Driver: Parallel Lines PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2006
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. The story isn’t much, but the game itself is always fun to play - providing a strong, but fair challenge as you progress, while delivering the most thrilling car chases in gaming.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    It's a compelling tale, which is more than backed up by some fly graphics, cool soundtracks and smooth gameplay.
  3. Play Magazine
    80
    Driver: Parallel Lines is a slice of the '70's done right. [Apr 2006, p.63]
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    78
    A game that tries to be every major street driving game you can imagine. At the end of the day, Driver: Parallel Lines feels a bit dated and jaded. Some fun car chases and over-the-roof-top racing, though. And yes, good music. [Apr 2006]
  5. But it can't match San Andreas' scope, and as good as the game is, I found myself treading between boredom and frustration more than I'd like.
  6. While the pseudo-sand box nature of this game does give it more than a passing resemblance to some of the best bits of the three GTA titles we all know and love, it has enough original content to save it from being accused of too much plagiarism.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    This once-great series goes back to its roots in fine and tan style. [May 2006, p.89]
  8. It’s an overall solid effort, but there are some aspects of the game that should have gotten a bit more work. Maybe next time.
  9. Worth a purchase for fans of the original or great car chases.
  10. It’s fun to drive round a city far too fast. There’s an imperfect framework in which to do that here, but it’s a vast improvement on its predecessor.
  11. 75
    The new innovations to the genre are likely to be copied by other games. Ultimately Driver Parallel Lines is definitely worth trying out.
  12. Trimming the unnecessary features and focusing on a very specific style of gameplay, it appears to be aimed at a slightly more sophisticated audience than GTA - the oft mentioned "we know what we want" crowd.
  13. The game is actually better to listen to than play, but the point still is: Don't come a knockin' if this game is rockin'.
  14. Don’t let the sour taste left by "Driv3r" put you off. Parallel Lines doesn’t re-invent the wheel, but what it does, it does very well.
  15. PSM2 Magazine UK
    79
    Where "San Andreas" has size, variety and freedom, DPL has size, physics and handling. The mission design prevents the content from truly impressing. [Apr 2006, p.44]

Awards & Rankings

#57 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#36 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Driver: Parallel Lines was a game, what I needed. I can feel like a real driver. New York, two eras, freedom and awesome cars - these factorsDriver: Parallel Lines was a game, what I needed. I can feel like a real driver. New York, two eras, freedom and awesome cars - these factors are the best in this game. It's better than Driver 3. It's not an another copy of GTA - this made me very happy. If you like driving games - I recommend you this one. Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2016
    10
    Driver: Parallel Lines is an underrated games that is awesome ! This is epic must play game !
    Game was released in 2006 ... what means that
    Driver: Parallel Lines is an underrated games that is awesome ! This is epic must play game !
    Game was released in 2006 ... what means that graphic of this game was next gen for other games of 2006 .
    This game needs more attention from gamers !
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    Don't let the awful Driv3r put you off this. It's got nice graphics, good selection of cars, all with much better handling than the arcadeDon't let the awful Driv3r put you off this. It's got nice graphics, good selection of cars, all with much better handling than the arcade physics found in the PS2 GTA games. The shooting is decent, and the drive-bys are better than GTA due to a lock-on and you can still control the car well. Melee combat is practically non-existent. Story-wise, it's again nowhere near the monster that is GTA but it's a pretty good story of revenge, characters are average but i did like the protagonist, TK. He's got more personality than Tanner anyway. It has some decent car mods and missions are fine. All around good game but it doesn't have the depth of GTA. Full Review »