Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world of Dragon Quest VIII is created with breakthrough 3D graphics. The world, which includes fields, towns and dungeons, allow players to move around seamlessly. The graphics are of a high-quality animation, and players can feel as if they are walking around inside the world created byThe world of Dragon Quest VIII is created with breakthrough 3D graphics. The world, which includes fields, towns and dungeons, allow players to move around seamlessly. The graphics are of a high-quality animation, and players can feel as if they are walking around inside the world created by Character Designer, Akira Toriyama. The battle scenes and monsters make users feel as if they were actually facing them All of the monsters and characters are transformed with 3D graphics. Battle scenes provide astrong presence of characters and monsters due to its stunning visuals. Moreover, both new andfamiliar monsters have been recreated with uniquely detailed animation. Characteristic monsters popular among fans of Dragon Quest VIII come alive with a fresh breath of life. An entirely new original score by Koichi SugiyamaKoichi Sugiyama, the composer of Dragon Quest VIII and all of the music from previous titles in the series, composed an entirely original score. A classic and elegant score, the music is also memorable and will leave people humming the tunes. The impressive score makes the journey much more adventurous and paints each scene with emotion. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. DQ8 is the epitome and ultimate maturation of traditional role-playing, nothing more, nothing less. [Nov 2005, p.26]
  2. But those willing to give it a chance will find the best role playing GAME -- emphasis on the game part -- they've played in a long time. It might just be enough to make a fan out of you.
  3. Just an extremely enjoyable, beautiful, nostalgic, and engaging RPG for the PlayStation 2. This charming, atmospheric RPG is not to be missed.
  4. It all boils down to the extremely high quality and production values of this title. The gameplay IS a bit old-school and the story isn’t extremely intricate, but that’s part of the magic to behold. Don’t let anything turn you away from trying out Square Enix’s latest blockbuster.
  5. It's full of numerous, wonderful touches you'll remember long after the game's end - a cheeky little devil's Sultry Dance attack, which cause your party members to dance uncontrollably; the way the blue slimes do deadpan better than Bill Murray; even the way saving your game requires a trip to the church to confess.
  6. Continually baffles the mind with its visuals. [Dec 2005, p.168]
  7. While I did get some enjoyment from playing it, especially the first 20 hours or so, I’m left craving something more substantial, probably something that invloves the words "Fantasy" and "Final".

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57
  1. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This game is aThis game is a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This is the game of my childhood. It is far to amazing for words. Expansive world, amazing characters, and the soundtrack is just breathThis is the game of my childhood. It is far to amazing for words. Expansive world, amazing characters, and the soundtrack is just breath taking! I have sunk so many hours into this game and I have never regretted it. If you enjoy JRPG's, this is one of the best to play. Expand
  3. BrianK.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome! This is game is simply awesome, I pity the reviewers who gripe with the games old school classic RPG fundamentals that is what makes Awesome! This is game is simply awesome, I pity the reviewers who gripe with the games old school classic RPG fundamentals that is what makes RPGs so good, that is why FF7 and FF3 and old DQ titles trump FFX and FFX2... don't fix what is'nt broken, what makes DQ8 so amazing is the shear size of the game, it is a very big game.. travel is almost real time which I like, traversing from town to town is an adventure in itslelf as you have very far too go with many dangerous monsters lurking about, the Night and Day system is cool too, all RPGs should have that system. I enjoy the weapon proficency and skill system it reminds me of Dungeons and Dragons a bit, the graphics and sound are great, nice soundtrack and the game is absolutely beautiful in design, the mechanics may be old school but the graphics smash any other modern RPG game! I have not had this much addictive fun playing an RPG since Zelda: Ocarnia of Time! Buy it now over anything else!! Expand
  4. NickJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Dragon Quest Viii is one of those sleeper hits. This game will give you sex appreal, humor, and an epic adventure all in one package. The Dragon Quest Viii is one of those sleeper hits. This game will give you sex appreal, humor, and an epic adventure all in one package. The graphics are anime done what adds to the game play. The battle system is turned base so it is made up of you hitting the enemy then they hit you. The boss battles are fun and challenging as long as you dont build up to an extreme hight level. After you beat the game their are a few area that you can go to and get more of the story which just adds more replay value to this game. You get 4 characters with one being a really sexy girl that does moves to add to the sex appreal. So with final fantasy XII out already and beaten with why dont you go grab this gem and give it a shot highly recommonded. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Great game! One of the games i look foward to play again - would love to see HD remake on PS Vita.
    When playing this game You can almost feel
    Great game! One of the games i look foward to play again - would love to see HD remake on PS Vita.
    When playing this game You can almost feel the atmosphere of great adventure in the air + i loved concept of collecting monsters to add them to Your team. And the alchemy was also fun. Only true flaw for me was the idea of silent main character.
    I sold my PS2 and now this is the one game that I soo miss.. This and Odins Sphere.
    Graphics 9/10
    Sound 9/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Verdict: It doesnt get full 10, because it hasnt got that good story, it makes You fight silly thing like slimes, but its really so damn fun and You get to appreciate this title after You finish it and when You think of this game You feel that You miss that something what You had when You played it..
    Expand
  6. AlexD.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I'm a big fan of the 'Dragon Quest/Warrior' series, and when i heard about a PS2 version, i was understandably excited. This I'm a big fan of the 'Dragon Quest/Warrior' series, and when i heard about a PS2 version, i was understandably excited. This game did not disappoint me at all. i'm very picky about what games i buy and this is probably one of my top games that i own. Now, my saying this may be confusing since i didn't give it a ten, but then again, i'm not a hardcore gamer. The main reasons i didn't give this a ten was that the game doesn't have great replayability and there's not much to be done after the main storyline is completed. Besides that, it's amazing. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    This game is really disappointing. First of all you only see the monsters you are fighting. There are only Four characters. And how the hell This game is really disappointing. First of all you only see the monsters you are fighting. There are only Four characters. And how the hell can you have an RPG when you can only save in a town church which there are very few off. I took this gmae back the morning after buying it as i was frustrated. I can't imagine goin threw the entire final dungeon ( if that is what the end is like) without saving. Take my advice stick to Final fantasy coz dragonquest is miles away. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews