• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. 65
    While the game does look great in still shots, when it's in motion, it never maintains a steady framerate throughout an entire scene.
  2. The visuals are bright and colorful, the controls are simple, and overall, the game is just enough fun to spend a rainy weekend with.
  3. The story is lame, the gameplay is repetitive and the entire control system is compromised in one way or another. Let the developers fix their mistakes before you throw any money in their direction. Don't even rent this one.
  4. 40
    Even the most hardcore DBZ fans will feel ripped off if they purchase Dragon Ball Z: Sagas, and non-rabid fans will be angry to the point of violence.
  5. Some of the most antiquated and broken gameplay available on modern consoles. [June 2005, p.126]
  6. 70
    If you're a diehard, you'll relish playing through your favorite early battles in the epic story. Sagas is a competent first entry to the action genre, just not exemplary.
  7. A short, ugly, slightly buggy, and brain-dead beat-'em-up that all but nullifies the good work of the Budokai games.
  8. 40
    Control, the most important factor in many games (and certainly fighting games) suffers from a lack of precision and finesse. Most of the environments feel bland, and level layout is equally uninspired.
  9. Dragon Ball Z Sagas is completely broken.
  10. Uninspired art and level design. [June 2005, p.95]
  11. I think it's time somebody rethought this license. DBZ fans deserve much better. [May 2005, p.50]
  12. A near disaster. [June 2005, p.80]
  13. Certainly, there are better Dragon Ball games out there (see "DBZ: Budokai 3").
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I think this game is great. It shows off a new gameplay not yet seen in dbz games. The story sticks to the anime and the bosses are challenging. Having to finish off bosses quickly while transformed is a great example. It may seem frustrating but just because you cant hurt them doesn't mean you cant knock em around to keep them from attacking you. All that gave bad reviews to this game are entitled to their own opinions, but i think their thoughts are a bit misplaced. Anyways bottom line is that i loved this game when i played it with my friends and ,even with the 7th gen consoles, will probably end up buying it since I've only rented it lolz Full Review »
  2. HishamZ.
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    This game in my opinion is underestimated. dbz fans out there: dont feel that turned off by other reviews. maybe flight is restricted and itThis game in my opinion is underestimated. dbz fans out there: dont feel that turned off by other reviews. maybe flight is restricted and it lacks attack melee and specials, but you can combine all what the game provides you and i PROMISE it will give an interesting outcome,just teleport ,combo,upercut, perform a teleport combo or special, think of new ideas and double teams for co-op,send enemies flyin through rocks and backgrounds, just be creative and make your own rules. and those who judge the replay value by what they have to achieve next dont have to be right. i play through the levels several times just for fun and more ideas, just like when i replay sd vs raw. so just rent it and try giving it a chance. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is what I wish more anime games were anime based games were like, fun simple brawlers, it has great co op, and good controls, and is aThis is what I wish more anime games were anime based games were like, fun simple brawlers, it has great co op, and good controls, and is a lot of fun, my only complaint is that some boss fight are annoying because you have to change to a Super Sayain, and it's a pain to do, that aside this is a great purchase for fans. Full Review »