• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HishamZ.
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    This game in my opinion is underestimated. dbz fans out there: dont feel that turned off by other reviews. maybe flight is restricted and it lacks attack melee and specials, but you can combine all what the game provides you and i PROMISE it will give an interesting outcome,just teleport ,combo,upercut, perform a teleport combo or special, think of new ideas and double teams for co-op,sendThis game in my opinion is underestimated. dbz fans out there: dont feel that turned off by other reviews. maybe flight is restricted and it lacks attack melee and specials, but you can combine all what the game provides you and i PROMISE it will give an interesting outcome,just teleport ,combo,upercut, perform a teleport combo or special, think of new ideas and double teams for co-op,send enemies flyin through rocks and backgrounds, just be creative and make your own rules. and those who judge the replay value by what they have to achieve next dont have to be right. i play through the levels several times just for fun and more ideas, just like when i replay sd vs raw. so just rent it and try giving it a chance. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this game is great. It shows off a new gameplay not yet seen in dbz games. The story sticks to the anime and the bosses are challenging. Having to finish off bosses quickly while transformed is a great example. It may seem frustrating but just because you cant hurt them doesn't mean you cant knock em around to keep them from attacking you. All that gave bad reviews to this game are entitled to their own opinions, but i think their thoughts are a bit misplaced. Anyways bottom line is that i loved this game when i played it with my friends and ,even with the 7th gen consoles, will probably end up buying it since I've only rented it lolz Expand
  3. AmedP.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This game was awesome!!!!!
  4. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is what I wish more anime games were anime based games were like, fun simple brawlers, it has great co op, and good controls, and is a lot of fun, my only complaint is that some boss fight are annoying because you have to change to a Super Sayain, and it's a pain to do, that aside this is a great purchase for fans.
  5. JeremyH.
    Apr 10, 2005
    4
    There isn't anything good I can say about this game, and I am a huge DBZ fan. Bad controls, bad camera, graphics are a little outdated, low replay value (I mean come on you unlock everything after beating it the first time except the one armed Gohan character which, I guess, takes more then 1 time through), the fights, combo & energy attacks are unspectacular, levels too small, not There isn't anything good I can say about this game, and I am a huge DBZ fan. Bad controls, bad camera, graphics are a little outdated, low replay value (I mean come on you unlock everything after beating it the first time except the one armed Gohan character which, I guess, takes more then 1 time through), the fights, combo & energy attacks are unspectacular, levels too small, not enough freedom to roam about & the flying is too restricted when it comes to how high you can fly (I mean whats great about an air battle that takes place only about 10 feet off the ground and then is bound to only last for a few seconds), and the storyline is just the exact same from the series (which I expected & there is nothing wrong with making a game that follows the storyline exactly but it was done in such a way I never felt moved by what was going on, but that could be because I had watched the series). Anyways, to say the least I was very disappointed and let down with the game, I was expecting so much more with all the hype about it, but I say its an insult to the series itself and to the past budokai games. I think its time to find a new developer cause it seems that Atari can't get it right, the budokai games are great but they are not without their flaws as well and could be so much better. Sorry if there is anyone who disagrees with my opinion. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    5
    Stupid, nothing more. Those guys didn't have anymore ideas for the DBZ series to get money, they just created a dull formula that didn't work. Making exploration fused with action isn't working, the over powered enemies , not cool.
  7. JJBaumann
    Mar 31, 2005
    6
    Great concept, but lacks control and the lack of payable characters is a major downside. A sequel needs to be made to show what this game is capable of. Add control and length and this game would be good for not just DBZ fans. All DBZ games have always fallen short of being a breakthrough success.
  8. BarryC.
    Apr 3, 2005
    6
    I was excited that DBZ went to Atari. I see now that it made no difference. The DBZ line of games is living off of it's anime rep. This was the last time I'll try a DBZ game. I can't find one good thing to say about it.
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    This game is a very interesting take on the Saiyan to android saga's of Dragon ball z. As a beat em up style game, this game is quite broken, and has alot of bugs and issues, but still can be very fun to dbz fans. i wouldnt reccomend this to gamers who arent dbz fans, but dbz fans will be able to appreciate this game for doing a good job of following the dbz story arch, as well as do aThis game is a very interesting take on the Saiyan to android saga's of Dragon ball z. As a beat em up style game, this game is quite broken, and has alot of bugs and issues, but still can be very fun to dbz fans. i wouldnt reccomend this to gamers who arent dbz fans, but dbz fans will be able to appreciate this game for doing a good job of following the dbz story arch, as well as do a good job of capturing the feel of the dbz universe, with graphics and music, as well as sound effects and voice acting, that represent the series well. the game mechanics are broken, and if your not appreciating this game for being a dbz game, you might not appreciate it at all. this is really a game thats for the fans, and i reccomend it if your a dbz fan looking for something new. Collapse
  10. Sep 14, 2014
    6
    Bom jogo da que aborda 3 sagas do anime Dragon Ball Z, melhora ainda se jogado em coop. Como é raro um game de DBZ que nao seja de luta esse titulo acaba se destacando. Sobretudo para os fãs esse jogo é essencial.
  11. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    the game stinks so much the boss battles and overpowerd enemies worst camra overall the worst dragon ball game bisides the kienct game witch was worse
  12. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    This game is a very interesting take on the Saiyan to android saga's of Dragon ball z. As a beat em up style game, this game is quite broken, and has alot of bugs and issues, but still can be very fun to dbz fans. i wouldnt reccomend this to gamers who arent dbz fans, but dbz fans will be able to appreciate this game for doing a good job of following the dbz story arch, as well as do aThis game is a very interesting take on the Saiyan to android saga's of Dragon ball z. As a beat em up style game, this game is quite broken, and has alot of bugs and issues, but still can be very fun to dbz fans. i wouldnt reccomend this to gamers who arent dbz fans, but dbz fans will be able to appreciate this game for doing a good job of following the dbz story arch, as well as do a good job of capturing the feel of the dbz universe, with graphics and music, as well as sound effects and voice acting, that represent the series well. the game mechanics are broken, and if your not appreciating this game for being a dbz game, you might not appreciate it at all. this is really a game thats for the fans, and i reccomend it if your a dbz fan looking for something new. Collapse
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. 40
    Even the most hardcore DBZ fans will feel ripped off if they purchase Dragon Ball Z: Sagas, and non-rabid fans will be angry to the point of violence.
  2. A near disaster. [June 2005, p.80]
  3. Uninspired art and level design. [June 2005, p.95]