User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 95
  2. Negative: 3 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    I voted 10 because it just is my favourite game of all times. I know it has its issues and if I was professional reviewer, I'd probably lose my job right away, but I don't really care. There is just something that makes me play this game even after all those years. The most interesting thing about the game is definitely story especially thanks to the unique, mostly completely insane bunchI voted 10 because it just is my favourite game of all times. I know it has its issues and if I was professional reviewer, I'd probably lose my job right away, but I don't really care. There is just something that makes me play this game even after all those years. The most interesting thing about the game is definitely story especially thanks to the unique, mostly completely insane bunch of characters that are far from your everyday heroes. I don't want to spoil much, but let's say our party consists of mass murderer that enjoys killing above all, cannibal that eats children, pedophile, and racist. Oh well... Now about gameplay. Most of you probably know that this game is combination of Panzer Dragon and Dynasty Warriors and it's pretty spot on description. There are 3 types of mission Dungeons, where you have to fight alone, in the air, where you fight airships with your dragon and combination of both, mostly on some plains where you are given choice to either fight on foot or from the back of your dragon. You can get down and call for her anytime. Ground battles are the part of the game I found most fun. During the course of the game you come across many many weapons (around 60), everyone can be leveled to level 4, gain unique combos and more importantly magic, which by the end of the game gets really devastating and quite satisfying to use. Then there is fairly interesting chain system that gets you hooked up during longer battles since you get more experience, buffs, health orbs and other bonuses, the higher is your combo count. Air missions have less variety if you ask me, but it's not really bad. Dragon can shoot homing (weaker) fireballs as well as huge fireball with manual aiming. And just like Caim, she has MP gauge that fills up after certain number of kills, which means you can use overdrive. But like I said it is the story and overall atmosphere (I guarantee you, that music in this game is nothing you have ever heard anywhere else and it's awesome!) that keeps you interested. The game has 5 endings, to which applies simple rule They get more and more crazy. This, along with weapon collectibles and leveling, kinda ensures fairly long playtime and high replayability. Just give the game chance and maybe you will like it. Be prepared though. It's definitely not for everyone, that's for sure. Expand
  2. Bameboy
    Feb 28, 2004
    2
    This is no match for panzer dragon orta and forget it!
  3. WillB
    Jan 27, 2009
    2
    Would you people please tell me what you're smoking, this is easily one of the most painfully crappy games I've ever played. The land-based missions are extremely dull and repetive in terms of both the layout and gameplay. The flying missions work alright control-wise, but are just as boring and trite. All I can say is, please for the love of God, BUT PANZER DRAGOON ORTA INSTEAD D :
  4. NinaJ.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Love, love, love this game! I'm not a fan of action games or fighting games, but I am a HUGE fan of the RPG. And I'm very, very picky! This game is gorgeous, addicting and engaging on all levels. The game-play and video graphics are eye-candy, the story line is totally engaging, and the action is non-stop. I don't know where the "repetitive" criticisms are coming from. Come Love, love, love this game! I'm not a fan of action games or fighting games, but I am a HUGE fan of the RPG. And I'm very, very picky! This game is gorgeous, addicting and engaging on all levels. The game-play and video graphics are eye-candy, the story line is totally engaging, and the action is non-stop. I don't know where the "repetitive" criticisms are coming from. Come on people, you have an ever-evolving storyline, interesting characters and 65 weapons to choose from! Plus a dragon to fight with, either in aerial or strafe mode! Plus, you can either play straight through or replay sequences as often as you like! There's a lot more, but I think I've gushed enough. Unless you suffer from terminal ennui and cannot be satisfied by anything, the only thing there is to hate about this game is the potential for sore hands (no really!)because you can't stop playing! Expand
