User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 195

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisW.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    It is an awesome game. It's the most fun rpg I've ever played. The music brings the game to life. I have the music stuck in my head because its so awesome. It's the best Square Enix game yet!
  2. Ciro
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    If there's one thing the Dragon Quest/Warrior series has never done, it's screw with tradition. Sure, the world is 3D now, a la "Ocarina of Time", except HUGE, and the battle interface has crossed into the Final Fantasy style of being able to see your own characters. But these changes add to the spirit of the game, rather than trying to overpower it. Fans of the series will If there's one thing the Dragon Quest/Warrior series has never done, it's screw with tradition. Sure, the world is 3D now, a la "Ocarina of Time", except HUGE, and the battle interface has crossed into the Final Fantasy style of being able to see your own characters. But these changes add to the spirit of the game, rather than trying to overpower it. Fans of the series will recognize most of the sound effects, and even the title theme, from the early NES games, re-orchestrated from 4bit midi. :) A masterwork, and a must have for any RPG fans who knows there is more to the genre than "Final Fantasy" Expand
  3. BobP.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Incredibly addictive. Everything Dragon Warrior was and more, it lives up to the name far more than DW7. It also seems better than FFXII will be (and definately trumps FFX-2) -- I did not expect that at all.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    Great, GREAT RPG. While Dragon Quest VIII does not re-invent the wheel, it definitely has perfected it. It just gets so much right, and it's no surprise considering the creators behind it. The combat is consistently challenging with some awesome boss fights that will really challenge your RPG skills. You absolutely have to pay attention, which is refreshing for an RPG. The story is simpleGreat, GREAT RPG. While Dragon Quest VIII does not re-invent the wheel, it definitely has perfected it. It just gets so much right, and it's no surprise considering the creators behind it. The combat is consistently challenging with some awesome boss fights that will really challenge your RPG skills. You absolutely have to pay attention, which is refreshing for an RPG. The story is simple yet wonderfully told with some touching moments throughout. The graphics, while simple, are carefully crafted with heavy attention to detail. Every room, enemy, and scene is crafted with care. The game is also huge. Lots of secrets, lots to see, lots to do, and a long story to play through. It will take you 60 hours easily to finish the main quest. My only criticism is that the skill system is quite vague. While I enjoy the surprise of finding out that next ability, you never know how many points you need for the next ability or what you're going to get. It really makes planning your party out a bit more arbitrary than I'd prefer. So it's always a shot in the dark when you choose to go with swords versus scythes, but a minor gripe to be sure, when the combat and game play is so expertly done and consistently entertaining. I'm currently doing my second play through and I'm having as much fun as I had the first time through. A true sign of a wonderfully crafted RPG. It's just plain FUN. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game was my childhood. Between me, my brother and a close friend we logged about 300hrs into this game. I only wish the ps3 would remake this game so I could have no life all over again.
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Having been a HUGE fan of DQ since the very early 90's, I can say that this is the absolute pinacle of the jrpg. It is a semi-slow grind-fest, but if you're into jrpg's that's probably what you like anyway. A twelve year old obsessed with Skyrim (which is great btw) may find this game terribly boring and unrewarding, and that's okay. This game,despite the cel-shaded graphics was notHaving been a HUGE fan of DQ since the very early 90's, I can say that this is the absolute pinacle of the jrpg. It is a semi-slow grind-fest, but if you're into jrpg's that's probably what you like anyway. A twelve year old obsessed with Skyrim (which is great btw) may find this game terribly boring and unrewarding, and that's okay. This game,despite the cel-shaded graphics was not made for them. It is an homage to DQ's fans, and a spectacular one! Collapse
  7. StephenT.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    One of the best classic rpg's I've ever played! Plus it has a nice sense of humor and one evil looking villian! The music, graphics,story, and voice overs are well done. The night and day cycles are perfect and it's fun to explore the large environment. The camera controls are great as well.
