Drakan: The Ancients' Gates Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the ancient, decaying world of Drakan, the immortal Spirit Dragons are held captive. Rynn, a brave female warrior, and Arokh, a fearless dragon, are called to save these spiritual leaders, as well as the last remnants of mankind. Embarking on an enchanted journey through eight vast, foreign environments, Rynn and Arokh utilize magic spells, resourcefulness and more that 50 powerful weapons in their quest to save civilization. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. The finest 3D medieval action-adventure game to grace any console. [Feb 2002, p.48]
  2. While it won’t hold up to the likes of Zelda, it provides an entertaining romp while the game lasts. Air combat is a blast to get involved in, and the humongous worlds are amazing to fly through.
  3. A fantastic game to gaze at, with wonderfully detailed graphics, enormous environments, above average lighting effects, and smooth looking characters.
  4. The controls are solid and versatile, and the whole experience seems appropriately majestic. [Feb 2002, p.106]
  5. The dialogue is intelligent, the side quests actually help thicken up the feel of a fantasy world, and the graphics and sound have a subtle way of reeling you in without knowing.
  6. A good game peppered with numerous little annoying bits. Still, the item acquisition, terrific fighting and solid graphics offer good adventure fun, and you could do a lot worse.
  7. Suffers from a steep difficulty curve. Blame it on the excessive enemy quotient, the steep cost of healing, and the unwieldy inventory control. [Feb 2002, p.148]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    The best game I ever played. Although there was an unnecessarily large difficulty spike halfway through the game, the overall excellence overshadows it. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    Truly one of the best ps2 games I've ever played. I don't like that the game has an end- I'd have preferred a continued open world. But that just goes to show how great of an experience it was when I first played it. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Awesome 3/4's of a game! It's a shame they wimped out and didn't have a decent ending. Just 5 more minutes of wrapping everything up would have been enough to get a score of 9. An open-ended world afterwards would let me give a score of 10. But I bought my PS2 years ago just to play this game, and was happy with the decision. Great game, great fun! Flying on a dragon is something they don't have much of anymore, and I miss it. Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    7
    This game is worth taking a chance on in 2013 if you are very bored, but like adventure action. There is a story, so its not a pure action game that you can blast through. You have to navigate and do item collection quite a bit. Thankfully you don't really get too lost and everything keeps pace. The environments, textures, and animations don't look like much at first, but it gets going once you are put on your first quest. The controls are a bit clunky, but this is an older game. Its like a 2nd or 3rd Tomb Raider engine. The enemies are pretty funny. The first quest is a balance of creepy and silly with magic gremlins. Its not as fluid as devil may cry, and perhaps this game needs more finishing touches, but its very playable and gives you a lot to do. As an RPG you'll start to feel like the character after awhile. I have to deduct some points because some areas, like the first castle don't look finished. The controls aren't perfect, and some things about this game are average. All in all this should be good for hours of gameplay whether you beat it or not. If you are already a fan of the genre or older ps2 games you'll like it. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews