learn how to use them, you really feel like you're controlling the character of the series, add that to a great story, and you have yourself not only a great fighting game, but a great game.
  21. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    Melhor Game baseado em animes , melhor game da Bandai , melhor game de luta , melhor game de DBZ e com certeza um dos melhores games já feitos. (Alem de ser um dos melhores games do Playstation 2.)
  22. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    O melhor jogo de luta de Dragon Ball de todos os tempos, é incrível como a jogabilidade é tão perfeita bem encaixada, a grande quantidade de lutadores. As animações, golpes, poderes, transformações, tudo, tudo é perfeito. O melhor jogo de DBZ de todos os tempos!
  23. May 28, 2016
    8
    This game is amazing . Good graphics and amazing fights doing this game very amazing, in this game can shoot any magic , but not so in MK, another magic . Main Hero in this game is Goku and my favourites characters are Broly, Goku and Vegeta (Special Vegeta), I don't like other DBZ BT3 Characters . Very amazing fighting, much better than Naruto Shipudan .
  24. Oct 30, 2017
    10
    Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3 es seguramente no sólo el mejor juego que se pueda hacer de este anime, sino que me animo a decir es el mejor juego de peleas de toda la historia.
  25. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    For me personally this is the best Dragon Ball Z game out there.I played all the newer ones like xenoverse 1 and 2 but they just don't click like this did.I still play this game from time to time after watching the Sunday episode of Dragon Ball Super
  26. Apr 29, 2017
    10
    probably the greatest dbz game ever made , so much characters, very great fighting , customanisation..... just evryting is great
    The ony thing is that the voice acting was not PERFECT
    But still i give it a 10
  27. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    Sin duda alguna el mejor juego de dragon ball Z que ha salido al mercado. Su gran variedad de combos que varian entre personajes lo hace una delicia a la hora de jugarlo. Tienes tantas posibles combinaciones que tienes muchas formas diferentes de derrotar a tus enemigos. Sinceramente es un juego hermoso.
  28. Sep 2, 2017
    10
    Simply the best Dragon Ball game.
    Better than all Dragon Ball Playstation 3 and Playstation 4 games together!
    Best gameplay, best battle system and best soundtrack ever.
  29. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    This is the definite Dragon Ball Z game, and heaps of fun. For those new to the Budokai Tenkaichi trioligy, it's a 3D fighting game that's fairly simple but at the same time takes ages to truly master. You'll have to pick up more techniques as you play, but you can still jump right into the game with the basic skills you need. You can have heaps of consecutive what-if battles with theThis is the definite Dragon Ball Z game, and heaps of fun. For those new to the Budokai Tenkaichi trioligy, it's a 3D fighting game that's fairly simple but at the same time takes ages to truly master. You'll have to pick up more techniques as you play, but you can still jump right into the game with the basic skills you need. You can have heaps of consecutive what-if battles with the game's huge roster, basically containing 90% of the Dragon Ball cast. That's roughly 150 (don't qoute me on that) playable characters. The story mode features most of the major battles of the anime, but not much else it cuts out a lot of other battles just to feature the most barebones experience. Especially dissapointing because there's a huge roster that you can put to use to feature every last battle in the story. Thankfully, you can do this yourself in the standard versus mode and play the story from start to finish (Maybe write down all the battles and what characters and stages to use). Other modes include five different tournaments, which is also good fun. Especially if you can get a friend or two to join. You can also collect Dragon Balls this way, and once you have all seven you can make a wish to Shenron (or one of the other Enternal Dragons, it's randomly generated) and get new characters, stages and customization items. And then there's 'Ultimate Battle', which features a simulation-ish mode where you pick a character and train up until the day of your next fight comes, and through this mode you can get new missions for the mission mode. Clear enough missions and you also unlock a survival mode, where you play one of three scenarios to try and beat as many of the 50 opponents as you can. If you own the first two games you can also use what's called 'Disc Fusion' to access one specific mode from both games. You should be able to find the game pretty cheap as with most old PS2 games. I played the PS2 version, the Wii version adds motion controls with the Wii Remote and Nunchuck so you can use the fighter's powers by performing the motions to use it (you can also use a Classic Controller to play standard style), and you also get online mode, although from what I've heard it suffers from lots of lag, and even then you wouldn't find any matches online nowadays. If you're looking at what one Dragon Ball game to try out I'd reccomend this one, it was one of my first ones. Excellent fighting game for Dragon Ball fans and just pure fun. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Best Dragon Ball Z game ever to be made. Literally everything about this game was perfect. Imma go as far as to say that this is the best overall fighting game ever created, right up there with naruto ultimate ninja storm 3
  31. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can change the story in every mission and specially in the movies representational, for an example: Broly movie you can kill while playing with master Roshi or Piccolo or Vegeta or...ETC.
    Other example is the Bardock movie where Frieza doesn't kill Bardock(like he does in the story line)but Bardock kills him.
    There's also an adventure mode (like an online game) where you grow level earn Z-points Zeni and other things.
    So yeah if you have a great PS2 collection and don't have this game in it go buy it in E-bay or in the closest gaming store!
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

29
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
3
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Undeniably the best DBZ game to date. The fighting engine has been considerably deepened, the Dragon History mode is flawed but great, and the graphics far surpass the anime.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    70
    After three games, you should know by now that this series is primarily for longtime fans, and they have plenty to like. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. The game isn't great, but it delivers the goods for the fans, and that's all it really needs to do.