  8. MelanieG.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This game is soo fun! You wont be dissapointed.
  9. GaryM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Great game! Fun! Much, much better that the FF XII demo..
  10. Gabe
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! It's been a long time since I saw an RPG this good. Music, simple yet engrossing character development system, graphics, the works! The included FFXII demo was a really nice added bonus.
  11. JustinS.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Growing up on Dragon Warror games, I have always loved them. Even the worst Dragon Warrior (I can't seem to find one) game is better than the best Final Fantasy. Dragon Quest VIII is no exception. Extremely fun, and over 90 hours of gameplay with still more left to do. Dragon Warrior VII was the best RPG I had ever played. This may have beaten it.
  12. ArielG.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I can't recommend this game enough! I turned into an RPG fan after playing Final Fantasy X a couple of years ago. And after finishing FF-X, I longed for another game that would take its place. I finally found it! Engaging storylines and superb graphics, great gameplay. When playing it, you can just feel the effort of time and effort it took to develop this game, and it paid off in I can't recommend this game enough! I turned into an RPG fan after playing Final Fantasy X a couple of years ago. And after finishing FF-X, I longed for another game that would take its place. I finally found it! Engaging storylines and superb graphics, great gameplay. When playing it, you can just feel the effort of time and effort it took to develop this game, and it paid off in the end. If you're into RPG games, this is certainly one to get! Expand
  13. NickJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Dragon Quest Viii is one of those sleeper hits. This game will give you sex appreal, humor, and an epic adventure all in one package. The graphics are anime done what adds to the game play. The battle system is turned base so it is made up of you hitting the enemy then they hit you. The boss battles are fun and challenging as long as you dont build up to an extreme hight level. After you Dragon Quest Viii is one of those sleeper hits. This game will give you sex appreal, humor, and an epic adventure all in one package. The graphics are anime done what adds to the game play. The battle system is turned base so it is made up of you hitting the enemy then they hit you. The boss battles are fun and challenging as long as you dont build up to an extreme hight level. After you beat the game their are a few area that you can go to and get more of the story which just adds more replay value to this game. You get 4 characters with one being a really sexy girl that does moves to add to the sex appreal. So with final fantasy XII out already and beaten with why dont you go grab this gem and give it a shot highly recommonded. Expand
  14. AlexD.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I'm a big fan of the 'Dragon Quest/Warrior' series, and when i heard about a PS2 version, i was understandably excited. This game did not disappoint me at all. i'm very picky about what games i buy and this is probably one of my top games that i own. Now, my saying this may be confusing since i didn't give it a ten, but then again, i'm not a hardcore gamer. I'm a big fan of the 'Dragon Quest/Warrior' series, and when i heard about a PS2 version, i was understandably excited. This game did not disappoint me at all. i'm very picky about what games i buy and this is probably one of my top games that i own. Now, my saying this may be confusing since i didn't give it a ten, but then again, i'm not a hardcore gamer. The main reasons i didn't give this a ten was that the game doesn't have great replayability and there's not much to be done after the main storyline is completed. Besides that, it's amazing. Expand
  15. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Dragon Quest VIII looks great, feels refreshing, and isn't just another anime-influenced turn-based RPG. Pros: Fantastic graphics; colorful visuals; variety of characters and secrets. Cons: The storyline is a hit-or-miss; a tad bit long of a quest for some gamers.
  16. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This is the game of my childhood. It is far to amazing for words. Expansive world, amazing characters, and the soundtrack is just breath taking! I have sunk so many hours into this game and I have never regretted it. If you enjoy JRPG's, this is one of the best to play.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    This game goes up with Final Fantasy XII and FF IX on my list of favorite RPG's. The sense of scale and high-quality quantity of exploration should be reason enough for any RPG fan to spazz out and obsess over for years to come. The amount of content in this game is just amazing.