  5. AnthonyM.
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    First, the graphics are awesome. there's nothing like gallons of blood spilling when u kill an enemy. second,the story line is spectacular. it goes in different directions and what u do can determin what happens at the end.personally,i think the best part of the game is finding new weapons.and 2 who ever hasnt beat it yet and got the second ending,it is oe of the most unexpectedFirst, the graphics are awesome. there's nothing like gallons of blood spilling when u kill an enemy. second,the story line is spectacular. it goes in different directions and what u do can determin what happens at the end.personally,i think the best part of the game is finding new weapons.and 2 who ever hasnt beat it yet and got the second ending,it is oe of the most unexpected thinds ive ever seen.the secret dragon is breath taking and my jaw hit the floor when i saw it. Expand
  6. SquizzyT.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Where to start ? this game is unique in many ways like for instance where have you aver come across anything like the pact - partner role . ive played hundreds of games in my time and none give me as much satisfaction as drakengard, i mean who wouldn't want to go round killing anything and everythin that moves. collecting the weapons is probably the hardest part of the game(by the wayWhere to start ? this game is unique in many ways like for instance where have you aver come across anything like the pact - partner role . ive played hundreds of games in my time and none give me as much satisfaction as drakengard, i mean who wouldn't want to go round killing anything and everythin that moves. collecting the weapons is probably the hardest part of the game(by the way you need every weapon in the game to get the final ending and i'm at 74% weapon collection so not long left till my jaw drops and i collect flies in my mouth again . the graphics are typical of square- enix hello all you fianl fantasy fans graphics look familiar .this is definately one of my favourite games . if you dont buy it you're missing out so find one of your friends that already has it and beg to borrow. if you like devil may cry you'll love this!!!! Expand
  7. BradT.
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is another great game made by square-enix. I love the fighting style in this game, how you can choose to do melee comboat, or take to the air, and fight with your dragon.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    Excuse my diehard Square-Enix loyalty for a few minutes, and allow me to give you an unbiased review of this game. 1. Graphics- Okay, I'll admit, The enviornments are bland, sometimes blocky, and not aimed to aesthetically please anyone. However, the character design, graphic effects, and texturing are near the tier of graphics greatness. 2. Characters- Unique, VERY unique. These Excuse my diehard Square-Enix loyalty for a few minutes, and allow me to give you an unbiased review of this game. 1. Graphics- Okay, I'll admit, The enviornments are bland, sometimes blocky, and not aimed to aesthetically please anyone. However, the character design, graphic effects, and texturing are near the tier of graphics greatness. 2. Characters- Unique, VERY unique. These characters have dark sides to them, they aren't any self righteous or holy heathen smiters, all of their motivation is dark, save a few. 3. Storyline- This is perhaps the most defining aspect of this game, and however says its ridiculous or some other derogtory comment about it has either not played the game or is shallow. I'm not giving any of it away, find out for yourself, but the story is one of the most unique and compelling as I've ever seen. It's long and its deep, even every weapon you acquire has some story of its own. 4. Playability: With the ability to go back and run through any part of the game that you have completed in story mode, watch all movies, and easy controls, this game is hard to beat. The fighting system is very similar to that of Dynasty warriors, and as such is very easy to control. Did I mention that your weapons level with you? Sound: The moment I bought this game and first saw the intro movie, my jaw literally dropped. The musical score is breath-taking, and even that doesn't do it justice. The music always fits the mood, and even more often heightens it. If your not going to buy the game, then by the OSC. 5. Difficulty: The game is difficult, and thats good (personally) You have no marigin to make errors, because as soon as you do, game over, start the whole mission over again. Of course, with generous supplies of weapons and powerups, margin of error, can be greatly reduced. To beat this game all the way through, you will almost definitely have to play through levels more than once to gain experience. Overview: To all gungho FPS diehards and the lover of the short game, you will hate this. For those of you who love a good action game with a compelling storyline, spectacular music, large variety, and endless carnage, this game is worth every penny and then some. Monotony is at a high, but that hardly matters compared to the pros of this game. Square played a hand that was questionable, but in the end it came out Aces high. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Mar 8, 2004
    7
    Dynasty Warriors does a better job of on the ground fighting, and the air missions are aggrivating. Even more aggrivating is how the dragon and Veredelt will pop up to yell nonsense at you during missions and obscure the friggin' minimap.
