User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 5 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    DBZ BT2 conducted in 2006 with a good story mode which follows almost cartoon fashion with several that are part of the game that makes fun of the person who plays, Spike has not really his game rate.
  2. Youdon'twanttoknow
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Altough i am a fan of the Dragonball series i was a bit disappointed with somethings in the first games. There was the small enviroment, how hard it was to break something and the very annoying problem with the power up system (you would lose energy more rapidly the higher up the power up list you got and so when you reached the top one you had a very limited ammount of time left). Altough i am a fan of the Dragonball series i was a bit disappointed with somethings in the first games. There was the small enviroment, how hard it was to break something and the very annoying problem with the power up system (you would lose energy more rapidly the higher up the power up list you got and so when you reached the top one you had a very limited ammount of time left). Altough i found myself missing the power ups the rest of the game got me hooked and this has easily become my best game if not my best PS2 game. I love playing with my friends wich pick up the controller and so "No, no. Dont worry I'll figure out the buttons myself" and then watch as every last attack they make fails to hit me until they finally admit to needing help. Or those that have playe the game alot and we have a long battle over who is best. The only reason i'm going to give this game a 9 is because of the fact that you can't power up and because you can pick some of the weakest guys in teh series and easily kick the toughest ones ass. Collapse
  3. James
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    This is totally awesome. I love how you have the freedom of flight, larger arenas, and less cinematic time for moves. It is awesome how the map is more 3D and destructible than all the other previous games. BEST GAME EVER!
  4. JinjongC.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    it was totally awesome
  5. KrishnanK.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    it's really cool kicking a computer charecter esspically bad guys in dragonball z: bakudai tenkaichi or sparkling!
  6. LindseyW.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I wish I had two more hands to give this game four thumbs up. Before I played it i kind of worried about the camera angles but I was able to adjust to them very easy. I must say the same about the controls, they grew on me. In the next one I would like to be able to customize clothing and accessories like wrist bands, shoes, armor, scouters and other things from the cartoon. Also how I wish I had two more hands to give this game four thumbs up. Before I played it i kind of worried about the camera angles but I was able to adjust to them very easy. I must say the same about the controls, they grew on me. In the next one I would like to be able to customize clothing and accessories like wrist bands, shoes, armor, scouters and other things from the cartoon. Also how about some team battles like two on two, maybe that can get worked in somehow or two on one battles. Also what about more destruction to the ground when thrown in to it. If it all gets destroyed then it becomes an air battle. Expand
  7. MIchealB.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    This is a really great game and they should make more
  8. ThomasA.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    I like this game in all ways that i can speak. i played evey game dbz put out and this is the one that takes the pie.
  9. HadiN.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    This game is the best of all other dbz games.
  10. Addictedtopc
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This game is brilliant its the ultimate fusion of all games +50 characters its brutal!!!!
  11. Kite
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    This is really awesome game. Good graphics and good controls. lots of characterers and story mode is quite large. Only bad things in game is that there is no more transformations during a fight and some moves is totally powerless. That's why i can't give 10 to this game, but overally this is the best dbz budokai that is made.
  12. WilliamK.
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    The ultimate DBZ game.
  13. JonnyoS.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    I havent played it yet, i gotta wait 2 or 3 days, but i been previewin it more than anybody who likes dbz, i got budokai 2 and 3, and got some of the GBA games and this game is meant to b the best, seriously cant wait, anyway, thx 4 readin, lol, bye xxx
  14. ShadowC.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Amazing... Just what I always wanted.
  15. JimJ.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This game rocks.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. 82
    Throw in a massively deep list of modes and features, more than 50 playable characters, and customizable goodies for your fighters and you have everything necessary to please both Dragon Ball diehards and fighting game curiosos alike.
  2. 60
    Tenkaichi succeeds in all the areas that DBZ fans love: brilliant, innovative graphics, a gajillion (more than 60, actually) playable characters from the beloved anime series, and (everyone together) Saiyans!
  3. It’s novel, it’s a good fighting game and it’s extremely well presented, but Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi is still one for the fans.