  18. AnonymousMC
    May 22, 2009
    10
    ugh...the game was fun....and ugh....it was good but i only got like a lv41 in everyone and i cant pass rhpathorne i just want to kick his fat ass to hong kong but noo there arent any hacks or stupid weird dances but overall it is a....ownage game!!!!!!!!!i tried to convince my friends to play it hehe i think its working im soo close to teh end but i dont have a slime crown i wonder if uugh...the game was fun....and ugh....it was good but i only got like a lv41 in everyone and i cant pass rhpathorne i just want to kick his fat ass to hong kong but noo there arent any hacks or stupid weird dances but overall it is a....ownage game!!!!!!!!!i tried to convince my friends to play it hehe i think its working im soo close to teh end but i dont have a slime crown i wonder if u can find one im still working on beating rhapathorne and ppl i have a little tip u know ridons tower theres a hill next to it use the god birds stone tht makes u fly and land there u fine every slime known to man so ugh... thtll make it easier to increase and u know the red slot machine in baccarat use it but its a 100 coin slot machine i got like 30,000 coins off it lmaooo Expand
  19. ChrisC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    I'm kinda conflicted about it. I do enjoy it, but I also get tired of it quickly because the non-boss battles tend to just turn into attacking over and over, and it gets tedious because the encounter rate is so high. But nonetheless, great classic gamer experience.
  20. ChrisE.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Great Game. Lots of play time and a great plot and characters is what this game is all about.
  21. BrianK.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome! This is game is simply awesome, I pity the reviewers who gripe with the games old school classic RPG fundamentals that is what makes RPGs so good, that is why FF7 and FF3 and old DQ titles trump FFX and FFX2... don't fix what is'nt broken, what makes DQ8 so amazing is the shear size of the game, it is a very big game.. travel is almost real time which I like, traversing Awesome! This is game is simply awesome, I pity the reviewers who gripe with the games old school classic RPG fundamentals that is what makes RPGs so good, that is why FF7 and FF3 and old DQ titles trump FFX and FFX2... don't fix what is'nt broken, what makes DQ8 so amazing is the shear size of the game, it is a very big game.. travel is almost real time which I like, traversing from town to town is an adventure in itslelf as you have very far too go with many dangerous monsters lurking about, the Night and Day system is cool too, all RPGs should have that system. I enjoy the weapon proficency and skill system it reminds me of Dungeons and Dragons a bit, the graphics and sound are great, nice soundtrack and the game is absolutely beautiful in design, the mechanics may be old school but the graphics smash any other modern RPG game! I have not had this much addictive fun playing an RPG since Zelda: Ocarnia of Time! Buy it now over anything else!! Expand
  22. MarV.
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    amazing game. best traditional rpg ever made and one of my favorite games ever made. the battle music sure could have changed at least one in game, but that all i can really think to complain about. the characters are awesome, the story isnt the best but its still good and loads of fun to play through.
  23. Brian
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    One of the best RPG's for any console game. The world is huge, the characters are hilarious, and the battle system rocks! You can get 80 to 100 hours out of this game easy. My one complaint is that the ending was somewhat weak, but a person disappointed with this game is a gamer who doesn't like RPG's.
  24. RichH.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing. Dragon Quest has stuck to its series roots and improved them like never before. Stunning visuals and a great story make this a exceptional game. This game needs to be added to and RPG players game library!
  25. DavidD.
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    Tho this game story line, is over done, what RPG to date dosnt fallow it and is good? Its simplistic but balenced battle system makes it easy for anyone to play. And the fact that the story is that a story, that u will get caught up in as if u were reading a really good book. Makes this game one of the best RPG's ive ever played. The enjoyable long time it takes to beat the game and Tho this game story line, is over done, what RPG to date dosnt fallow it and is good? Its simplistic but balenced battle system makes it easy for anyone to play. And the fact that the story is that a story, that u will get caught up in as if u were reading a really good book. Makes this game one of the best RPG's ive ever played. The enjoyable long time it takes to beat the game and the rewarding expernces of complateting task threw out ur quest only makes it that much bette. Expand
  26. JackwodB.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    If your asking yourself, is that his real name, then yes, yes it is my real name. If your asking yourself, is Dragon Quest VIII under rated, then yes, yes it is under rated. And finally if your asking yourself, is Dragon Quest VIII the best RPG this console generation, then yes, in my honest opinion yes it is. Dont be a fool and buy, dont rent, this fabulous game...
