Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world of Dragon Quest VIII is created with breakthrough 3D graphics. The world, which includes fields, towns and dungeons, allow players to move around seamlessly. The graphics are of a high-quality animation, and players can feel as if they are walking around inside the world created byThe world of Dragon Quest VIII is created with breakthrough 3D graphics. The world, which includes fields, towns and dungeons, allow players to move around seamlessly. The graphics are of a high-quality animation, and players can feel as if they are walking around inside the world created by Character Designer, Akira Toriyama. The battle scenes and monsters make users feel as if they were actually facing them All of the monsters and characters are transformed with 3D graphics. Battle scenes provide astrong presence of characters and monsters due to its stunning visuals. Moreover, both new andfamiliar monsters have been recreated with uniquely detailed animation. Characteristic monsters popular among fans of Dragon Quest VIII come alive with a fresh breath of life. An entirely new original score by Koichi SugiyamaKoichi Sugiyama, the composer of Dragon Quest VIII and all of the music from previous titles in the series, composed an entirely original score. A classic and elegant score, the music is also memorable and will leave people humming the tunes. The impressive score makes the journey much more adventurous and paints each scene with emotion. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    DQ8 is the epitome and ultimate maturation of traditional role-playing, nothing more, nothing less. [Nov 2005, p.26]
  2. But those willing to give it a chance will find the best role playing GAME -- emphasis on the game part -- they've played in a long time. It might just be enough to make a fan out of you.
  3. Dragon Quest VIII succeeds brilliantly by taking time-tested traditional-RPG gameplay and placing it in a uniquely vast and beautiful world that is a pure joy to explore and inhabit.
  4. PSM2 Magazine UK
    90
    An absolutely massive game world, an amazing soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, and some of the best RPG combat we've ever tussled with. Social Life? What's that? [May 2006, p.60]
  5. Dragon Quest comtinues its tradition of excellence with this perfect blend of strong storytelling, enchanting visuals and solid combat system.
  6. Game Informer
    88
    Continually baffles the mind with its visuals. [Dec 2005, p.168]
  7. While I did get some enjoyment from playing it, especially the first 20 hours or so, I’m left craving something more substantial, probably something that invloves the words "Fantasy" and "Final".

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 67
  2. Negative: 5 out of 67
  1. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This game is aThis game is a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. StephenT.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    One of the best classic rpg's I've ever played! Plus it has a nice sense of humor and one evil looking villian! The music, One of the best classic rpg's I've ever played! Plus it has a nice sense of humor and one evil looking villian! The music, graphics,story, and voice overs are well done. The night and day cycles are perfect and it's fun to explore the large environment. The camera controls are great as well. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2016
    10
    I can talk all day about this beautiful masterpiece. Everything is perfect! The story, the gameplay, the world etc. If you like turn basedI can talk all day about this beautiful masterpiece. Everything is perfect! The story, the gameplay, the world etc. If you like turn based combat (like me) or can endure it, then this is a must buy. Buy it! Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave it a 7 because of how cheap it was, being a game only playable with a guide.

    But tonight this game raises up to a 10 for one reason: my dearest pet parrot loved its music, it was "our" game, we loved its music and we spent days listening to the intro theme.

    I only wanted to re-write this review because I felt the need to say that for as much as it's flawed, it'll have a special place in my heart because of my pet, who passed away after 13 years together. You loved this music and I made you listen to it before you left me.

    Rest in peace, dear friend Chico. Your journey has ended, and now you deserve your rest.
    Expand
  5. May 20, 2016
    9
    This is one of the most beautiful games you can find on PS2. The graphics, voice acting and characters are all amazing.
    The story is great
    This is one of the most beautiful games you can find on PS2. The graphics, voice acting and characters are all amazing.
    The story is great but, IMO, weaker than in DQ4/5/7.
    The reason why I gave it only 9 lies in DQ series overall tendency to stay loyal to its roots in some parts of the gameplay. Random battles and saving in churches are slowing down the game's pace and become really annoying by the middle of the game.

    Nevertheless, the game is really fun to play, especially if you are DQ fan.
    Expand
  6. GaryM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Great game! Fun! Much, much better that the FF XII demo..
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    This game is really disappointing. First of all you only see the monsters you are fighting. There are only Four characters. And how the hell This game is really disappointing. First of all you only see the monsters you are fighting. There are only Four characters. And how the hell can you have an RPG when you can only save in a town church which there are very few off. I took this gmae back the morning after buying it as i was frustrated. I can't imagine goin threw the entire final dungeon ( if that is what the end is like) without saving. Take my advice stick to Final fantasy coz dragonquest is miles away. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005