• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dynasty Warriors 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dive into battlefield action with over 20 intense stages and 40 playable warriors. More than 10 stages of varying sizes and objectives have been added to the original game in addition to more troop types, such as the powerful elephant cavalry. [KOEI]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. I enjoyed the violence in Dynasty Warriors 3. However dignified the game’s treatment of its subject may be, I was neither appalled nor enlightened by the violence. I was thrilled by it.
  2. There are those ever-pesky inadequacies in the engine which project simply dreadful draw distances in addition to creating the dual annoyances of fog and slowdown.
  3. By adding more depth and a much needed multiplayer mode, Koei has improved the series. So if you're a fan of beat 'em up action on a massive level, this is definitely the game for you.
  4. There's simply more of everything. [Jan 2002, p.127]
  5. Offers lengthy replay value by allowing players to take up a number of roles on all three sides in the otherwise fixed campaign.
  6. More a refined version of Dynasty Warriors 2 than a completely new game.
  7. The end result is, like the best blockbuster movies, a flawed but enjoyable waste of time.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. RudeY.
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    I can't wait for the 4th one to come out.
  2. TheLordOfHavoc
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    This game has everything! Massive amount of violence and you can learn some historical information about this true period in time.
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    one of the Greatest games i have ever played to this day. This owned my life most of my four years in high school. I had d w 2, 3, and 4. 3one of the Greatest games i have ever played to this day. This owned my life most of my four years in high school. I had d w 2, 3, and 4. 3 was by far the best. The user score for this game is more realistic. Imagine being a warrior on a battle field and turning the tide of battle by yourself. Every character has sweet mosou modes and items was a nice upgrade by d w 2. I love this game. I must of played this game for at least 300 hours total. I pawn my d w collection. however i missed 3 so i bought it again. Expand
  4. DavidL.
    Mar 16, 2002
    10
    I play this game a lot and it is really good.
  5. TarikT.
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    Great game, if u dont have a game to play get this one it will last you for at least three months, a good time killer, and a good game to Great game, if u dont have a game to play get this one it will last you for at least three months, a good time killer, and a good game to relieve your anger. Expand
  6. Akucat
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Great game. This is one of those games you can play even after you beat it over and over again. The variety of characters also makes it a Great game. This is one of those games you can play even after you beat it over and over again. The variety of characters also makes it a great game. This is kind of like Super Mario Smash Brothers, it will never really get old. My first favortie ps2 game out there. Expand
  7. FilazaferX
    Dec 17, 2001
    7
    A fun game that is much better with 2 players.

See all 50 User Reviews