  27. M.V.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I've played this game over a year, and iml VERY pleased! The graphics are great, so is the gameplay, ten thumbs up ;) I recommend you buy this game and try it for yourself.
  28. RedXIII
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    Visually amazing, sound is awesome, battles are great, simple gameplay, yet highly addicting, an awesome RPG all around. If you can get past the cartoonish animation which fits the game perfectly but can put off some people, this game is very fun, the reason that I did not give it a 10 is the lack of magic/summons and the troublesome saving system. But other than that this is the best RPG Visually amazing, sound is awesome, battles are great, simple gameplay, yet highly addicting, an awesome RPG all around. If you can get past the cartoonish animation which fits the game perfectly but can put off some people, this game is very fun, the reason that I did not give it a 10 is the lack of magic/summons and the troublesome saving system. But other than that this is the best RPG I have played in a long time, probably since Final Fantasy VII, it is no where near as good as FFVII but is definitely up there on the best RPG list. Expand
  29. Mr.E
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    One of the best RPG of the of 2005.
  30. Nullmech
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This was about the best RPG I've ever played! I miss the older RPGs, and this really brought me back. I'm not a big RPG fan anymore - all the new RPGs just seem stupid or boring or both. But this game was worth at least twice what I paid for it!
  31. ZiftK.
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    Great RPG. I had a freind who HATED RPG's, but he even loved this game, and that's saying something. Anyone looking for a good RPG, no, a GREAT game, should without a doubt check out Dragon Quest 8.
  32. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    This game is FANTASTIC! I really wish Metacritic had a 0-100 rating scale, since I don't give out perfect scores, but this game deserves a 97. I have been a fan ever since I beat the original Dragon Quest (Dragon Warrior) on NES when I was a kid. I then beat 2 and 3, and forgot about the series until now. I'd heard good things about this game, but I had no idea what I was in for when IThis game is FANTASTIC! I really wish Metacritic had a 0-100 rating scale, since I don't give out perfect scores, but this game deserves a 97. I have been a fan ever since I beat the original Dragon Quest (Dragon Warrior) on NES when I was a kid. I then beat 2 and 3, and forgot about the series until now. I'd heard good things about this game, but I had no idea what I was in for when I picked it up. The graphics (for the PS2) and music are utterly astounding. The characters fit in the game, and can be quite hilarious at times. Everything in this game is highly polished, and as good as it possibly can be. I beat this game over the course of a few weeks, and it wasn't until I was finished that I realized I put in over 80 hours on this game. Some games take a long time, and you really notice it. THIS game, however, takes a long time, and you're none the wiser. Isn't that exactly what we want in video games? Brand new worlds so immersive that we forget about ours? Expand
  33. May 20, 2012
    10
    My favorite RPG ever. Perfectly made, structured.....everything! You know how you play several games and switch them in and out as your mood strikes you? This is the ONLY game EVER that once I stuck it in I never took it out until the end. I never wanted to play anything else but this for weeks. There is a lot of battles but that's what the Holy Water is for to keep those pesky monstersMy favorite RPG ever. Perfectly made, structured.....everything! You know how you play several games and switch them in and out as your mood strikes you? This is the ONLY game EVER that once I stuck it in I never took it out until the end. I never wanted to play anything else but this for weeks. There is a lot of battles but that's what the Holy Water is for to keep those pesky monsters away when your really just trying to find something. It's got everything you couldever want in there...like Ragu: "It's in there!" Expand
