DRIV3R PlayStation 2

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 103
  2. Negative: 42 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElchuyD
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Saying it simple; this game is good. I'm a fan of the series and this one is the best yet. Great car chases and more realistic than the previous. the only reason why i didn't give it a 10 was cause of the walking controls. but let me just say that they are way way better than true crime. other thant that this game is worth playing. The problem i see with people who gave it a low Saying it simple; this game is good. I'm a fan of the series and this one is the best yet. Great car chases and more realistic than the previous. the only reason why i didn't give it a 10 was cause of the walking controls. but let me just say that they are way way better than true crime. other thant that this game is worth playing. The problem i see with people who gave it a low or very low rating is that they want to compare it to gta. The gameplay on driver is different. Im also a fan of gta and i got my san andreas copy reserved already but in the mean while driver is going to keep me entertained. if you played driver 1&2 you'll like this one or if you just like good car chases you'll enyoit too. Expand
  2. DafyddE.
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best game ever. Funny secrets like taking the piss out of GTA Vice City.
  3. ChrisW.
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you could do in GTA (subtract beating hookers and shootouts). So really, GTA copied Driver. Driver was better then, and it's better now. Graphics are amazing. Yes, some clunky controls, but then can be forgiven by the gameplay and graphics. great game, People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you could do in GTA (subtract beating hookers and shootouts). So really, GTA copied Driver. Driver was better then, and it's better now. Graphics are amazing. Yes, some clunky controls, but then can be forgiven by the gameplay and graphics. great game, a must own. Expand
  4. LLCoolJ
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    I got the game, put it in my ps2, made a profile by the time it got to the loading screen, my ps2 broke down. What bad luck!!.... no i got 2 wait 3 days until i can play it. i played the game for 5 secs thoug, itssss greatt.. u start in this room, very well decorated. Good grahpics too
  5. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Jun 24, 2004
    8
    This is a good game not great but it is good like I just said, being on-foot is a little janky and slow and sometimes you either screw up because your car sometimes makes it look like it is driving on ice and spins all over the place or that the background music is so loud or you can't hear what the person is saying so you don't know you're directions but everything else is This is a good game not great but it is good like I just said, being on-foot is a little janky and slow and sometimes you either screw up because your car sometimes makes it look like it is driving on ice and spins all over the place or that the background music is so loud or you can't hear what the person is saying so you don't know you're directions but everything else is basically great gameplay, graphics and etc. well except the story I mean a cop goes undercover and kills countless numbers of innocent/evil men and cops just to find a ring of car thieves okay wierd.... I enjoyed I hope you do. Expand
  6. JeroenVanR.
    Jul 3, 2004
    8
    Although I haven't played the missions yet, the Take A Ride-mode alone makes this game a must buy. Graphics are from time to time superb but there are a few bugs in the game, which doesn't disturb the gameplay. Nice cars, NICE cities and lots of action.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Simply the BEST!
  8. Patrick
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Great Driving and shotting game.One of my top favorite games.This Game Will probally be a PS2 greatest hit! I hope theres a DRIVER 4 !
  9. Christian
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Great game.. the physics the gameplay, graphics.. they are all good
  10. ToddT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    this game is awsome the only prob is it is very glitchy.
  11. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    I loved playing this game, the free roam portion of it at least, I didn't like the singleplayer as it was too hard back in the days when I played it, the glitches and police AI were pretty bad, but that just made it that much funnier/fun to play, loved doing stunts and watching the police crash their cars while attempting to follow me.
  12. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    The best game i have ever played, such big city's (for its time) and wonderful variation of cars. The soundtrack is amazing, the story is fantastic and just the overall feel of the game is entertaining. Despite a few bugs this game is perfect.

Awards & Rankings

#22 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. Ultimately, despite being the solid and enjoyable game that Driv3r once promised to be, it’s buried far too deep under all the shite to rescue the game from being anything more than just a gaming folly.
  2. GMR Magazine
    50
    Unlike "GTA's" open-ended gameplay, DRIV3R is both linear and confined. [Sept 2004, p.83]
  3. A buggy, unfinished and uninspired game.