    For all that, though, I like this game. It's not very deep, but if you just want to slice up some suckers, it's fun. The worst part is
    Dynasty Warriors does a better job of on the ground fighting, and the air missions are aggrivating. Even more aggrivating is how the dragon and Veredelt will pop up to yell nonsense at you during missions and obscure the friggin' minimap.
    For all that, though, I like this game. It's not very deep, but if you just want to slice up some suckers, it's fun. The worst part is DEFINITLY the story, which is totally nonsensical. Anyone who says it's deep or even understandable is a liar. I brought, but you should rent.
    Expand
  10. SEGA
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    Drakengard is a fairly good game by sqaure. I enjoyed it quite a lot. Graphics....In game graphics are average I suppose. The beautiful FMV's though, those are another matter entirely. Love em. Storyline is a little weird at times, but not bad. Pretty original. I like it. Strange at times it seems like it's implying incest or something... And maybe it's just me, but Selee Drakengard is a fairly good game by sqaure. I enjoyed it quite a lot. Graphics....In game graphics are average I suppose. The beautiful FMV's though, those are another matter entirely. Love em. Storyline is a little weird at times, but not bad. Pretty original. I like it. Strange at times it seems like it's implying incest or something... And maybe it's just me, but Selee being preyd upon by certain in game characters is a litle disturbing....but that doesn't make the story bad. Just make sure you know what you're in for: quite a different story. And with 5 endings, it really shines each time. Plus the characters are very expansive...hearing Inuart scream "Furiae!" in chapter 6 sends a shiver down your spine. Soundtrack....a lot of people blasted the soundtrack. So many in fact other than the anon guy below, I've never seen a positive review for it. In my opinion, the soundtrack to this game is one of the greatest soundtracks ever made. Get the soundtrack, even if you don't get the game. I can't go into it....it's like classical meeting.....I dunno! Every track could be a last bos or 'ultimate' theme in my opinion. The worst thing is that during some of the verses there are unique pieces of the music used in the chapters, but it has speaking on it. The soundtrack for the game omitted these pieces, and I'd like to hear full versions of the music used in the FMVs as well: you always get a sense that the music has been cut off halfway through. Drakengard 2, the sequel really messed up with the music in my opinion. Gameplay is average. Split into two parts, ground on foot and flying in the sky.A little below Dynasty Warriors because of the lack of a two player mode. The environments are huge, some of the levels in chapter 5 especially make it impossible to kill every enemy on foot without the hour time limit running out. Hack and slash through loads of goons, block sometimes. Plus you can change into other partner characters if you need a hand, and trust me, Chapter 12 is where you'll need it. In the sky, it's a little like panzer dragoon. Lock-on, shoot enemies down, unleash crazy magic. It can be a little hard until you really get to grips with the doging and everything, but it's good. Collecting the weapons is to be honest a little exhaustive, and with no real clues on how to get them, you'll probably be gamefaq.com-ing most of them. But you'll do it just to get reach chapter 13 and take on one of the most hardest levels ever made. Really tough and unique as well. Should have been a few more levels and it'd have been insane. All in all a good game with a great soundtrack, but maybe you should listen to first because a lot of people hate it. A lot of people hate Streets of Rage 3 soundrack as well, even though that's good. Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    The more you progress in the game, the crazier the story gets. It is not a bad one, just unusual. The graphics, despite the FMVs, are bad and also the fighting animations are stiffly. At least you can fly with a dragon.