  34. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Its a shame that not enough people know about this game, because it is simply phenomenal. I get nostalgic just thinking about it *sniff, but I will try to stomach it while I get through this review. Dragon quest 8 is a very traditional rpg that uses turn-based combat. WAIT ! Before you automatically write this game off as another boring old traditional RPG keep reading this review. DQ8'sIts a shame that not enough people know about this game, because it is simply phenomenal. I get nostalgic just thinking about it *sniff, but I will try to stomach it while I get through this review. Dragon quest 8 is a very traditional rpg that uses turn-based combat. WAIT ! Before you automatically write this game off as another boring old traditional RPG keep reading this review. DQ8's combat system always keeps things fresh, funny, and exciting. You'll have fun level grinding in order to accomplish various tasks and earn money for better weapons. Now as far as the story goes....Its Great! That's all Im gonna say because I don't wan to spoil anything. The music is also excellent in this game and really sets the tone for the adventure your about to embark on. All I can say is that if you haven't played this game before than you need to do it now because its too good to miss! Expand
  35. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    this game just reminded me of how much we pc gamers need good jrpgs, i owned this game on my ps2 and it looks gorgeous now in HD,emulated. the story is great its probably the way lunar the silver star would look like if it was released in 3d ,a complete fun and involving story, great and varied enviroments , its really good! and the psyche up is so cool , the fights and battle system neverthis game just reminded me of how much we pc gamers need good jrpgs, i owned this game on my ps2 and it looks gorgeous now in HD,emulated. the story is great its probably the way lunar the silver star would look like if it was released in 3d ,a complete fun and involving story, great and varied enviroments , its really good! and the psyche up is so cool , the fights and battle system never gets boring, so fun , recommended 1000% Expand
  36. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This is a world that for 100+ hours will suck you in and won't let go until you're done. Beautiful graphics, extraordinary soundtrack, supreme dialogue and characters and some uber-cult-epic side-quests that it's certain that you will never forget. If you're a fan of classic JRPGs, level-grinding, Akira Toriyama, Piccolo or OUTSTANDING games, then enjoy the journey and never look back.
  37. Dec 31, 2014
    9
    Great game, different from modern versions of RPGs. Not for everyone, the cheesy british voices may not be for everyone, but IMO adds charm to this amazing game. I've read some negative reviews, most of them saying that its to diffcult and unfair, while I admit that leveling up can be a bit frustrating it does't overshadow most of the gorgeous masterpiece that is this game. this is noGreat game, different from modern versions of RPGs. Not for everyone, the cheesy british voices may not be for everyone, but IMO adds charm to this amazing game. I've read some negative reviews, most of them saying that its to diffcult and unfair, while I admit that leveling up can be a bit frustrating it does't overshadow most of the gorgeous masterpiece that is this game. this is no final fantasy, this game's hard if you are underlevel, but not impossible, not having save points inside dungeons, well this is an "old school" rpg, not final fantasy or any of the new ones that has a save point every new screen, you need to think your battles and know when its okay to fight and when you have to flee,

    Pros: Tons of secrets, quick learning curve, hints to make better weapons, side quests, mini games, MONSTER ARENA, lovable characters, 60+ hours worth. No wonder DQ series is so loved in Japan.

    Cons: excesive grinding, until you learn zing theres no cheap way to revive a fallen comrade,
    Expand
  38. GrayF.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    never had this much fun in YEARS...
  39. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This game is a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  40. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    My best Game of ALL TIME, if anyone ever ask me which game I like the most and my answer is THIS. Story 10/10, Gameplay 10/10, music 12/10, graphic 10/10.