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    5
    Tedious entertainment. I like the story and the concept of the dragon. I like the weapon and how as they level up you can get some kind of story about their origin. I can put up with the repetitive attack pattern one,two,three special... But two things that really brought my enjoyment down were the camera, it sucks not being able to slowly adjust the camera, instead you are force to useTedious entertainment. I like the story and the concept of the dragon. I like the weapon and how as they level up you can get some kind of story about their origin. I can put up with the repetitive attack pattern one,two,three special... But two things that really brought my enjoyment down were the camera, it sucks not being able to slowly adjust the camera, instead you are force to use the block button to look ahead or the right analog stick which sends the camera in a crazy whirl, that and the fact that you can't save in the middle of a stage suck. After playing for nearly an hour it really annoys me when I get killed because I had little life and made a stupid mistake. I understand not wanting players to save every so often so that they can become pretty much immortal, but you could have limited the saves during gameplay to two, hell even one would have been enough. Just so that you don't loose 40+min of gameplay. Collapse
  13. May 2, 2013
    8
    Probably the most f***ed up game I've ever played in my 12 years of video gaming.
    The soundtrack is a blast. Growing Wings FTW )
    The characters, except for some, are damn disturbing. And the story is just extremely bizarre and it has some of the most depressing and mindf**k endings ever. I'm looking at you Chapter 12 & 13 ) It's like playing a real existing creepypasta! But I've
    Probably the most f***ed up game I've ever played in my 12 years of video gaming.
    The soundtrack is a blast. Growing Wings FTW )
    The characters, except for some, are damn disturbing.
    And the story is just extremely bizarre and it has some of the most depressing and mindf**k endings ever. I'm looking at you Chapter 12 & 13 )
    It's like playing a real existing creepypasta!
    But I've enjoyed every second of it, but too bad the gameplay is pretty stale and that the NA and EU versions are censored because of some taboos in the game such as; incest, cannibalism, etc. It'll make the story very unclear, but you can always look things up on the 'net.
    Drakengard, like I said, is one of the most f***ed up game I've ever played with an awesome soundtrack, average to good graphics and supported with delicious FMV cutscenes...with repetitive and stale gameplay that's unforgiving at certain moments. Damn you save system!)
    Can't wait for Drakengard 3!
    Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This game truly has the greatest and most interesting story i'v ever played in a video game. I can't even describe how amazing this game is.

    Many think the ground and air battle are a little edgy and i agree. There to slow paced to make you feel like a badass like they should given the main protagonist. I only removed one point for the combat system however, because the addictive and
    This game truly has the greatest and most interesting story i'v ever played in a video game. I can't even describe how amazing this game is.

    Many think the ground and air battle are a little edgy and i agree. There to slow paced to make you feel like a badass like they should given the main protagonist. I only removed one point for the combat system however, because the addictive and absolutely amazing movie worthy story makes up for it.

    I can't recommend this game enough for how great it is. If you can get passed the slightly boring and repetitive combat system then your in for a story you'll never forget. I myself beat the game years ago (still have the game and always will) and still think about the vividness of the story arc and the more then memorable characters.

    I highly recommend this game for anyone who is into RPG's.
    Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    Tedious entertainment. I like the story and the concept of the dragon. I like the weapon and how as they level up you can get some kind of story about their origin. I can put up with the repetitive attack pattern one,two,three special... But two things that really brought my enjoyment down were the camera, it sucks not being able to slowly adjust the camera, instead you are force to useTedious entertainment. I like the story and the concept of the dragon. I like the weapon and how as they level up you can get some kind of story about their origin. I can put up with the repetitive attack pattern one,two,three special... But two things that really brought my enjoyment down were the camera, it sucks not being able to slowly adjust the camera, instead you are force to use the block button to look ahead or the right analog stick which sends the camera in a crazy whirl, that and the fact that you can't save in the middle of a stage suck. After playing for nearly an hour it really annoys me when I get killed because I had little life and made a stupid mistake. I understand not wanting players to save every so often so that they can become pretty much immortal, but you could have limited the saves during gameplay to two, hell even one would have been enough. Just so that you don't loose 40+min of gameplay. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. It seems ironic that in Square Enix’s attempts to make a game appealing to fans of two genres they have actually created a game that features pretty standard gameplay and may not attract its intended audience.
  2. Just isn't fun enough to keep you playing. With repetitive missions, no multiplayer and mediocre gameplay, it often devolves into a chore.
  3. Two genres thrown together that don’t really try to be better than the games that they’re based on, descending into a mundane exercise in repetition.