  41. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    This game currently holds the title for the ultimate and maybe even the pinnacle of your Dragon warrior (sorry can't help myself) experience. There is no better DQ game in the world today, due to the smashing heart break of DQX and the fun but somewhat just short of the mark DQ9 I recommend playing this game last because...you will be left saddene by the fact that you have no where else toThis game currently holds the title for the ultimate and maybe even the pinnacle of your Dragon warrior (sorry can't help myself) experience. There is no better DQ game in the world today, due to the smashing heart break of DQX and the fun but somewhat just short of the mark DQ9 I recommend playing this game last because...you will be left saddene by the fact that you have no where else to go. A true masterpiece....in ever possible way. Expand
  42. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    The best Dragon Quest ever made. An ageless masterpiece, probably the best RPG for PS2. It's a gorgeous cel-shaded open world, nearly a decade later it still looks luscious and vibrant. My only complaints are that only a select few armours appear wearable when the character equips them, also the NPCs just run around in circles instead of having daily schedules. The day/night cycle isThe best Dragon Quest ever made. An ageless masterpiece, probably the best RPG for PS2. It's a gorgeous cel-shaded open world, nearly a decade later it still looks luscious and vibrant. My only complaints are that only a select few armours appear wearable when the character equips them, also the NPCs just run around in circles instead of having daily schedules. The day/night cycle is beautiful aesthetically & it influences NPCs and monsters. You can collect monsters for your monster team, which reminds me very much of Pokémon games. A ton of content, exquisite polish, unbelievable that this is a PS2 game, truly squeezed each drop out of the system's capabilities. Expand
  43. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Great game! One of the games i look foward to play again - would love to see HD remake on PS Vita.
    When playing this game You can almost feel the atmosphere of great adventure in the air + i loved concept of collecting monsters to add them to Your team. And the alchemy was also fun. Only true flaw for me was the idea of silent main character.
    I sold my PS2 and now this is the one game
    Great game! One of the games i look foward to play again - would love to see HD remake on PS Vita.
    When playing this game You can almost feel the atmosphere of great adventure in the air + i loved concept of collecting monsters to add them to Your team. And the alchemy was also fun. Only true flaw for me was the idea of silent main character.
    I sold my PS2 and now this is the one game that I soo miss.. This and Odins Sphere.
    Graphics 9/10
    Sound 9/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Verdict: It doesnt get full 10, because it hasnt got that good story, it makes You fight silly thing like slimes, but its really so damn fun and You get to appreciate this title after You finish it and when You think of this game You feel that You miss that something what You had when You played it..
    Expand
  44. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    To give a basic review of how great this game is I have over 1000 hours of game time including 2 complete play throughs. This RPG ticks all the boxes for the perfect game in it's genre.
  45. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    As a longtime Dragon Quest fan, Dragon Quest VIII still wears the crown of the best Dragon Quest game in the series. From the beginning to the end, it's a charming, imaginative experience of a role-playing game with traditional turn-based gameplay mechanics, beautiful open-world environments, memorable music and a unique, interesting cast of characters. With the series' recent return toAs a longtime Dragon Quest fan, Dragon Quest VIII still wears the crown of the best Dragon Quest game in the series. From the beginning to the end, it's a charming, imaginative experience of a role-playing game with traditional turn-based gameplay mechanics, beautiful open-world environments, memorable music and a unique, interesting cast of characters. With the series' recent return to PlayStation, I can only hope that Dragon Quest XI will be just as amazing. Expand
  46. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Having been a HUGE fan of DQ since the very early 90's, I can say that this is the absolute pinacle of the jrpg. It is a semi-slow grind-fest, but if you're into jrpg's that's probably what you like anyway. A twelve year old obsessed with Skyrim (which is great btw) may find this game terribly boring and unrewarding, and that's okay. This game,despite the cel-shaded graphics was notHaving been a HUGE fan of DQ since the very early 90's, I can say that this is the absolute pinacle of the jrpg. It is a semi-slow grind-fest, but if you're into jrpg's that's probably what you like anyway. A twelve year old obsessed with Skyrim (which is great btw) may find this game terribly boring and unrewarding, and that's okay. This game,despite the cel-shaded graphics was not made for them. It is an homage to DQ's fans, and a spectacular one! Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. For the first time in the series’ beleaguered overseas history, the game is going to hook westerners long enough to draw them in past the insane difficulty and into one of the most rewarding, player-loving games of the last decade. [JPN Import; Feb 2005, p.86]
  2. 93
    Dragon Quest VIII may not revolutionize the console RPG genre, but it has done one thing that all the older RPGs have strived to be: it has become the greatest classic RPG experience of all time. [JPN Import]
  3. 10 / 9 / 10 / 10 - 39 platinum [Dec 2004]